We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Experience for the 7 of us.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Experience for the 7 of us.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

We just came back from a 2-night stay at the Hampton. We had no reservations when we decided to go to
Gatlinburg so we stopped at a few on the Parkway as we drove through. With 3 adults and 4 children it was hard to find a place to stay where we could all be together. The Hampton had a room with a 1 king-sized bedroom with a jacuzzi, a living room with a sofa-bed, a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator and a dining table. It even had a dishwasher, microwave, stove and it had dishes. They let us look at the room before we decided to take it. After looking at about 3 different places this one was not to be passed up. The front desk was really polite and said they would send up a roll-away bed right up. With kids it was nice to have 2 tvs. The breakfast was nice. Nice variety. The hotel worked out great being right off the Parkway. Great when you have 3 kids under 7 and a 6-month old in a stroller, you dont have to walk far to see everything. The bed was so comfortable, felt good after walking all day. I think our next visit to Gatlinburg will include another stay at the Hampton Inn. I mean we took my 62 year old mother along who is somewhat hard to please lol. So if she enjoyed her stay it had to be good!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank partyof6-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    339
    133
    64
    22
See reviews for
321
582
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

We just returned from another stay at this Hampton Inn. I was pleased to see some refurbishing taking place. Our room had brand new carpet and a brand new sink and counter with shelving underneath for storage. The recliner was replaced with a brand new chair and ottoman. The manager told us that every floor except ours had new furniture and lamps, and the final floor should be completed soon. Last May they just installed new mattresses in all the rooms.

So any travelers in the near future will have brand new furniture, sinks, carpet, and pretty new mattresses.

We had some noisy neighbors late one night (drinking and yelling until 2 am), but we reported it to the manager, and he was very firm that they didn't tolerate such behavior in this establishment and would talk to the guests directly. It must have worked because we didn't hear them again the rest of the week. So it was nice to know that the management takes such complaints seriously.

I still feel that this is the best place to stay in Gatlinburg!

  • Liked — great location, deluxe free breakfast, nice room
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blcpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

Each year we have a conference in Gatlinburg in May

I called the day before arrival and asked about a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The courteous response - “No, but we can get you a fridge and there is a microwave in Lobby 24/7 - no gym, but lots of hills to walk”. (Only 1 gym in the whole area and I think he wants $15.day)

Arrival - Convenient enough for G-burg on the main drag - driveway sneaks up on you though - older style hotel with rooms exiting to exterior walkway - people should be careful at night on the back side of hotel as it is bordered by trees and is dimly lit same for the stairwells on the end.

At check in we were informed we were upgraded to a Jacuzzi Fireplace Suite! - sweet!

Staff was nice, polite, and down right fun

Breakfast - typical Hampton Inn - mainly Carbohydrates

Parking seemed plentiful - small spaces though

High Speed wireless available and it worked!

The room had am awesome gas fire place in the corner of the room - has a dial timer to turn it on - balcony opens onto the parking lot carpet is dreary, but the bed is super comfortable. It looks like new pine (light) colored furnishings... Jacuzzi is big - privacy is lacking as there is a folding door between the bedroom and Jacuzzi - room had a complete refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker set up. It appeared rooms were being upgraded, at least with new bathroom fixtures.

Downside
No desk to work at

Maid service - seemed to only make the bed, and not change the sheets they did refresh the towels - a piece of soap was still in the bathtub the next two mornings- coffee maker not cleaned nor were the excess used Styrofoam coffee cups thrown away, crumbs and lint were still on the carpet.

I took a pen and put a small x on the sheet near the bottom - it stayed all week - always makes me wonder if they change the sheets between different guests?

I would have given this hotel a 5/5 except for the maid service.

  • Liked — Better than most in Gatlinburg
  • Disliked — Maid service was poor in my opinion
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a1scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on a long weekend vacation. The staff was super nice and even called the room 10 mins into the trip to make sure that everything was perfect. The room was SUPER clean and really nice. Our room wasn't very close to the elevator but was only three flights up, so we took the stairs. From our balcony we had a view of the main drive so we could watch the people and cars. We really enjoyed the location. It is close to everything. The restaurants, shopping and Ober. You can catch the trolley and I will take you lots of places, saving you money on gas. The hotel breakfast was ok. It was biscuits, gravy, eggs, and the typical continental foods. We had a great time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevator
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holmes153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

We did not have a reservation when we checked in at this hotel but the staff was very accommodating to help us with a room (by letting us tour the rooms). There was a convention in town and only two rooms were left. The room was clean, included a balcony and for Gatlinburg this room was economy priced. This property was a little different from other Hampton Inns I have stayed at because it has exterior corridors.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wishiniwastravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Stayed here for one night as a Hilton Honors free night, prior to our chalet stay for the rest of the week. Located at the end of the 'strip' , it was easy to get to, had enough parking (which can be an issue with the large Expedition we drive). Check-in was quick, and we had a room with the view of the parking lot (hey, it was free)..There are some nicer rooms with better views of the small creek behind the property, that also face the OBER GATLINBURG lift, nearby. Our two bed room was crowded, but adequate, but there is NO DESK, just a table, which was minor since this was a leisure trip. Breakfast was very nice, and our late checkout request was easily okayed.. I would suggest one consider the back street, parallel to the main road, to bypass the stop and go main traffic, since it can put you from light (#6 (I think) to light #9 easily...and the hotel is right there. Overall, the hotel is old, like many along this area, very used, but was fine for our purposes..

  • Disliked — Looking at the pool being serviced for the upcoming season, GROSS green algae and pump running to empty into nearby creek..
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank champdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

My stay at this Hampton came off of a terrible experience at the Midtown Lodge a few doors down, so my rating may be a bit skewed. To us on this particular trip, this hotel was a savior! The previous room at the Midtown Lodge was dark, dingy, buggy, and lacked the view of the river. What a breath of fresh air to walk into this bright, clean room with a fireplace and the balcony actually over the river! The breakfast was wonderful and the staff great as well. A maintenance call to re-light the fireplace pilot was resolved within 10 minutes! Stay here in Gatlinburg! You get the location, parking, breakfast and a modern, clean room with a view to boot!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWriteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.1 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Address: 967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing