We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Crab Orchard
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not the best.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I like to write happy reviews, aand I LOVE Hampton inns, but I just cannot say very much about this Hampton Inn.
The goods:
The location IS wonderful! The staff was friendly, the bathrooms were clean. I loved the balcony above the river of my room, I love that it had a fireplace.
The not so goods:
I booked my room via phone, because I was travelling, and though I had never been to this location, I know (or thought I knew) Hampton Inn is always a safe bet. The hotel is under construction, I realize I am there off season, and they have to do the work some time, but I was beat, and had they told me when I inquired about the room, that they were working on the room, I would not have stayed there. They started the work early, and of course it was loud and woke me up. I did not get to drive all day and sleep in as I had planned. That made for a bad day.
The fireplace did not work, I called the front desk, they sent a man up to fix it. It was very nice, unitl I turned it off when I left the room to eat, and it would not come back on. I wasn't going to mess with it, I can get mean when I am tired, and the desk people were so nice, I did not want to be mean to them.
The breakfast was medicore.No meat, no cinnamon rolls. The omlette was burnt, the toast did not fit in the toaster. I was not impressed.
I passed 30 hotels with the same amineties, and cheaper priced to get to the Hampton Inn. I am thinking that I cannot just trust the name Hampton to mean great anymore. That really complicates my life, and makes me sad.

Room Tip: Hmm. Don't stay until renovations have been complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    362
    143
    66
    24
See reviews for
352
622
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights after Christmas. We stayed in room 101 which is the Creek-view King room with a Jacuzzi and Fireplace. The room was in good overall condition and we had no problems. The carpet looked a bit old, but they will be updating everything this year according to a notice we saw. The TV was a flat-screen, but the picture wasn't very crisp.

The fireplaces are a bit disappointing since the are encased in glass and put off very little heat.

The housekeeping was great. Very clean and usually very early except one day when they were obviously having a big turnover, not problem for us.

The Location can not be beat! We love being able to walk right onto the Parkway near the best places to eat.

The only thing I would have liked better was if other guests wouldn't be allowed to smoke on their balconies. I didn't like smelling smoke in a non-smoking facility.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Room was full of dust pillows were covered with hair , booked for 5 nights left next morning.
My sinuses were so bad the next night ended up at a clinic.
This is not hampton just in name, will look much closer to reviews next time.
Note! party of 4 two rooms both this bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a standard Hampton Inn, with a standard business style room, with the excaption of having a fireplace. The location is GREAT. It's directly across from several sit down restaurants including Calhoun (dinner) and Flapjacks (Breakfast). The hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown gburg.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnTheGo1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gatlinburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear OnTheGo1202,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I think most would agree that our location is fantastic. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visits!
Thank you,
Rose Scarantino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Feathered down comforters!!! Can't beat the comfort!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkouvakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I thought this was a nice Hampton inn. The hotel was clean and in an excellent location. What made this hotel better than average was the young man doing the breakfast, He was very helpful and sincere. This young man is a definite asset for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vol13w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gatlinburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear vol13w,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Ivan is ,without a doubt, a huge asset to our property and we enjoy his company as much as our guests do! We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you,
Rose Scarantino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

At $107.00+ per night and compared to other Hampton Inn's, this property falls short.

The Good Stuff:
Ideal location.
All employees I encountered were friendly and totally professional.
Better than expected free breakfast.
Quality beds and linens.
Daily maid service was just adequate.
Fire places and balconies add a specail touch.
Free amply parking.

The Bad Stuff:
Non-functioning to slow internet.
Room furnishings, lighting and carpet is old, worn and ugly.
TV reception is really bad.
Room carpet was never vacuumed the entier 6 night.
Little sound proofing; rooms are loud/difficult to sleep.
No Gym; must go behind hotel a block away to Garden Inn.
Considering you're in Gatlinburg at a Hampton Inn I think it's expensive...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gatlinburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear bowman716,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see you have been a repeat guest of the Hampton Inn Gatlinburg. Our property will be undergoing a complete renovation just after the new year. It will include a complete renovation of the guest rooms with new furniture and installation of microwaves and refrigerators in every room. Our expected completion date is early 2012. I hope you will continue to be a repeat guest at the Hampton Inn Gatlinburg and stay with us after our renovation.
Thank you again for your continued loyalty,
Rose Scarantino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Address: 967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing