We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all bad like the prior two reviews said... And super fast hard-wired internet!!”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not at all bad like the prior two reviews said... And super fast hard-wired internet!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Our choice to stay here was simple - we are Marriott Reward Members, and had the "points" built up for staying at any Marriott-owned chain hotel for 'free'. This one sounded great - good location, but off the main strip, fireplaces and jacuzzis, and a free continental breakfast. Well, it was all that we'd hoped for. Obviously it was a much older hotel that has been vigerously remodeled and upgraded in the last 5-10 years (?) or so. From the front of the hotel, all you see is the parking lot (limited parking, often a problem) and the ugly 4 floors of outdoor hallway access to the room doors. but that is the way 90% of all the motels/hotels in Gatlinburg seem to be designed. Only the very newest hotels, cabins, or condo rental places are built differently. I don't think anyone is crazy about outdoor hallways to walk down from the single elevator, but once we got to our room, it was worth it.

The rooms are fairly roomy, even ours with two queens. The mattresses were comfortable, there were lots of extra pillows to make TV watching comfy, and a rock-surrounded corner fireplace. OK, with the gas flame it was pretty pathetic as fires go, but would be very cozy on cold-weather days. We just had the A/C set on medium, which was quite cool, so had the fireplace on several times - it really only adds heat to the area directly in front of the hearth. Though there was a nice looking jacuzzi, my husband and I rarely make use of them (I guess we're weird)! All the furniture looks pretty new, the carpet was spotless, and the bedding was a more updated style, rather than those chintzy slippery polyester spreads that seem to show lots of dirt and pilling. The only aged looking thing in the room was an arm chair and ottoman, which looked left-over from some different hotel.

As other reviewers said, the bathroom had a dated layout, and would have been rough with four people in the room. The sink is in it's own separate area, with the fridge across from it, directly beneath the "open" closet (ironing board there too). No microwave, but the fridge stayed really cold for our beer and sodas. The toilet and shower room was tiny, and it was a mystery the firt time I looked for the toilet paper. It's behind the door, in a very wieerd placement. But again, this wasn't a great problem with only two of us in the room.

We used the balcony a lot, even during the time it was drizzling out. One of my favorite things to do is sit on balconies or our porch at home and read. here that was great, with the sound of the "river" below (what a joke - it's barely a creek). It was hysterical watching a guy try to fish for the 3-inchers, and he obviously had no idea what he was doing - some free entertainment for us. Also fun to watch the huge Ober Gatlinburg gondolas going up or down the mountain barely 1/4 mile away (but not over us, like voyeurs)!

Best thing, but probebly not important to most guests, was the hard-wired internet connection. We always take our laptop on trips, for staying in touch with family members, reading reviews on this site for restaurants, etc. It was the best internet connection we've ever had in any place we've stayed! There was also a very upbeat and helpful maid on our floor. But the pool is not good for kids - really tiny, but the umbrella table & chairs directly overlooked the stream, which also would have made for pleasant reading or 'hanging out', except for the rain and drizzle we had much of the time. We really loved our location because we could walk anywhere, including our favorite restaurant, Calhouns - see my review of that.

Thumbs up to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Csala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    227
    71
    22
    17
See reviews for
226
329
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Please do not reserve a room at this so called Fairfield Inn. The rooms are dirty and unsafe. Upon entering our room, we observed a huge blood stain on the carpeting near the bathroom. In addition, we found three large flying bugs on the walls of the room. The rooms smelled disgusting, like sewage, most likely due to the creek that runs right along the building. Lastly, the lock on our door was not working properly and the hotel management were not willing to fix it.
Speaking of hotel management, the lady at the front desk was a witch and her supervisor was no better. Marriott should be ashamed of this dump. There are MUCH nicer hotels in Gatlinburg, and I hope you choose a nicer, cleaner hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chicagogirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

For point of view reference: We stayed from Thursday through Sunday and have two young children (ages 12 and 8).

First the room: We had a guest room with 2 queen beds. The beds were clean and somewhat comfortable. I liked the fact that they had the sheets that surrounded the main "blanket". I felt as though I wasn't snuggling up with the typical nasty blanket that never gets washed.

The room itself was clean but could use a good remodeling. There was a water leak spot on the ceiling above the bed. Probably a result from the a/c unit in the room above us.

The a/c unit is literally a foot (or less) away from one of the beds, so whomever has to sleep next to it freezes.

The walls are very thin, so if you have a neighbor with a loud tv OR a small child who cries nonstop during the night - you may not sleep very well. (Which is what happened to us.)

The jacuzzi is in the same main room as the beds, tv, and fireplace, etc. So, if we were to use the jacuzzi, we had to have our bathing suits on as there is no privacy. Also, the jets on the jacuzzi were very mild and really it was like a big bathtub, nothing more.

If you are like me (in a family of all boys), there is NO WHERE to change clothes other than a square foot of space in the tiny shower/toilet area. That was my biggest complaint. It just was not practical or comfortable when it came to getting dressed. If you try to change in the area of the bathroom sink, the 2 mirrors in the room are situated exactly so that anyone sitting on either of the beds can see your every move! YIKES!

The toilet/shower area is so small that to use the toilet you have to close the door to be able to reach the toilet paper. Speaking of toilets, ours was loose and wobbled and clanked when sat upon!

There is a very tiny refrigerator available. We had a hard time fitting much in there. It will hold maybe 6 cans.

Our room also included an iron and ironing board (did not use), hairdryer (did not use), and coffee maker (did not use).

The "river view" is nothing special. The best part of it is the sound of the water...not the view.

The pool is extremely small and after using is once, my boys didn't want anything to do with it because of its size and all of the dirt and bugs floating in it.

Speaking of bugs, we did find one "beetle" in our room the first night. I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt and classify it as a "beetle" because I know there were lots of them flying around the area and we did not see any evidence of cockroaches, etc. in our room.

The continental breakfast was so-so. It was mainly bread products. There was biscuits (with tasteless flour gravy), make your own waffles, donuts, muffins, toast, english muffins, three or four dry cereals, instant grits, apples and oranges. There was milk (in the carton) plus apple juice and orange juice (both were watered down and not too tastey). The coffee was not very good either. The breakfast is served in a small area and there wasn't enough room to sit down and eat. I think that this particular Fairfield could do a better job with making a breakfast variety that won't "stop up" its' patrons!

We did not have issues with parking on Thursday or Friday BUT could not find a space on Saturday night when we arrived at the hotel around 8:30 p.m. We managed to squeeze into a very tight spot...and we took the last one. Not sure what we would have done if we didn't take the one that we did!

The trolley is very convenient and stops very close to the hotel. It costs fifty cents for each rider per ride. You can also go to the Aquarium and purchase a $2 pass (per person) that is good until midnight on that specific day. (You can also buy them for additional days in advance.)

The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the main strip, but is close to the LAST traffic light. So, if you are needing to be near traffic light numbers 1, 2, or 3 you will want to hop on the trolley.

All in all, the room had comfortable clean beds and a hot shower. I suppose that is what truly matters in the grand scheme of things. I don't think I would personally stay here again. The outside looks like a raunchy motel (like other old motor lodges on the main strip) and I don't think it is worth more than $100 per night tops.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terri0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic getaway near downtown Gatlinburg. THe location was perfect! It was within walking distance to all the activities and shops in Gatlinburg. The room was clean and nice. We stayed in a king with jacuzzi & fireplace. We were very pleased with the quality of our room. THe beds and pillows were comfortable and easy to sleep in. The balcony had a great view too! I recommend staying here if you want a quality stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OohlalaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

This hotel has the best location. It is about 2-3 miles to the Sugarland Visitor Center in the Smoky Mountain Park. It is very near restaurants and shops ( walking distance). I enjoyed the view of the creek while on the balcony. The room was also large and clean. The cons would be a tiny breakfast area as well as a small pool. I would absolutely stay here again and plan to in the near future.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlking222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My husband and I have stayed here for the past 4 years. It's a great little motel and a wonderful location right on the river.
Our stay this time was not as good as the others. The rooms need some up dating. The bathroom tile was peeling off at the bottom. The old air system on the wall did not get cold and the room was uncomfortable. because of the heat. We told the girl at the front desk and she didn't seem to care. The room seemed old and tired. It would be nice to have at least a 25 inch tv. Next time I will be looking for another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Check in was a dissapointment at first because we were given a handicapped room. After I complained the girl at the front desk moved us to another room. The outside tables overlooking the stream were a great place to rest after lots of downtown shopping. The cornor fireplace was a nice fixture, but only for the winter months. The location is close to several nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reg_acl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing