We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
666 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This was a nice hotel in Gatlinburg. Typically we stay in the mountains, but this trip was intended to be more touristy than most so we wanted to be central. The location was perfect for walking. We were very pleased to see a whirlpool in our room upon arrival since the room I booked was only supposed to offer a fireplace. The stream right off the balcony made for relaxing evenings. I did not use the pool, but did notice it wasn’t too full. The free breakfast was terrific (for continental) - multiple hot items. If I came to Gatlinburg for the same reasons again, this would be my first choice.

  • Liked — The location and price.
  • Disliked — No mountain view -- but there was a stream!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    227
    71
    22
    17
See reviews for
226
329
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville Mo
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

The room was very damp, and we noticed some mold on the ceiling. The staff were very friendly. But the noise was awful in the room. Could hear kids running above you and on the stairs. Pool was nice. There are alot of places to stay in Gatlinburg, but none of them were top of the line.

  • Liked — The pool and the closeness to activities.
  • Disliked — damp room, noisy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rags3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This hotel is really a perfect place to stay for a trip to Gatlinburg. We enjoyed a wonderful room with a little gas fireplace that had a small balcony overlooking the stream. The hotel is situated fairly close to the main strip of Gatlinburg. It is only a moderate walk, but enough of one to put it in a fairly quiet part of the town. Their is a fairly standard continental breakfast (even pre-packaged sausage biscuits that you can warm up in the microwave if desired) each morning. The parking is very convenient. The room was very clean and plenty roomy. The bed was very comfortable. My only complaint was from an apparent miscommunication of the rate we were paying when we reserved the room. I was charged quite a bit more than I was told at the time of my reservation, but since I was unable to produce any documentation, I had nothing to convince the staff with, so I just had to let it go. Though that left a sour taste in my mouth, I still felt the hotel was an excellent place to stay (just be sure to clearly document--somehow--the rates they quote you over the phone).

  • Liked — The location and the room itself
  • Disliked — The miscommunication of rates during reservation process
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. The room was furnished nicely, but the grounds could use a little upkeep. The walls between the rooms were paper thin, and we could hear toilets flushing and showers running well into the night. It didn't make for a very romantic getaway. The location was nice, but it just wasn't what you would expect from a Marriott hotel. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KentuckyTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo,Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Great place to stay while in Gatlinburg. The hotel is a block off of the strip so it is quiet but close to the action! Rooms are beautiful with Hot tubs and gas fireplace. The view on the balcony is beautiful and relaxing!!

  • Liked — Close to the action but a block away from the noise and traffic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Nice little hotel with a balcony view out the side overlooking a little creek, which you will hear at night if that bothers you. Exellent location near some great restaurants: Calhoun's and Cherokee Grille and the Ober Gatlinburg tram. The price is very reasonable too.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWCGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We stayed at The Fairfield Inn from January 1st-6th. We went to enjoy sking and maybe get to view a little snow-which we did. It snowed enough to make things really pretty, but the roads were fine for travel. Our room had very comfortable beds and was all around comfortable. The room had a gas fireplace which we used continuously when we were in the room. This made the room very cozy since it was cold outside. All rooms have a view of the creek too which is very nice ,especially if you go there when you can get out on your balcony in warmer weather. Our pilot light on the fireplace was not working when we got there, but maintanence fixed it within an hour. I was afraid at first that I was going to have to "freak" because they weren't really nice at first when I called down to the front desk. I told them I was going to call the hotel manager and things turned around quickly and we truly enjoyed the rest of our stay. The continential breakfast was adaquate too. This propery is very nice; especially for the price.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Unihead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing