We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room w/a view and sounds of the stream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A room w/a view and sounds of the stream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our second trip to this hotel was time and money well spent. If you have small children I recommend this establishment. The room and grounds is very well kept. The lobby serves a continental breakfast and offers cookies and lemonade in the evening after 4:00. This hotel is located near a few restaurants, tram to Ober Gatlinburg, walkway around the stream offers handmade rocking chairs to sit and listen to the stream & the parking is convenient (walk into own w/out paying hourly rates). Although there is a pool on the premise we did not partake. The pool is somewhat small and we felt intrusive to other guests. This pool needs to have a kiddy pool added. There seemed to be a few ants in the bathroom. The ac seemed to have a govern shutting the air off completely after cycling every 30 min or so. It was somewhat uncomfortable for the bed not next to the ac. Whoever cleaned w/a water hose above our balcony seemed to spill water all over our's. It splashed our french doors. Luckily we were not out. I was hesitant to go out afterwards. We will revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymonpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    217
    71
    18
    17
See reviews for
202
303
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

On a recent trip to Gatlinburg we rented a cabin in the mountains but decided to come in a day early without a reservation area and see what we could find. Driving alone the river area we found a very cool looking place that looked like a lodge. This place was amazing and our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. The room was very clean and large. We had a jacuzzi tub right in the room, which the kids loved. Everything was fresh and updated and was in great shape. And the view was awesome. Right outside the room on our spacious balcony was the bubbling and rolling river. Very cool. And the location was great. We were right beside Ober Gatlinburg and the main drag. We would definitely stay here again next time. The breakfast could have a few more selections, but it wasn't bad overall.

Room Tip: Higher floors had a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This lodge is right on the creek! Just open the door of the balcony and enjoy the creek! Also, it is just a block away from the downtown. You will not need a car to see Gatlinburg! Every attraction of Gatlinburg is within the walking the distance from this hotel! The rooms are good too. The room we rented did not have a tub, bathroom was little smaller size. Also, the breakfast area is small and there is no protein in the breakfast. But, these shortcoming can be forgiven given the advantage of the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soumakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

At the recommendation of another Trip Advisor review, we stayed in a king, Jacuzzi, fireplace, creek side room with a refrigerator and microwave. Room was clean and sleeping with the creek every night was relaxing though humid. The location is the best part. You are only one block from the "main strip" but you are at the end of the town which means you are closer to the National Park and can avoid the "main strip" traffic. The Internet was reliable for those of us who have to work or want to upload photos. The only hot item on the free breakfast was biscuits and gravy. Everyday. Of course, you can make your own waffles and there is cereal and some pastry items. The staff is very nice and you are charged when you check in. The pool is very small and right on the sidewalk with no privacy whatsoever. The other negative is that the hotel does not offer any type of laundry service for those of us who do not want to do our own laundry while on vacation. Overall, a fine stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is great and reason enough for me to stay here once again. Just a block from the main strip, we walked everywhere and it was so convenient to not have to look for parking. The other good thing was the view of the creek. The staff was friendly. The bathrooms are small and there is no bathtub, but we stayed for only 3 nights and did not spend much time inside the room anyway so it was not a big deal. The breakfast was not great but hey it was free!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Torsha_bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very convienent location, almaost directly behind Ober Gaatlinburg tram station on River Road. Like another reviewer said parking is a little difficult, but you rarrely have to move your car once you are there. Easy walking distance to everything on the Parkway, and if driving somewhere you can take River Road to either end of town and not have to fight traffic on the Paakway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the week of Fourth of July. It was fine. The room was clean, but old. We didn't get a refresh on coffee the first night, the second night the sheets were dirty on one of the bed, and the third night the cleaning people left some of their cleaning supplies in our room. Not any huge deals, especially since we don't spend much time in our room. On a positive note, the hotel is next to the river and the pool was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing