We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful views”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful views”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Much like other reviewers, we loved that the hotel is slightly off the beaten path (not on the main strip) but still in walking distance. We had a gorgeous view of the mountains and the creek below from our balcony. Rooms were nice and clean. Nothing fancy, but certainly comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly. We recommend. Only negative is that the breakfast area is small for the number of rooms, but all the guests made do. Lovely outdoor seating was available adjacent to the creek.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noreenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    226
    71
    22
    17
See reviews for
223
328
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanatah, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location on the river. Balcony overlooking the river was awesome. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely stay with old creek again.The staff was very helpful with any questions. Even were able to get us in a couple hours early on short notice. Warm cookies in the lobby in the evening for a nice snack.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan22swoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great spot, close to the strip but far enough away to be quiet. Our room was beautiful and large. We stayed on the loud sided of the creek, right but the little waterfall. I would of loved to leave the door open, but it was just to loud. I suggest going on the quieter side if you want to leave the door open. With the door and curtain closed, we couldnt hear the creek while we slept. The staff was friendly and very helpful. My son loved the cookies they offered in the lobby.
The only reason I didnt give it a 5 was the breakfast. It was not great. We only ate there once. It would of been nice if there would of been some protein choices and that they mixed it up. Everyday was the same thing.
Overall we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the other side of the office if you want to enjoy the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. Room decor was very appealing, everything was new, clean and fresh. Loved the private balcony overlooking the mountain stream, it really was private unlike some places that advertise private balconies. Morning breakfast was very adequate, great location for walking to everything in Gatlinburg and easy access to the park without having to wait in traffic. A very very pleasant stay.
L White

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way back from South Carolina. We had vacationed in Gatlinburg before and wanted to go back to enjoy this beautiful mountain town once more. I had been looking mostly at the large chains but found Old Creek Lodge on Trip Advisor while searching for reviews on the big chains. I was pleasantly surprised at the location and the cleanliness and the amenities. Location is literally 1 block off the main strip in Gatlinburg, you can walk to anything. The place was just completed renovated in 2011 according to the front desk clerk and it shows. It was clean and had nice touches throughout that made it look like a mountain lodge. The pool was small but the kids didn't mind, they love it anyway. The breakfast had many choices and was ready promptly at 7am which helped us get back on the road quickly. If I was ever to come through Gatlinburg again, I'd definitely stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dlhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place defn. exceeded our expectation when we arrived. Location is great, rooms are fantastic and very clean. It is great to sit out on the private balcony and hear the water in the steam. Our kids loved that they could run in the office and grab warm fresh cookies after walking up and down the strip. Very quiet. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, especially for the value compared to other hotel/motels we passed by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room interior was very dark. A double wide door on the south side opened to the balcony over the creek, but not much light came in and the lighting in the room didn’t help. There are no windows. Neither door has a screen. We had the balcony door open for seconds for fresh air and 3 flies flew in. So, without keeping the door open, it was too warm inside the room. Even though it was in the 60s outside, we needed the a/c on.

The floors are solid. I always get top floor rooms, so I’m not under anyone. But these floors felt like they’re concrete, so no problem with noise from above. The top floor here is the 4th floor; the first floor doesn’t have rooms, but parking and the office. Breakfast room is small – only 2 tables + 2 counter-like areas to sit. The hotel is just off the main road through Gatlinburg on the south end. This end is closest to the National Park, and is the least congested area of the main drag. This is not to say that there’s nothing at this end. Within a 5 minute walk of the hotel are probably 15 restaurants, a grocery store and the Ober Gatlinburg tram station. But, if you walk up the main drag another 5 minutes, you hit the heart of all that Gatlinburg has to offer: Ripleys’, Guinness museum, House of Illusions, you name it. The town of Gatlinburg seems like a world apart from the National Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarySaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing