We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR STAY AT OLD CREEK LODGE IN GATLINBURG TN”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at THE OLD CREEK LODGE in GATLINBURG last weekend. Our room was very nice but
we never had maid service. We stayed in our room till lunch time and we requested maid service, but we when got back to our room that night we found we had no maid service at all. We always had stayed at the Hampton Inn which is very nice but thought the price was good here. The walls are very thin we could hear everything from the room beside us. Also their parking lot is not big enough. I think the next time we are going to stay at the Hampton Inn they go out of their way to meet your needs.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Old Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 714 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to the entrance of the national park. We were greeted and checked in by a prompt, friendly staff. They even upgraded us to a king room with a Jacuzzi. They offered a nice continental breakfast. We are not into "commercial Gatlinburg" We were only there to hike and experience nature. We were disappointed with the sheets, pillow cases and comforter. This is a very small issue, we know, but after hiking all day, we just wanted soft sheets to fall into. They were "itchy" as my daughter would put it. No complaints, just did not have comfortable linens. I think it was a little over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Old Creek Lodge for 3 nights in April and stayed in an Executive Suite Room (in-room whirlpool tub and fireplace with a balcony overlooking the creek). The staff was very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was OK, what you'd expect from a free continental breakfast. The location was fabulous. You could easily walk to everything, but you felt away from it all. In my opinion, it was better to be at the end of the strip near the park entrance, as it seems it is less congested and had the higher-end restaurants and shops! Plus, it was close to trails and other outdoor activities. Great value too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in room 217. I will give the pros first. The room was clean, nice tiled shower with HOT water, refrigerator and microwave in room. Great location with a small balcony overlooking the creek. The biggest drawback was the garbage truck at 6:30 Friday morning, 6:15 Saturday morning, and 4:30 Sunday morning. At first you hear the trucks backup alarm, then when the dumpster is dropped it sounds as if your lodge has just been crashed into. This was a big drawback as I enjoy resting while on vacation. It might be better if you stayed in a room closer to the reception area.? If the garbage truck did not come so early, this would have been the best.

Room Tip: Possibly choose a room closer to the office to avoid the garbage truck? Unsure if this would help th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haggiearthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived on Saturday, April 27 and stayed until Monday, April 29, 2013. The front desk staff was nice on the night we arrived. We checked in and then went to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was nice with two queen beds, nice sized bathroom and beautiful fireplace. The front door needed a little work. When it was closed, along the bottom you could see outside. Bugs and critters could come in to the room.

The room had a balcony overlooking the creek which was nice. The hotel was further away from the strip than I thought. It wouldn't be bad if it wasn't raining but it poured almost the entire time we were in Gatlinburg. We were walking back from the strip and were soaked but decided we would stop in the lobby to get cookies that were offered. The front desk lady was sitting at one of the tables and didn't even look up from her book as she said a couple of words to us. Wasn't too impressed with that. The least she could have done was look at me or got up and talked to us.

The outside could use a little work. There were rocks all over the parking lot and spider webs that hadn't been cleaned away. The pool area (if you can call it that) is very small and right next to the street. Not kid friendly if you had them.

I probably would not stay at this hotel if we found ourselves back in Gatlinburg. To me service is everything especially if I'm giving my hard earned money to a company and I felt customer service was lacking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Location and customer service not the best!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdnmickeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Spent one night at the Old Creek Lodge while driving through Great Smoky Mountains park. I was still in shock at the heavy commercialism that runs for miles along the entrance highway into the park: chain restaurants, cartoon-character amusement parks, and dozens of shops promoting the "hillbilly" theme. Gatlinburg didn't seem quite as garish as Pigeon Forge(Dolly Parton's hometown), although the main street still has a carnival midway theme. Luckily, the Old Creek Lodge is a couple blocks off the main drag, backing onto a beautiful little creek. Room was clean, bed was good, staff and breakfast just fine. No complaints, but nothing to truly separate it from the dozens of other generic motels in town. A two minute walk to the mayhem along main street, but just far enough off it to feel like you actually are in one of the most spectacular natural scenery locations in the U.S.
In this price range, pretty hard to find fault with the Old Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for creekside room on the wing farthest from reception, which is adjacent to a street off the no...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in Old Creek Lodge with my boyfriend this past March for Spring Break and I loved it! The staff was very friendly and the room (Executive King) was very clean. The hotel is located about two blocks away from the main street in Gatlinburg (Parkway), so we were able to walk everywhere. I plan on staying here again during my next trip to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southern_Gurl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $110 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing