We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

In the middle of a three night stay, rooms are large and clean. Gas fireplace in room very nice since it has gotten very chilly during our stay. Beds are firm and comfortable, pillows are thin but to my liking. There are just a few negatives to mention, but would not discourage me from staying again. The garbage truck comes at 4:30 am, if your not awake you will be! The walls are paper thin, and whenever your neighbors run water or are a heavy snorers you will know it. The breakfast is not very good, if coffee, doughnuts and a waffle will do, you will be fine. It is a nice place by the river, clean, with a nice staff. I would stay again, if that garbage truck is not an every night affair! I'll find out tonight!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    227
    71
    22
    17
See reviews for
226
329
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The front staff was super helpful and pointed out a few hot spots within walking distance!!! Will definbitely be coming back!!! The value was worth the room and the breakfast with cider and cookies were greatly appreciated. The jacuzzi tub and fire place were wonderful after walking in the smoky mountains all day!!! Love love love this lodge!!!@

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last year and loved it. I was traveling this year with my sister and a friend for a girls trip, and they loved it as well. I think it is the best lodging in Gatlinburg for the price. The regular room price is $85, but if you have any type of discount cards, they take those as well. The rooms are very clean and have a fireplace, balcony overlooking a stream, fridge and microwave, with some rooms offering jacuzzi for an additional price. The tiled shower with seat was my favorite. Breakfast is included in the rate and was delicious. Plenty of breakfast items to choose from, biscuits, gravy, cereal/oatmeal, pastries, fruit, waffles that you make with a waffle iron, as well as juice and coffee. Apple cider and cookies are available in the office every evening. They also have discount aquarium tickets available in the lobby. The location is awesome too, near the tram and entrance to the park. Would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our three-night stay at Old Creek. We beat Sandy into town and even though we couldn't get out as much as intended due to the weather we were in a great location for takeout food. The room was very nice and the fireplace was perfect. Even better than that, the hospitality at the front desk, the fresh baked cookies and the hot cider certainly made us feel at home. Thanks all.

Room Tip: Bennett's barbecue is just yards away from the hotel and the food is very good. It is also near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skystne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our stay for five nights was okay...the biggest complaint is the garbage truck that is there for pickup at 4:30 - 5:00 a.m. EVERY morning (even Sundays), which is LOUD and so annoying. The room was clean, well-equipped, and comfortable. Loved the stream in the back; unfortunately, the weather wasn't cooperative so we didn't use the balcony. The breakfast area is too small and very crowded -- foods was good though. We would stay there again because it's walking distance to everything downtown and only a short drive to the park visitor center with no stoplights to contend with. WARNING: DO NOT take Hwy. 61 from the freeway through Sieverville and Pigeon Fork -- it took us over three hours to go 15 miles...the most horrible experience of our three-week vacation. Avoid that route at all costs. Frankly, it would have been extremely helpful if the hotel reservation desk would have given us a heads up and suggested an alternative route (especially given that we were arriving on a Friday night, a four-day holiday weekend -- Columbus Day). Also, we were told about the one free admission ticket to the Aquarium in town and offered by OCL to each guest room staying at the hotel, not by the reception desk, but by another hotel guest two days after arriving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located far away from the garbage dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charms1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited OCL in May and chose it again for our recent 3 night stay in October, mainly for availability and cost. Had mixed feelings for my first review, and have to say I still do.

First, the good things about the hotel. Rates are great, and the AARP discount makes it even better. Rooms are very clean, no complaints in that area. Most front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Basic continental breakfast is offered, including make-your-own Belgian waffles (YUMMY!). Complimentary USA Today newspaper is available each morning in the lobby. A new addition (possibly seasonal?) that was a big hit with hubby - warm cookies and hot apple cider each afternoon! Location is perfect - easy walk to the main strip, yet quiet. Free in-room Wifi is now available and connection was easy.

And the cons. None of them major, but improvements could easily be made. First, acceptable discounts should be listed on the website. We only knew about AARP because we asked. No itemized receipt is given at check in, just the credit card receipt with total amount. When we got to the room, I noticed immediately that the clock was unplugged - when we plugged it in, we realized it was broken. That should have been addressed when the room was cleaned. We took it down to the front desk, and were told another one would be located and brought up. We can only surmise that the woman who checked us in, and handled the clock issue, must be related to the hotel management. I can't fathom why someone so unfriendly would otherwise be placed in a customer service position. Everyone else was super friendly. Beds were still sqeaky, but these were not as bad as the ones we had in May. W were prepared with heavy duty earplugs. Wifi was easy to connect to, but very slow. My browser would time out on many of the pages I normally access on a daily basis. There was a nice flat screen TV, but no channel guide in the room. Also no pen or note paper. The small towel rack next to the sink was loose and ready to fall off the wall, so we didn't use it any more than we had to. And my hubby was once again disappointed in the very watery sausage gravy at breakfast.

All in all, this place is a good value for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K9pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

fantastic prices in a quaint,beautiful area,on a stream. would definitely go there again.Went there without any reservations or knowing anything about the hotel. The staff was very friendly and were great at giving information about Gatlinburg

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank htl1950_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing