We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Gatlinburg, TN”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was very nervous about booking this hotel in Gatlinburg after reading a TA review that most hotels in Gatlinburg were run down--not this one. It has been completely renovated recently (just reopened in May, 2011). I was very pleased with room 301. We stayed 3 nights and were always happy to come back to our room after a day out enjoying the sites in this area. The hotel is located within walking distance to all the attractions, eateries and shopping of Gatlinburg but is also located on the quiet end of town near the entry to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. We had a private balcony overlooking the river (we call it a creek) and it offered musical sounds as we rested after a busy day out on the balcony. We were always greeted each day and evening by desk attendants with delightful attitudes and helpful suggestions for us. Our room had a whirlpool tub, fireplace, frig, microwave, large flat screen TV and 2 queen beds all for $89.99/night (exluding tax)--believe it, it was a great deal. Do not expect much for a pool or public hot tub here. If you expect that, please check out another property. This was more of a couples retreat without kids. I have been leary about staying at "motels" with the enterance to the outside but staying here has made me rethink this worry in the future. This was a very magical stay--maybe the mountains had something to do with our enjoyment here but I would definitely stay here again if in this area.

Room Tip: Room 301 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RansRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 718 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

This motel was the old Fairfield Inn on River Rd. in Gatlinburg and has been remodeled and is now the Old Creek Lodge. The room was spacious and very clean. My husband and I stayed two nights in a room with two queen beds and a balcony over the river/creek behind the motel. That was our favorite part! We spent a lot of time just enjoying being able to sit outside and listen to the water flowing and watching the wildlife. There is a long bench for your luggage, a desk and chair, a gas fireplace (we had no need to use this), a flat screen TV, a big oversized chair and ottoman, and a nice dresser with built in refrigerator and microwave. All the furniture is made to look rustic with wood. There is a vanity with one sink separate from the area with the shower and the shower was great with just a small step up to get into it and beautiful tile. There were great framed black and white photos hanging in the rooms and in the lobby of scenes in the Smokies which were a nice touch. They offer a good free breakfast which consisted of items like cereal, sweet rolls, bagels, toast, instant oatmeal, apple juice, orange juice, coffee, biscuits and gravy, and a waffle maker that the lady that worked there graciously fixed us a waffle on. There was very limited seating for this so you might have to take it back to your room. There is also a coffee maker in your room. Some of the parking is covered, some not, and there seemed to be more rooms than spaces. We had no problem getting a spot though. This motel is conveniently located so you can walk everywhere and it was very reasonably priced compared to others. We will definitely being stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

By chance found this Lodge online and we could not have been happier. It was recently renovated, wonderfully decorated, everything was clean and has a new feel to it. The provided breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. We were able to walk to destinations downtown Gatlinburg. We loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kashtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Found the old creek lodge by accident when we were unable to book a room at the bearskin lodge which is just down the street. The hotel had just been remodeled in May. Rooms are very spacious and very clean. We ended up staying three nights and spent quite a bit less per night than we would have if we had stayed at the bearskin. if you are looking for a clean room without the frills this is the place. The staff were also very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. No regrets, will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway. This hotel has been recently updated. The room was decorated nicely and our view of the mountain creek was beautiful. All of the staff was very hospitable and would speak when they saw you. The location is perfect for downtown Gatlinburg, just one block from the parkway, but far enough to get away from the congestion. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

New rooms are great. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast was very good. Location is wonderful. Look forward to staying here again, the Lord willing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dbscpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Looked long and hard on the internet for a downtown hotel we felt comfortable with. This hotel is great. All room furnishings are new. Pool is small, but very clean and well kept. Staff was great. Breakfast was appropriate. Don't worry about the private label. Walking distance to downtown. Balcony overlooks river. A great deal for in the $100 range.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $110 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing