We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel in years past, and in its time, was one of the nicest hotels around. Now, however, it is a little out of date. The rooms were clean enough and the pool area was still nice (one of the coolest pools around), but the whole feel of the place just felt dated, and there were small things that needed to be fixed/upgraded. But overall it was a good stay and the service staff was nice, it just needs some upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while traveling through Gatlinburg. We love to hear from our guests as it gives us an opportunity to share feedback with our team members. We hope to see you again in the near future!! Sincerely, Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

The first room we had was on a lower floor but the door to the balcony made an awful screeching sound when opened and did not lock. We then got moved to a room on a higher floor where the balcony door still did not lock but it was high up enough I wasn't concerned but the hot water for the shower took about 20 minutes to heat up. The staff was not very helpful and didn't really seem to care that we were having so many problems. The waterfall on the indoor pool (one of the main reasons we chose this hotel) was also not turned on, they said it was working fin they just didn't have it on. Also after leaving the pool area you are *required* to use the service elevator and not the one meant for guests... I was extremely disappointed with our stay here.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms take a long time (and I mean 20 min or more) for the water in the shower to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, and it is disappointing that you did not consider your stay to be "stellar". However, comments such as yours are great training tools for our staff so that we might continually improve our product and service..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had to check in at the Glenstone Lodge due to our early arrival at another resort. I would like to acknowledge Mr. Stephen Fink at the front desk who took care of all my needs which I was with my 10 month old granddaughter. His customer service goes far and beyond. When I told him my time share referred us to Glenstone Lodge he was very nice in taking care of us for the room overnight. I would like to thank him for a great stay and I would highly recommend this Location for a great stay as well as a friendly staff. Thank you again Mr. Stephen Fink for a doing a job well done.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank cindy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here in Gatlinburg. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is somewhat older and as an older establishment does have some defects but it has one of the most beautiful indoor swimming pools I have seen in a hotel with such a moderate nightly fee. The staff were excellent and the food at the buffet breakfast was wonderful. I will definitely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel are nicer and quieter than those on the outer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here in Gatlinburg. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great value for your money. Great indoor pool. Great location for walking to attractions in Gatlinburg. I would recommend this property to anyone coming to Gatlinburg or surrounding areas. We actually used this location as a base to see different waterfalls in southwestern NC. We were able to see about 10 of 16 published falls there. The most spectacular of them all was Whitewater Falls. It is 411 feet tall and is the tallest east of the Mississippi. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenStober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here in Gatlinburg. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I only stayed one night at the Glenstone. The location was perfect, just off the Gatlinburg strip and close to my favorite Roaring Fork Motor trail. They have a large lobby with a glass elevator a breakfast buffet for $8.95 (I had my own food ). For October the price was quite reasonable and the room was large. The only complaint I had was the elevator in the back was broken and I had to walk up 3 flights of stairs when I had to park in the back. I got lucky and parked in the front for check out. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Pool side room is nice but it may be noisy til 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank babydoll10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while traveling through Gatlinburg. We love to hear from our guests as it gives us an opportunity to share feedback with our team members. We hope to see you again in the near future!! Sincerely, Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife found a coupon on Groupon for this place and we wanted to go and check out the fall colors in the Smokey Mountains. Our daughter loves to swim, so it seemed like a great place. We stayed on Monday-Wednesday at the end of October 2013. We were put into room 149, right behind the waterfall. That was the only complaint that we really had was that the waterfall is noisy when it is on, which is from afternoon until around 11 pm. We have a toddler who takes a nap, so it was loud, but she slept through it.
The room was older and not remodeled. But, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. We requested a room with a fridge and they gave us one.

The pool is really nice. There is an upper and lower. The bad thing about the upper is that, while it is warmer than the lower, it is 7' deep at its shallowest, so not good for little ones. We swam two of the three days.

This lodge is about 1/2 mile walk from the heart of Gatlinburg. We walked it several times, with a 4 year old and pushing a stroller and it was no problem. My wife and I actually enjoyed the walk.

There is a breakfast restaurant with a buffet for $8.99 that is very good. We ate at it both times. We were going to try a different restaurant on Wednesday, but decided that we'd pay the same price, but not for the choices the buffet has.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you go on the outside, you will have to walk outside to access the indoor pool. If you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1967Yankeesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your recent review oon TripAdvisor of the Glenstone Lodge. We are so happy that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable and we hope you will choose to stay with us again when you travel in Gatlinburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $109 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenstone Lodge features a variety of newly renovated accommodations to suit all needs and budgets. Whether it’s a large King or Double Queen room, you’ll find the space you need with a price that you can easily afford at our hotel near Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you are planning a family vacation, Glenstone Lodge also offers large Suite accommodations perfect for the entire family. Our charming lodge is a Gatlinburg landmark located in a beautiful mountain setting along the clear and sparkling LeConte Creek in the heart of Gatlinburg. Our location allows our guests to be sheltered from the pedestrian traffic and noise yet provide the convenience of being within walking distance to downtown Gatlinburg and all the many attractions. A trolley stop is in front of the hotel for an added convenience for those who may want to visit surrounding cities. Many group planners are repeatedly placing their confidence in the Glenstone Lodge due to this ongoing commitment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing