We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We were within walking distance of downtown which was really nice. Great pancake place for breakfast just a short walk away too. The room was not the cleanest (rust and grime on the walls) and smelled old, but the price wasn't bad since we used a Groupon. Wouldn't have paid more than what we did for this place though. The staff was all really friendly. There wasnt an abundance of luggage carts, so we had to haul everything in and out in multiple trips. Pools looked awesome though, but we didn't spend any time swimming.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We receive a lot of compliments on our comfortable beds, which is the essence of a good hotel stay. Please come back and stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the East Tennessee area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    258
    244
    143
    130
See reviews for
371
269
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family and I booked this hotel on either Hotwire or Priceline (can't remember which one now). It was listed as a three star hotel. This is NOT a three star hotel. It is a two star hotel at best. The rooms are dated. Comforter on the bed had a rip in it, the little freezer in the refrigerator in the room was frozen, and the freezer door would not shut. The only room they had available was a room right outside the pool area. That would be okay, but it is hotter than a sauna walking from the elevator to our room. All of the ice machines except for two in the entire hotel were broken. Once again, that would not be a problem, but it doesn't look like anything is being done to get them fixed.

Yesterday morning, I woke up to a roach crawling across the room. I called the front desk, and they were apologetic, but the only thing that was offered to us was to switch rooms. NO THANKS. I am here for six days, and have everything unpacked. Our room is the last room that is technically inside, and then goes outside. The door was held opened by a grocery bag for four days. I finally complained after I saw our extra visitor. The front desk said they would put a sign on the door to keep it closed, but the only thing they did was remove the plastic bag. This morning I woke up to the door being held open once again by a plastic bag. There are also no-smoking signs all over the hotel, but those must be just a suggestion. This morning when I walked out of my room, there was another guest smoking away. I have a small child with asthma as well as my husband. I would complain, but I don't think it would do any good. The only positive part of our stay was the girl at the front desk gave us a McDonald's cup that saved us $5 on our admission to Dollywood.

Unless this is the last hotel with rooms available, I would stay far away from this place....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckylynn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, and it is disappointing that you did not consider your stay to be "stellar". However, comments such as yours are great training tools for our staff so that we might continually improve our product and service..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took are first family vacation we stayed there for a week in front of the outside pool. it was so much fun everyone was nice. Our 3 kids loved both pools we cooked out we never had a problem the room was clean had plenty of room for a family of 5 I will be staying there again when we come back thanks for the best stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber03aak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It is very nice to read you think we have very nice accommodations here at the Glenstone Lodge. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip our way. Thank you for such a nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winfield MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked thru Groupon and stayed at Glenstone lodge june 4-8 for our 32nd anniversary and had a great time. they gave us a king room with a balcony in the front of the hotel on the 5th floor. I am pretty picky about hotel cleanliness and was very impressed about how clean the room was, especially the bathroom. The room didnt have a fridge but upon calling the front desk we were brought one within 15 min of calling. We also had a issue with the door lock not working properly so we called the front desk and i told my husband "great now we'll probably sit here for forever waiting for someone to come fix it" boy, was I wrong, a maintenance man showed up within 15-20 minutes replaced the circuit board and we were good to go. The indoor pool was great despite having to deal with a few teens jumping off the rocks into the upper pool, i was almost jumped on and went to the front desk to make them aware of the situation and they handled it very quickly. The girl at the front desk apologized every time I saw her after that. I do agree with some reviewers that the hot tub is a bit on the small side but it was nice and toasty and felt good after walking around all day. The breakfast buffet was also good, (my husband gives a big thumbs up to the omelet man!) liked the fact we could eat bfast before leaving the hotel. I'm not a big complainer but I do like it known when we are treated well and we were treated well at Glenstone. Thank You Glenstone!

Room Tip: rooms in the front of the building (not poolside) seemed a little better, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki9661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It is good to read you enjoyed your stay here at the Glenstone Lodge. Thank you for your review and your business. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jellico, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great front desk service. The indoor pool was fun and really was a lifesaver during a rainy week. Waterfall and nine foot upper section was lovely. However, hot tub area needs refurbishing as there was chipping concrete falling. Beautiful entrance and location on Historic Nature Trail. A pleasant walk down to the main strip, but seems longer coming back uphill! This hotel was in its heyday when it was built in the 70's. Lovely outdoor pool area and sheltered cook out area by the creek. We liked the location of our room, #163, outside, but near the indoor pool. Rooms may need humidifiers as smelled damp like a lot of older motel rooms. Buffet breakfast not really worth $10, but staff was friendly. Close to Log Cabin Pancake House. Ice machines seemed overworked. Generally seemed clean. In fact, we were awaken every morning by the laundry carts passing the door. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the review you recently posted on Trip Advsor. I'm happy to hear that your stay with us was to your satisfaction. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kane County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from the Glenstone over the July 4th weekend. We were extremely disappointed in our room located in the "pool side" section. I am really not one to complain or raise a fuss, but we felt like hostages in that hotel. No other rooms available due to the busy weekend. The room was filthy. The photos and reviews of patrons that had formerly stayed, makes me wonder what block of rooms they were in, because these rooms had not been updated since the 1970s. The air vent in the bathroom was disgusting - a mountain of dust. Carpeting very dirty and moldy due to being on the pool side. Windows dirty. Mirrors dirty. Dust on top of the picture frames, as well as bed frames. Molding on the floor stained and very dirty. Mattress looked like that have not been updated since the 70's - totally gross. The surrounding area was beautiful and we had a great time visiting all of the attractions, but were really skeeved-out by the room. The maid service was horrible; just emptied the garbage cans and folded the comforter over the unmade bed. The breakfast in the morning was over priced for what was offered and I suggest going to Dunkin down the street instead. Due to the rain, the kids swam in the indoor pool. Very cloudy and uncomfortably warm. The hot tub jets were not working. A ton of Palmento bugs and other icky creepy crawlies around due to the live foliage in the pool area. We did not find any bugs in the room, but I would not have been surprised if we did it, was the perfect habitat for them. For the value of 140+ per night was definitely NOT WORTH IT - Look around and do your research!!!

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms are very deceiving. Do your research!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montgomerymom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at The Glenstone Lodge. We sincerely apologize that your family getaway was anything less than extraordinary. We pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service, and we will properly address each of your concerns so that we can continue to improve. We hope that one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Glenstone Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the better stays we have had in a while. Went for the 4th of July for four days and ended up staying an additional day because of the experience of witnesses how a guest should be treated and that was wonderful. Our suite was clean and equipped during the entire stay to perfection. Thanks Glenstone and we will see you next year this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David65_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It is good to read you enjoyed your stay here at the Glenstone Lodge. Thank you for your review and your business. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Property: Glenstone Lodge
Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing