We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gatlinburg Location!”
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I know this hotel has receivied many negative reviews, I just don't understand! We booked this though "Living Social", $159.00 + tax for four nighths. At that rate it is a sure enough bargain! The entrance is very nice, the lobby interesting, the room is a standard hotel room but very clean, the beds are comfortable and a nice LED TV with 94 channels. The location is great! Just two blocks to the main drag and less than that to the Roaring Fork Nature Trail (one of the prettiest drives in the Smokies!) The indoor pool was fun and the hot tub eased sore muscles after a day of hiking. My wife and I thought the breakfast buffet was excellent! The cook whipped up a great western omlet and there was crispy bacon, tasty link sausage and sausage patties that looked good, grits, gravy, biscuits, canalope, strawberrys, pineapple and other fruits, cereals of all kinds. The cook offered pancakes and waffles but I had already gorged myself and had to pass. For $8.95, a bargain. All the staff have been friendly and helpful. Not a four star hotel but if you don't have fun here it's your own fault!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our third stay at the Glenstone and first time with our kids. We all had a great time. The kids loved the indoor swimming pool. It is great that there is a shallow pool perfect for younger children and a seperate deeper pool for the older children/adults. The rooms were clean and the location is walking distance to the main strip in Gatlinburg. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d_parson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Glenstone Lodge and for taking the time to write a very nice review on TripAdvisor. Our staff knows that travelers have many hotels from which to choose, and we are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We hope you will return to visit us again when your travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This was probably a great place in 1980. It does capture the "kitch" of old gatlinburg...you know, the mountain trip you took as a kid in the station wagon and got a souvenir bear and some moccasins or a drum. We booked on priceline as a 3 star, and its not. Lobby is pretty cool but dated. The indoor pool area is pretty awesome and would make this a good place to stay with kids. Our room was accessed from an outdoor walkway like most old motels. The room was clean but very dated. Everything is old except the tv which was a very nice 32" flat screen. No wifi (at least no signal in our room) and no instructions or even a welcome brochure explaining the property, restaurant, etc. The restaurant has a $9 breakfast buffet which we did not experience. The location is good, close to the Main Street but set far enough back to be quiet, and right next to a beautiful creek which we could hear through our 1970s styled door vent! (I thought this was cool but my wife did not). It was cold when we visited but the outdoor pool and pool area look very nice. All in all a nice place in bad need of a refresh.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Glenstone Lodge. We pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service, and it pains us to read about your experiences. However, please know that your remarks will be properly addressed so that we can continue to improve. We hope that one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glenstone Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our church had a marriage retreat at the Glenstone Lodge with approximately 50 couples. The rooms were nice for the price. The catered meal was good but not worth $57 per couple. The facility was clean.
We did have a couple that needed to cancel last minute due to sickness. We were promised a full refund for both nights. After 2 months and many phone calls, we received only partial refund.
This definitely will be remembered when planning future retreats in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktownsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Glenstone Lodge in Gatlinburg April 6th and 7th, 2013. We were given this hotel through a "mystery deal" through one of the online sites. We paid 49.00 per night for the hotel.

We are both mid-level managers in the restaurant business so we see our fair share of the good, bad and ugly. I like to think we are "average normal" people.

The hotel is right off of red light #8 in the north downtown Gatlinburg area. The hotel has plenty of parking and ample room to check in and unload the car. Once we got into the lobby we noticed a nice "see-through" glass elevator and a two tier indoor swimming pool that kids and adults were obviously were enjoying as well as two employees waiting to check us in.
Our check in took less than 3 minutes and away to our room on the 5th floor we went. Once inside we were very impressed with the size of the room and especially how clean it was. The bathroom was "pearl white" and was not only spotlessly clean but also stocked with toiletries. The room had a large king bed, a 26 inch flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a small balcony overlooking the road out in front. We could not have asked for anything better. I would have felt fine paying $79 or $89 a night for this resort

Sure this is an older resort but it is well taken care and the employees obviously take pride in working here. By the way....these "paper-thin" walls that a previous reviewer talked about never came into play even though we had people on both sides of us.

Stay here with confidence !!!! especially if you can get it at $49 a night !!!

Room Tip: Try to stay on the 5th floor corners....Great views from here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickinharbourtown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nothing fancy about this place. It was a good value and had a very nice indoor pool. Kinda a long walk to the Parkway and no restaurants nearby. Nice hot shower with good water pressure. We booked a creekside room but got put into a balcony room on the street side of motel. Didn't really complain since we weren't in our room that much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zntenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed March 27, 28, and 29 during spring break. Pool was crowded in the evening but that was fun. We were in one of the outside rooms in the back but I liked that location, seemed quiter being in the back of the property. Easy walk to town, aquarium, etc. Check in and out were smooth, wifi worked anytime that I tried and this was during March madness so I checked scores often. We didn't try the breakfast but it looked good for $10.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $109 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenstone Lodge features a variety of newly renovated accommodations to suit all needs and budgets. Whether it’s a large King or Double Queen room, you’ll find the space you need with a price that you can easily afford at our hotel near Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you are planning a family vacation, Glenstone Lodge also offers large Suite accommodations perfect for the entire family. Our charming lodge is a Gatlinburg landmark located in a beautiful mountain setting along the clear and sparkling LeConte Creek in the heart of Gatlinburg. Our location allows our guests to be sheltered from the pedestrian traffic and noise yet provide the convenience of being within walking distance to downtown Gatlinburg and all the many attractions. A trolley stop is in front of the hotel for an added convenience for those who may want to visit surrounding cities. Many group planners are repeatedly placing their confidence in the Glenstone Lodge due to this ongoing commitment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing