We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70's Holiday Inn Style”
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“70's Holiday Inn Style”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There must be nicer rooms, there has to be. It was clean and functional and orderly, I guess it was o.k. The restaurant in the hotel was o.k. I wouldn't swim in the pool for any amount of money. I thought we got a good deal on what we paid for the room until I saw the room, then it changed to " oh, the lobby and the facade are ok, but the rooms don't go with that, so, I felt like I made a bad choice. No, I wouldn't stay there when we go back, unless it's to see Tex down at the Smoky Bear grocery store down the hill and across the road. What a great guy, and a fantastic cook. See you soon in Gatlinburg. Maybe we could go over to Nantahala and ride the duck boat over the rapids in the 45 degree water, eh ?

Room Tip: uh..........to quote Homer Simpson........." Doh".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    259
    250
    145
    131
See reviews for
378
272
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here March2013. The indoor pool area was nice but could be cleaner. The front desk staff were average, but unable to assist in any way possible when I told then my in-room hair dryer was not working. The bathroom was extremely small which is understandable due to age of the hotel, but if u need space in the bathroom u may need to go somewhere else. U literally have to straddle the toilet to get out! Also, we were happy that the wifi worked in our room! Overall a decent stay for us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHITnJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our pool area was recently newly recarpeted and looks great. Our recent pool inspection scored a 98 out of 100. We apologize if the staff was unable to provide a hair dryer. Housekeeping/maintenance does have spares but they may all have been in use. We are glad that you still felt you had a pleasant stay. Thank you and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern U.S
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stay here every year for conference. It is close To the convention center but A long walk up and down the hill. This is an older hotel with some interior rooms and some outside corridor rooms. The rooms are usually fairly clean but are dated There is only a small refrigerator but no microwave in rooms. No continental breakfast is served If you want a really nice hotel in Gatlinburg For just a little bit more money you could stay at the Hampton or the Clarion

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southerntraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Glenstone Lodge is within a 5 minute walk of the Gatlinburg Convention Center. Guests have the option of walking down the hill and returning up the hill on the trolley for a nominal fee. Our rooms are very clean and our breakfast buffet is offered at a very reasonable cost which is comparable to any sit down restaurant in town. We offer a microwave at the front desk for guest use. Thank you again, and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed with a youth football group for a tournament in Gatlinburg over Thanksgiving week in 2012. The hotel was very dirty and run down. Pool was closed down due to a virus that was going through the hotel. If the group returns (over 50 people) the consensus was that we would look for other accomodations and nto staying at the Glenstone Lodge.

Room rate we were told as a "group discount" was actually the regular priced rate
Rooms were dirty, bedspreads torn and the wallpaper peeling
Did not eat at the restauraunt as the prices were outrageous, no continetnal breakfast or coffee, etc,...
The pool was dirty and the pool area was dirty

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Much better quality rooms, service, ammenities and views at other hotels in Gatlinb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay in November. The pool area carpet has since been replaced and looks wonderful. Our maintenance team has corrected any wallpaper issue. Our housekeeper has replaced any worn bedspreads. Our breakfast buffet offers many selections and includes a drink. It is comparable in price to any sit down restaurant in town. Two people can eat for less than $20.00 in most cases. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Florence, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to Gatlinburg to stay with relatives staying in cabins, so this location was close to them and close to downtown. Most hotels in Gatlinburg are dated, I understand that, so rise above and do something different. The services here was good, everyone was extremely nice, but the furniture in the lobby was from the 1980s and the decor in the rooms followed suite. Very outdated, and green bathroom sink, wow. The sheets and mattress where fine, but when we went to bed, the people in the room next to use where outside smoking and caring on which filtered into our room. The room walls are paper thin, you could hear everything that was going on in the room next to yours and any other outside noise. The pool area was nice, we where the only people using it on the Sunday when we where there so that was fun; hot tub,and a two tier pool, all which are a nice size and temperature, but the whole pool area looks like it was built in the 1960s. Their are no restrooms in the pool area, that makes me very worried, how many people are running all the way back to their rooms to use the restrooms, scary thought. This is a very dated hotel at an ok price, at a good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basildogpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that the beds were comfortable. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is our second stay ay Glenstone. The lodge is a little outdated, but price and location makes up for that. I had a group of 20 and Micheelle the sales manager did a wonderful job of making sure our reservations were in order and our requests were met. Check-in was great, Aprile, Terry, Mitzy, and Pierre helped out tremendously; going above and beyond to serve us! The restaurant, " The Patio" is a great bargain for breakfast, especially for a group and you also get a discount if tickets are ordered in advance. Sam the restaurant manager was very kind to us. Thanks to Christina, part of housekeeping , and the rest of the crew for keeping the place clean. The only complaint I have is the pools oH levels way to high. Last year my family could swim, because it burned our eyes. My daughter was crying because it burned so bad. This year was a lot better but most in our group complained of their eyes burning. As one that takes care of a public-type pool, I have had same problem from time -to -time. Mist people thinks the chlorine, its usually not, it's the pH level.Plan on staying there again next February.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carfreakydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are so glad to know that the staff was friendly and helpful, and that you and your group enjoyed our wonderful breakfast buffet. We have shared your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My Sister, nephew and I stayed at Glenstone 3 nights - was GREAT - The pool was beautiful and warm. We stayed right by the pool and loved the sound of the waterfall. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The location was perfect...right within walking distance of the main strip. We never had to get into the car to do anything while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments. We hope that you will contact us the next time you are visiting Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Property: Glenstone Lodge
Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenstone Lodge features a variety of accommodations to suit all needs and budgets. Whether it’s a large King or Double Queen room, you’ll find the space you need with a price that you can easily afford at our hotel near Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you are planning a family vacation, Glenstone Lodge also offers large Suite accommodations perfect for the entire family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing