We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever”
Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Stay Ever”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My Sister, nephew and I stayed at Glenstone 3 nights - was GREAT - The pool was beautiful and warm. We stayed right by the pool and loved the sound of the waterfall. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The location was perfect...right within walking distance of the main strip. We never had to get into the car to do anything while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments. We hope that you will contact us the next time you are visiting Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    259
    250
    145
    131
See reviews for
378
272
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We wanted to stay in Gatlinburg but not on the strip..we figure there was too much noise...so we came upon Glenstone Lodge...Upon entering the lobby we were amazed...this motel is dated but...very clean...ohh and they have a full service restaurant...the front desk personnel were very nice as we wanted to get our room aroung 12:30 that day and they were more than welome to accommadate us. We wanted a balcony room and were given a great one..we could see the strip..but no loud noise...bathrooms wer super nice....rooms were very clean and the housekeepers were smiling everytime we seen them...we wanted a two night stay but decided to stay 3 nights...it was a pleasure staying here...we have read some of these reviews...some people in this world you just cannot please....

Room Tip: We loved the room we received ...two queen beds a flatscreen t.v ...room smelled clean not like it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DallasBaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We truly appreciate your comments which we have shared with our staff. They work hard to keep our rooms and public areas in good condition. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will contact us the next time you are planning a trip to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening so we were not able to take advantage of everything Glenstone Lodge has to offer.

We did tour the grounds though. The pool area is very nice and was being cleaned while we were walking though. Plenty of space to sit and the area is very warm considering it was January.

Our room was on the creek side with 2 chairs out front for our use. The room was clean upon arrival. The bathroom was also very clean upon arrival. The beds slept well. You do get outside noise but it did not bother us. The were several youth groups also staying and those youth were up late. My only real complaint was our tub was a very slow drainer. We informed the front desk of this upon checkout, hopefully it will be repaired.

Overall it was a nice stay and we will return. It was a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked the indoor pool area. It has recently been recarpeted and looks great. Our maintenance department did check the tub drain and corrected the issue. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in 2005 it was decent. We stayed here this past weekend (January 2013) and ended up leaving with a dirty feeling due to the rooms and the BUGS we found were living with us during our stay.

We reported the bugs before we left, and they simply offered the apology for the inconvenience - and told us they were just water bugs (they looked like roaches to us). I did not have time to stay and chat, so we left without getting to speak to a manager. When we complained on their Facebook page, they deleted the comment. We sent a comment to their guest survey online... guess what, no contact. Thanks for the follow-up Glenstone Lodge - I'll be letting folks know of this experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a pool room - apparently they have "water bugs" that look kinda like roaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Glenstone Lodge. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. When you brought the situation to our attention at check out, we immediately took the room off market and it was inspected by our pest control company. Had this been reported during your stay, we would gladly have moved you to another room. We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping and Maintenance staff. We regret that your vacation was interupted by this situation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you. We hope you that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there with family over the weekend. The location is the only good thing about this hotel. Old and dated, everywhere. The entrance looks new, but our room looked like it hasnt been updated for decades. Had to run hot water for 15 minutes before it warmed up. Flat screen tv, but only 12 channels or so, bad reception. Pool was ok, but indoor carpet was nasty. This place needs a serious cleaning and update. Found them on Expedia, not as good of a deal as we thought, will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildmustangfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Glenstone Lodge. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working on renovations to include carpet, flooring, furniture, and other items in the next few months. We regret any inconvenience and hope that you will consider giving us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Water pressure issues so significant we changed locations. Walk in check in was smooth. Staff pleasant and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Toilet had a very weak flush. The shower was a deal breaker. Water pressure non existent. Temperature of the water went from normal to scalding to freezing without warning. No blow dryer, fridge or microwave in room. Gas fireplace was nice, but ended up overheating the room. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrigmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Glenstone Lodge. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate that you felt our rooms were clean and comfortable. We have hair dryers in all bathrooms near the light switch. Refrigerators are available in about half of our rooms and a microwave is available at the front desk. We are happy that you enjoyed the fireplace in your room. We are working on renovations including carpet, flooring, furniture and other items in the next couple of months and would certainly appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to gatlinburg many times and usually stay in cabins. We decided to save $, and try a cheaper hotel. I'll admit, I was a little timid to stay here...but no regrets!!! The guy was extremely friendly upon check in and told me the reason why there were so many teens here(youth convention) even suggested n moving my room to where I would t hear the pool noise with all them in that area. Pool area is great for kids, especially in the winter time, I love that it's open late. The hot tub part is broken, but stuff happens :).....room is spacious, we have balcony to street. Room is clean and t.v is nice. The bathroom is small, but serves its purpose. No fridge in our room, but small table and dresser. The walk downtown isn't bad at all, there is also a trolley stop right in front of the hotel. The only truely negative thing is they dont have a laundry area here for guest. Everything looks relatively clean and I feel like we got a great value for our money. This isn't a 5 star hotel, so for the reviews that criticize it like one ...don't worry, it's a great value and I'd recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyandcammommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Glenstone Lodge. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great two level indoor swimming pool that the kids love. Our rooms are spacious and very clean. The hot tub is up and working as it should and approximately half of our rooms have refrigerators. We hope that you will call us the next time you are planning on visiting Gatlinburg. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Property: Glenstone Lodge
Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenstone Lodge features a variety of accommodations to suit all needs and budgets. Whether it’s a large King or Double Queen room, you’ll find the space you need with a price that you can easily afford at our hotel near Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you are planning a family vacation, Glenstone Lodge also offers large Suite accommodations perfect for the entire family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing