We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresentation of property! Won't return!”
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Elk springs resort has posted altered or old images of Magic Moments cabin on their website. The images on the website show the cabin with grass and trees on either side. When we arrived we were shocked to see a privately owned, run down cabin within 15 feet of ours. The front porch was right off of the neighbors driveway and had no privacy. The upstairs bathroom leaked into the downstairs bathroom. The downstairs bathroom smelled terrible. Our last night, a brick fell off the chimney and landed between our cars!! When I called Elk Springs to report all of the issues, I was told a manager would follow up with me the next day. I still have received no phone call. The cabin is close to downtown Gatlinburg which is one of the only good things I have to say about it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank MSanborn810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Monica, thank you for your feedback. You are correct we definitely had an inaccurate elevation photo of the front of the cabin and we have removed that photo until it can be updated. The photo was prior to the cabin next door being built and it is our fault for not updating it. It's not something we did on purpose, however, and we do apologize. Again, it is our fault. While our general manager did not contact you, our operations manager did contact you as promised and I am glad we could offer you something to mitigate the problems you experienced.

The water leaking to the lower level was the result of a guest not using the shower curtain and allowing an excess amount of water to leak outside of the shower basin. In case this happens again we have added silicone where the tile meets the flooring and have resealed the floor.

Monica, should you have any issues during your stay we'd be happy to assist you as these issues were not reported until after you checked out. It is possible depending on availability that we would have accommodated you in a different cabin and if not we could have assisted you in the correct use of the shower curtain.

We don't market this cabin as secluded or with a view, as it has neither. Again, the picture was prior to the cabin next door being built and this was a mistake. We also offer this cabin at a lower rate than our other cabins given the lack of a view and total seclusion - so this is a value cabin given these items.

For any concerned guests, at the time of this management response the subsequent 2 guests enjoyed their stays at this cabin and both offered 5 star reviews for their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
There are newer reviews for Elk Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently stayed in the Basswood Lodge 3-bedroom cabin. The quality of the beds and furnishings were excellent. Extremely clean. I was pleased with the location. Probably about a 10-minute drive to the main strip (with Food City on the way) and 3 mins to the Arts/Crafts Community.

We have stayed up in the mountains and my wife no longer wants to deal with the winding drives. This cabin is in the main wooded location of the resort. Not flat but not in the mountains either.

This location is for those who value convenience over seclusion. Interior luxury over exterior views.

Rooms were not quite as large as I have experienced in other cabins in the past, but I also paid more for those. Definitely a more intimate setting so not the place to spend time with other people if you don't really like them.

There were 3 baths but only 1 was connected directly to the bedroom. The bathrooms were wonderful. Two had waterfall showers and the water was plenty hot!

WiFi was great. Watched a couple of movies in the moving room. Has surround sound but... no subwoofer???!!!

Gripes, not many:

Refrigerator could not get cold enough. My mom was with us and cooked a lot. We could not get the setting cold enough in the freezer and the milk seemed not cold enough. It wasn't so bad that I called maintenance but I left them a message on check out to have it checked out.

Towels. They skimp on the towels. Only two each for each bathroom. Fine if you are a Motel 6 or Super 8 but if you call yourself a luxury cabin I would think you would leave some extra towels and more than just a bar of soap. (No shampoo/conditioner.)

Minor quips and I would highly recommend Elk Spring Resort to anyone as a Top 5 pick in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twesterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family stayed at the Knotty & Nice cabin and had a wonderful time. This cabin was lovely. It's close enough to the action, but far enough away to be quiet. Everyone I talked to at Elk Springs Resort was great. Really enjoyed the Smoky National Park.
Thankfully we went when we did with the government shut down happening right after we left. Would love to go back and stay and spend more time going to the National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved the large and spacious cabin with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for all. The extras, such as a pool table, hot tub and air hockey table along with an entertainment room made us not even want to leave the home! Everything was well done, well cared for and the team at Elk Spring Resorts called to be sure it was all to our satisfaction. What a great group to work with. We will definitely book with them again! Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Although there were other cabins nearby, the area was quiet, private and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlburritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our family's second trip to the Gatlinburg area. Several years ago we stayed in a cabin community associated with the major theme park in the area and we liked it so well we decided to go the cabin route again. For this trip, we stayed in the "A Desire Fulfilled" cabin managed by Elk Springs Resorts. Things were OK, but nothing amazing. The location of this particular cabin was in a low lying area, so any hopes of a good view of the surrounding mountains are not to be. That was my first disappointment. The amenities of the cabin are OK overall, but lighting and layout in the master bedroom was poor. Not nearly enough lights available other than low wattage overhead lights. The hot tub was nice, but due to the cabin orientation, I felt like the neighbors were watching us the whole time. There is a privacy fence/wall on the side of the deck to minimize this, but it's not an ideal setup. Also, the access road to the cabin was very steep and was gravel. Almost every other road access in the area was paved so not sure why this one wasn't. That didn't create any major issues but going up the hill in my truck required getting up a bit of speed and maintaining steady progress. Stopping and restarting on the gravel grade resulted in losing traction for a bit and spinning the tires while getting moving again.

We also had two maintenance issues. First, I noticed that both fire extinguishers in the cabin were below the minimum pressure band, despite the fact that they had apparently been inspected the prior month. Also, the ironing board would not close and had been left in a fully extended position by the cleaning staff prior to our arrival. I reported both these items and while the fire extinguishers were quickly switched out, nothing was done about the ironing board. This is disappointing since space was already badly utilized in the master bedroom and this added to the issue of taking up space for no reason.

Other amenities w/ the cabin were fine. There were 3 TVs, internet svc (which was reasonable) and typical pool table and foosball table downstairs. It's hard to know what you are going to get with a particular cabin. I'm not implying that this was a 'bad stay', but simply saying that it didn't nearly live up to what we were expecting based on our last trip. I guess that next time we will try to do a little more research and ask more specific questions about view/orientation/location of the cabin prior to booking. Others on TripAdvisor seem to really like this resort company so based on that, we would probably give them another try, but with more careful planning next time!

Room Tip: Ask specific questions about location of cabin in terms of elevation and view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the review Randy, we do appreciate it.

First of all, I am glad you were satisfied with the cleanliness and quality of the cabin as well as the response time you received from our customer service and maintenance teams. In our area cleanliness and responsiveness during stays is one of the biggest issues that adversely affects customers...so we strive very hard to make sure cabins are clean prior to your stay and that during your stay if you have an issue it is responded to quickly.

It's rare that we have guests who have issues with the quality of the road to the cabin. As you know, most cabins are located in very remote areas on the sides of hills and often have very steep and narrow driveways and access roads often resulting in guests trying to turn around and abandon their vacations. Our property is different in that we fall in the new Gatlinburg residential code. Our roads are 24 foot roads with a max of 12% grade. The road you stayed on max grade is 7% on a very small portion of the roadway. It is gravel and we do have our own equipment to scrape and smooth the road for easy access. We have guests who stay in your cabin as well as other cabins that access that road with all sorts of types of vehicles including motorcycles, rv's and cars pulling motor cycle trailers. There is also flat parking in front of your cabin. So it's unique that we have a guest who has an issue with the road.

Randy, we do quality control and safety inspections before and after stays and while the fire extinguishers were slightly low, they were recently inspected and within the certified, safe and effective range. We were happy to replace them to your satisfaction, however, and glad we could do so quickly.

We do take feedback seriously and we have added to the privacy wall on the cabin. We have not had issues from guests regarding this previously, but none the less we've decided to make adjustments to the fence just in case. In regards to the lighting, we are going to respectfully decline the recommendation to make it brighter in the master bedroom. We've chosen a lighting plan that we believe provides the perfect level of lighting for the bedroom to be comfortable for relaxing and reading while also being adequate for getting ready. Any increase in the lighting might make it uncomfortable. We do understand that everyone is slightly different in their preferences, but given the issue was unique we think the majority of our guests agree with our choice in lighting.

This particular cabin has a wooded view. You are nestled in the woods and it is not a mountain view. We are careful to present it as such and the photos and descriptions on our website do confirm this. Our reservations team is careful to make sure guests understand this so their expectations are not of a mountain view. We do have mountain views, but not on this particular cabin. It's one of our most popular cabins because of the amazing amenities for a 2 bedroom. Most 2 bedroom cabins are traditional cabin homes with little open space, not many amenities and small galley kitchens. A Desire Fulfilled is one of our most popular cabins given the wide open floor plan with dramatic 28 foot wall of glass with center fireplace. It's a 2 bedroom plan that feels like 3,000 sqft and really has the open wow factor. It is complimented with unique hand built railing and log features inside and features a huge open kitchen with living room sitting area and fireplace. Open to the lower level it features a pool table, foosball table, fire place and loveseat. There also is free wifi, free phone service and a washer/dryer. We can't forget...there is the famous 18 foot tower shower with oversize rain head and high capacity water line with a tankless hot water heater.

If this cabin is available and you are interested, we suggest you book it as it averages over 86% occupancy and can be tough to find availability given the reservations we take far in advance. Should you have questions or concerns about this cabin or review, please feel free to contact us directly via phone, email, online chat or Skype. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in Elk Springs Unforgettable cabin for our Honeymoon. The resort and the cabin are beautiful. The scenery and views are breathtaking. The entire community of Gatlinburg is welcoming and friendly. Everything is within convenient driving distance form the cabins.
We had an amazing honeymoon and will be back yearly for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The unforgettable is at the end of a road. The mountain views are amazing with the turning of the f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKAFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family traveled to Gatlinburg from Baton Rouge, LA and upon arriving at our cabin at Elk Springs Resort we were mesmerized with our beautiful cabin. We loved the movie room we popped popcorn and had a great time. The weather was beautiful and we had an opportunity to sit in the hot tub. It was an amazing trip. Our only complaint was that it wasn't long enough. we only stayed for 3 nights but we will a week for 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsRich816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.0 mi away
Honeymoon Hills Gatlinburg Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Address: 1088 Powdermill Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $204 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury cabin resort in Gatlinburg featuring 1-7 bedroom cabin rentals with hot tubs, pool tables and home theater rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing