We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins at White Oak Lodge are wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Oak Lodge & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cabins at White Oak Lodge are wonderful!”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Traveled with my partner and both sets of parents to enjoy the Autumn colors in the Smoky Mountains. We got a 3-bedroom accessible cabin with a ramp. Cabin was gorgeous and well-designed with granite countertops, modern lighting, enough furniture for six people (two soft leather couches and rocking chairs on the front porches that we brought inside for more seating and a HUGE kitchen table with really comfortable chairs) and the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on during a vacation (may, in fact, be more comfortable than my own bed.) It was clean and cozy. TVs in each bedroom. Missing clocks and mirrors in the upstairs bedrooms, but the two bathrooms (one on each floor) were huge and well designed. Bath & Body Works brand shampoos, gels and lotions were provided in each bathroom.

This is NOT a hotel, so don't expect daily housekeeping service or towel exchange (We take 2-3 week-long condo based vacations a year now and love having our "own" place that is NOT like a hotel.) If you do have a problem in the cabine (we had some lightbulbs out) you just call to the main building and they'll help you. There is a grocery store just 8 minutes away, stock your own food and save on the cost and wait for the restaurants in Gatlinburg. We ate breakfast at the cabin every morning, packed lunches to eat out on the trails or in the mountains and then went to restaurants for dinner. We had a few dinners "in." All the kitchen equipment you'll need is there, but you'll need to pack some spices, salt, pepper and basics if you're going to cook a lot. Bring your own coffee. There were a few coffee filters. They provided one roll of paper towels, a couple of rolls of toilet paper, dishwasher detergent and one package of laundry detergent. (If you go on condo based trips often enough, you get used to packing your "essentials" tote of the supplies you'll need.)

Since we went to Gatlinburg in October, the pool was closed. We did play some basketball and there is a tennis court, though we didn't check out any equipment. The on-site staff was courteous and helpful and the area seemed very safe and secure (Charlie drives around the property several times a day, but he doesn't bother you unless you seek him out to talk and then he'll talk about anything you want.)

This group of cabins is owned by Global Discovery Travel, a vacation club. We are members so we traveled based on our membership's stars and per-week fee. Thus, I can't speak to the per-night value of the cabins that non-members would pay.

One note about the accessibility of the cabin if you're traveling with someone who needs a walker, cane or wheelchair - this unit had a ramp and the walkways inside are wide, toilets low, bars included, etc. But, the bed on the main floor of our cabin was set high off the ground. It was a magnificent king size bed but I could see where it would be hard for a person with limited mobility to get in and out of the bed without a step stool or assistance. One set of parents stayed in this room and they said they had to jump up into the bed each night.

I did feel like the 15-minute drive (from the main part of Gatlinburg) some evenings after being out-and-about all day was long, but once you clear out of the main part of Gatlinburg traffic, it was smooth sailing to the cabin each day.

I would definitely go back and recommend this to anyone who likes it a little quieter and away from the really touristy section of downtown Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StuckInMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    32
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
108
49
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MS
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was a really great cabin!! It was our first itme in the mountains and we were concerned about getting an older outdated cabin this was not the case. It was nice and updated far enough fom the hussle of town but pretty close to the grocery store and places to eat. REALLY DIDN't WANT TO Leave!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_nicole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Darling cabins with top of the line appliances and furnishings. The wooden craftmanship of our cabin was outstanding! Very cozy with warm comfortable beds, fireplace, hot tub, and jacuzzi to rest your bones after a day of hiking. The kithen is spacious and fully equipped. Bring your own food and spices! This cabin is perfect for a family that loves to cook and bake. Our cabin sleeps up to 8, yet it was very private. Flat screen televisions, DVD players and DVD's are in every room. We did not want to leave this comfy cabin retreat.

The only cons are that we had some diffifulty with the Wi-Fi, and the BBQ grills weren't located at each cabin (due to windy conditions and threat of fire). The cabins are situated close to one another, so if you're looking for seclusion, you'll want to pass on White Oak Lodge & Resort. Also, since the property is still undergoing construction, it is somewhat distracting to the beauty and appeal of this wonderful lodge & resort that is seated at the base of the Smoky Mountain National Park.

All in all, I would stay here again and recommend this lovely cabin rental to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This resort is amazing. You can tell the owners and property managers put alot of effort into making this resort top notch. We enjoy every aspect of our stay and it was awesome to see beautiful peacocks off our back deck. The beds are too die for along with all the other aspect cabin furnishings. We actually chose to eat in most nights (excellent fully stocked kitche) and enjoy the cabin and the views. I was even able to wash all of our clothes before we returned home so no dirty laundry to deal with. We love Gatlinburg and White Oak and plan to return many more times.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cghtthetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This is an awesome place to stay in Gatlinburg. You are about a 15 minute drive to Gatlinburg. Close enough to all the action but far from the craziness. The cabin was immaculate. The kitchen had every amenity you could want or need. The pool is fantastic and rarely crowded. Charlie oversees the cabins and is very friendly and helpful. We drove down the road and enjoyed dinners at the Bear Creek Grill and the Alamo. We have stayed in Gatlinburg many times but this was by far our favorite! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicepres38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown, texas, usa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

White Oak lodge far exceeded all our expectations. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin. Everything was unbelievable. It was very peaceful, the furnishings were 5 star. We were there with our daughter and her husband and a adult son and his girlfriend. There was plenty of privacy for everyone, flat screen tv in each bedroom with dvd players, even movies and games. The lodge is about 15 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg but it just makes in even more peaceful. If you get time eat at the Bear Creek Grill going into town on the left. Hope to get to come back some day. Hated to leave........

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We were so delighted from the moment we walked in the place to the second we saddly had to head for home. White Oak Lodge is tucked away out of the hustle and bustle of the city of Gatlinburg which is what we wanted. We stayed in a condo and it was truly a home away from home...so very comforable, and beautifully decorated. Wish we could rewind and do it all over again! We will certainly be back!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Gogators_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
10.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
9.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
10.6 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
9.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 53 in Gatlinburg
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Lodge & Resort

Property: White Oak Lodge & Resort
Address: 170 White Oak Way, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6256
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Oak Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatlinburg Cabins for Great Smoky Mountain Vacations.White Oak Lodge & Resort offers two-bedroom and three-bedroom fully furnished vacation log cabins. Each rustic vacation rental offers the staples of today’s modern lifestyles. Select three-bedrooms offer a whirlpool bath in the master suites, and most two-bedrooms have a loft game room with pool table. Kitchens feature stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. Flat screen televisions with DVD players are in living rooms and bedrooms. A gas, stone fireplace lights with the flick of a switch. A screened-in back porch with hot tub and a front porch with two rocking chairs make this a comfortable Gatlinburg Vacation home.For family vacation fun, nothing beats the beautiful 17-acre White Oak Lodge & Resort. This log cabin resort is adjacent to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Complementing the natural playground is the lodge and resort itself. Most noteworthy is the amazing swimming pool. You’ll swim and play while looking at the amazing Smoky Mountains. Water cascades over two stone grottos. In the evening, roast marshmallows by the fire pit. Plus, you can barbecue on the grounds, play tennis or enjoy walks around the property on the paved trail. When you’re ready to explore Gatlinburg, Tennessee or Pigeon Forge, TN, these family vacation spots are just down the road a piece. You’ll find kid friendly attractions like Dollywood®, Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, Ripley's Haunted Adventure, Gatlinburg Space Needle and Family Fun Center and Ober Gatlinburg just to name a few. Plus, horseback riding, white water rafting, zip lining and hiking abound in this incredible vacation destination. Make your Gatlinburg Vacation plans to stay at the White Oak Lodge & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your White Oak Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Hotel Gatlinburg
White Oak Lodge And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing