We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Oak Lodge & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have come the last few summers. Some condos are cleaner than others. The management is overall very nice and the resort does a BBQ on Tuesday nights with a live band. It is a nice opportunity to mingle with other guests that otherwise we would not have met.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank jinpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We enjoy our stay here in July. Nice and quiet place to vacation. Near Gatlinburg, but away from all the hustle and bustle. We were in condo 24 and it was great. had our own balcony and the view was awesome. Clean, beds were very comfy. I was surprised when I opened the cabinet to find a crock pot and blender in our unit. I had taken a crock pot to Myrtle Beach with us. Staff was friendly and offered advice when asked.

Room Tip: Room 24 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in one of the "cabins" during a recent visit to Gatlinburg. The cabin was definitely more of a residential home than a rustic cabin, but was beautiful nonetheless. Our particular unit backed up against the GSMNP border allowing us to view wildlife as we sat in our hot tub. Very nice! The home was well equipped, but did lack some of the personal touches found in other VRBO properties. (Things like guest books, comfy blankets, and personalized home decor go a long way in making us want to come back year after year). The resort itself has a great pool area and a well maintained tennis/basketball court. Would have been better if the resort had a playground area for kids, but I didn't find one this visit. The other guests in both the cabins and condos seemed friendly and down to earth. The resort is roughly 10 miles outside of town, but within 5 miles of a grocery store and gas, so still pretty convenient. The reservation process was simple, and we experienced no problems during our stay. Not certain if this complex will become our family's home base in the future, but I would feel comfortable recommending the cabins to another family for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MWsogetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here in June for a week. We were on the 2nd floor of the condos and our other family members were on the 1st floor. The condos are nice and spacious and comfortable. I liked how our condo had a loft up above the living room in addition to the 2 bedrooms. The pool was great for little kids with half of it being 1 and 2 foot deep. The property is a bit outside of Gatlinburg and is nice and quiet. My only complaints were that the sound-proofing could be improved. Request a 2nd floor condo, then you won't hear all of your neighbors walking around upstairs. There also were signs everywhere in the condo about not using their washcloths to wash off makeup. They will fine you if you do. They request that you use the makeup removers towelettes. That is a great idea but then they should give you enough towelettes for the length of your stay. They give you a bit of dish soap and laundry soap to get you started and then you must buy your own if you need more, which is understandable. But you won't be fined for getting the wrong soap, but you will if you run out of towelettes. Overall it was nice but it was a bit out of town for me.

Room Tip: Get a second floor condo, they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aburton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was very impressed with this place. Even tho it's a ways out of Gatlinburg.
It's the best Condo I've ever stayed in. It had ever thing you needed.
The folks there were very nice too. Really enjoyed our week there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springcit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The cabins are beautiful but it is not a "cabin" experience as advertised to us. It is residential living but in cabins. In addition, it is deceiving in the fact that it advertised as "pet free." I intentionally booked a place for a week to get away from barking dogs that I have to listen to daily where I live. Well, they do not allow pets but that is not because they want to provide a quiet, peaceful atmosphere. They simply don't want the nice cabins damaged. We were in cabin 229 and we listed to barking dogs our entire five night stay, day and night. The managers of the property have two cabins just across from 229 with dogs. It was those dogs that ruined our relaxing stay. Also, the office was almost never open. Again, the cabins are very nice but I would not stay at this location for that reason. It was an expensive and disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near the manager's two cabins. It's a junkyard view with barking do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 152archieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, Owner at White Oak Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for being our guests and for your comments about how nice our cabins are. We regret that you were disturbed by barking dogs and that your vacation experience was not as wonderful as the majority of our TA reviews would indicate. We wish we could have had the opportunity to address the problem while you were there. A peaceful, quiet relaxing atmosphere is of the utmost importance to us. I can assure you that the situation has been resolved. The resort is located aprox 10 miles outside Gatlinburg but most guests appreciate being a little removed from the tourist hubbub. Thanks again and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family vacationed to the White Oak Lodge and Resort this past week, June 15 through June 21. My husband along with our four children age 5, 4, 2, and 9 months, vacationed with my sister in law and her husband and infant daughter, sharing a cabin. When we were shopping around for cabins, we saw on their website that the particular cabin we were interested in "sleeps 6". It had 2 bedrooms, with 2 king size beds, and then a queen size air mattress. We knew that the couples would take the 2 bedrooms, and our baby would sleep in his pack in play, and since our three little girls are tiny, they would be fine sharing the queen air mattress. On the day we arrived, it was asked how many people would be in the cabin, and that is when we were made aware of the issue. We were told that we had over occupancy for that cabin. I told them that we were never told that there was an occupancy limit, and so we were told not to worry about it. The next day my sister in law and her husband arrived, and shortly after unloading their luggage, we received a call from a representative saying that complaints had been made about the number of people coming in and out of the cabin. We found this odd since it was just my husband and brother in law unloading luggage. She then said that we were over occupied. We reminded her again that we had never been told of this rule. At this point I then called Charlie the property manager, who was aware of the issue, and I reminded him that we had never been told about this rule, that we had already paid in full for the cabin, and that we were not to be bothered again. He assured us at this point that the issue would be dropped. However, the issue did not go away for us. There was a feeling of uneasiness among us all, like we weren't really welcome here, and that they thought that we had purposely tried to break the rules. My husband is a hard working, honest man, and it bothered him greatly to think that anyone thought we had been dishonest. Vacation is the one week out of the entire year that we are supposed to be completely stress free, and this experience made us all feel anxious. Even our 5 year old daughter kept asking if the grown ups were going to make us leave, and where would we stay if that happened. We felt like we were being watched and scrutinized since our cabin was right across from the manager's cabin. You cannot break rules that you didn't know about. I spoke with representatives from this resort 3 times prior to our trip, and it was NEVER asked how many people would be staying. If they have maximum occupancy rules those need to be clearly stated on their website, and again over the phone with customers. Yes this place is a beautiful place to stay, but the experience we had really overshadowed all of that. We paid over $1200 for this cabin, over $2500 total for our trip, to spend that kind of money and be treated that way, I am just so angry. We never received an apology, not a word from the management. It was their fault the rules weren't made clear to us, it was their mistake. I even wrote a letter to the management and never heard a word back. We would never come here again, and would never recommend this place to anyone. Looks can certainly be deceiving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, Owner at White Oak Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

We would like to thank you for being our guest and for your favorable comments about our lovely resort. Although you may not have been specifically advised of the occupancy limit in advance of your stay our website states that the cabin sleeps 6 and also clearly states the maximum number of guests for a 2 BR cabin is "6 people". Sorry if that wasn't clear enough for you. Not sure why you would have had an uncomfortable feeling for the rest of your stay even after the property manager told you we would just let it go. Again, thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
10.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
10.6 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
9.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
9.5 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Lodge & Resort

Address: 170 White Oak Way, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6256
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $217 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Oak Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatlinburg Cabins for Great Smoky Mountain Vacations.White Oak Lodge & Resort offers two-bedroom and three-bedroom fully furnished vacation log cabins. Each rustic vacation rental offers the staples of today’s modern lifestyles. Select three-bedrooms offer a whirlpool bath in the master suites, and most two-bedrooms have a loft game room with pool table. Kitchens feature stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. Flat screen televisions with DVD players are in living rooms and bedrooms. A gas, stone fireplace lights with the flick of a switch. A screened-in back porch with hot tub and a front porch with two rocking chairs make this a comfortable Gatlinburg Vacation home.For family vacation fun, nothing beats the beautiful 17-acre White Oak Lodge & Resort. This log cabin resort is adjacent to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Complementing the natural playground is the lodge and resort itself. Most noteworthy is the amazing swimming pool. You’ll swim and play while looking at the amazing Smoky Mountains. Water cascades over two stone grottos. In the evening, roast marshmallows by the fire pit. Plus, you can barbecue on the grounds, play tennis or enjoy walks around the property on the paved trail. When you’re ready to explore Gatlinburg, Tennessee or Pigeon Forge, TN, these family vacation spots are just down the road a piece. You’ll find kid friendly attractions like Dollywood®, Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, Ripley's Haunted Adventure, Gatlinburg Space Needle and Family Fun Center and Ober Gatlinburg just to name a few. Plus, horseback riding, white water rafting, zip lining and hiking abound in this incredible vacation destination. Make your Gatlinburg Vacation plans to stay at the White Oak Lodge & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Oak Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Hotel Gatlinburg
White Oak Lodge And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing