We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mosca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great sand dunes oasis
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed Bugs”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We anticipated a "roughing it" mentality before booking the cabin here, however, the cabin was less then acceptable. There were food crumbs everywhere, which is most likely explains the ant problem. We brought pvc mattress covers and slept in our sleeping bags on top of the mattresses. Unaware of how to look for bed bugs at the time because we never experienced bed bugs, we were covered in bites and they followed us home for the remainder of the summer. It was a nice view of the dunes and a quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
36
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The staff we dealt with were friendly. The site was as expected. It was a pull through and had water, power and sewer hookups. Small tree’s between most RV sites. Picnic tables and Metal tire rims for fire pits on each site. Kids did enjoy the fire pit for marshmallows roasting. Could have had a bit more room between the bigger RV sites. It was a bit tight when you have newer motor home/5th wheels with slide outs on each side.

We had two problems

SHOWER HOUSE:
The shower house for the most part was cleaned daily. Three shower stalls in the men, and three in the women side. This didn’t seem enough for all the RV and tent sites, and was crowded at times. There was some mold in the showers I used, which was just covered up with caulk. Some had benches and others looked like they did have but were gone. I thought they did not update the shower facilities much from putting plastic panels to cover up what was there before, and a lot of caulk. Peeling paint on the walls showed that it hadn’t been painted in awhile.
We didn’t expect some grand shower house, but they could spend a little money and not cover mold with caulk and maybe paint to make it brighter.

PLAYAREA:
The playarea had one swing set , monkey bars, some tires and a small log playhouse. The area was covered with a thin layer pea rocks. Under the rocks they had some sort of fabric which was half exposed under the swing and other place and was a trip hazard.

They don't have wi-fi , internet, pool or any natural shade.
The ice cream social was nice.
It's VERY close to the park which would be anyones main focus.

The owners need to spend some money and update the shared facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevd1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boischatel, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Let's be clear, this camping is perfect to tent with your partner if you like "real camping". Meaning great view (on the valley, the dunes and the mountains), great people to welcome you and give you useful information, birds, ...

Plus, hot showers and a boutique and restaurant.

We were there during a less crowded period I suppose (a monday night) and there were plenty of choice for the site, so we had a camping table and almost nobody else in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanti_nilaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and I ate breakfast here after our one-night stay at the Great Sand Dunes Lodge next door. This is the only dining option for miles - I think it's at least half an hour away from the next nearest place. There is also a gas station and a convenience/souvenir store attached.
The food that we had was great, actually. I got a breakfast burrito (only problem was that it was lacking any kind of meat option) and my husband got a run-of-the-mill two-egg breakfast. My burrito was quite tasty and was huge and covered in green chili (always a plus).
The decor of the restaurant was a little off-putting - there were wall-mounted animal heads everywhere (see photo). Good thing I was more amused than grossed out!
Prices were very reasonable, especially considering this is the lone restaurant in the middle of nowhere.
One other thing; we didn't have dinner here but I believe they close fairly early so check the hours if you are going to want to go for dinner and are expecting a late arrival. Also, the restaurant is only open during the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This is our second year going on Memorial Day weekend. This year the weather was very windy and warm (last year was 54 and raining). The experience at the Oasis is very busy with 3 showers and 3 stalls for the women, the bathroom was busy 24 hours a day. We have an RV and stayed with extended family in the RV portion. It's not as crowded as the tent camping area and the view is amazing. Since they are full hookups, we avoided most of the busy restroom issues. We also had one meal in the restaurant and the service and food was very good. There aren't many camping options and if you can't get into the park campground, the Oasis is close!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2010

As others have said, the sites for "tent camping" are totally undeveloped and not clearly separate from each other. Sites are on slopes, with lots of rocks, and no cleared areas for your tent. There's not necessarily a picnic table at each site. Restrooms are insufficient for the capacity of the tent camping area. There are only 3 women's stalls and 2 sinks for the stated tent camping capacity of 70 sites. There can be a significant wait before a toilet or sink is available, and there's just the one restroom building for the entire 70 sites (and potentially 2-5 or more people per site). It IS more of a primitive camping experience than Pinon Flats campground (in the National Park), and if that's what you're after, come prepared to use a shovel and your own toilet paper!! At a non-busy time (and this past weekend it filled up, in mid-May!!) this campground might provide a better experience. But $18 per night plus tax makes this is a very expensive primitive camping experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank oops_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

To all of you who complained about this place...find a hotel and please never "camp" again. This place was great for a camp ground. Very secluded. We had one group near us and they were far enough we could not hear them. We had no problem with bathrooms as real camping there aren't any where we normally camp, a small hike is no biggy. Showers? I didn't know people were worried about showering when camping.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MShable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosca
24.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 14 in Alamosa
513 reviews
24.3 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#2 of 14 in Alamosa
602 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#3 of 14 in Alamosa
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
#8 of 14 in Alamosa
96 reviews
24.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamosa
24.1 mi away
Best Western Alamosa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great sand dunes oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great sand dunes oasis

Property: Great sand dunes oasis
Address: 5400 hwy 150 N, Mosca, CO 81146
Location: United States > Colorado > Mosca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mosca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Great Sand Dunes Oasis Hotel Mosca
Great Sand Dunes Oasis Colorado/Mosca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing