We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considerate Management”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mosca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Sand Dunes Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mosca
Certificate of Excellence
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Considerate Management”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Because of a sudden illness, we had to cancel our reservation at the Great Sand Dunes Lodge less than 48 hours before scheduled check-in. The management was able to rent our room, and we were not charged anything for the cancellation. We hope to visit the Lodge sometime in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoAndyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    144
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
123
162
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
283 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is an older one story motel, but it is very well maintained and clean. Located on a rise near the entrance to the National Park, it has great views of the park, especially in the evening. The large number of hummingbirds enjoying the feeders are also entertaining. The motel has an indoor pool and grills for guests to use. This can be important because there is no place to eat for 20 miles or so save the Oasis Restaurant located nearby. The rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed for one night because this was a convenient stopping point between Colorado Springs and Durango and we thought we would visit the park which turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: All the rooms have patios and a wonderful view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Ks
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I booked 5 rooms for my hiking club and arrived late in the evening. The kind couple who run the lodge got us checked in quickly and let me come back in the morning to finish the paperwork. The rooms are actually a little nicer than they appear in the photos, plus they are quite spacious and clean. Room #12 is near a community area with tables and a grill, so if you have a small group, this is a great option. You can sit on the back patio and watch the hummingbirds fuss over the bird feeders. The patios are west facing, so you can watch the sunset and grill your dinner. Bring some groceries as you have a mini fridge and microwave too. There are no coffee makers, but coffee is available in the office at 7 AM and you can walk to Oasis for breakfast or dinner (in season). They are in the process of building some brand new motel units too. Book well in advance.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are extra, but the only difference I could see is a grill on your patio instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCirlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa grande
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

great sand dunes lodge was the first stop on our 15 day national park road trip and it was just as advertised. super close (i think there were a few cabinas next door, but otherwise the only lodging option for at least 20 miles) and great views of the dunes right outside of your patio.

we arrived around 2pm and were checked in right away. the beds were comfy and the room and bathroom were spotless. the fridge and microwave worked well. the owners had sent us an e-mail a few weeks before our arrival to let us know the only restaurant in the area would only be open from 8am to 3pm each day. we stopped for groceries on the way in so we were able to prepare all of our meals and picnic lunches to eat at the park (which does not have a restaurant) and even used the gas grills one night.

the staff was friendly, everything in the room worked at the hummingbird feeders outside attracted a ton of birds.

Room Tip: rooms with a higher number probably have a slightly better view of the dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pggirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

After a long drive from Denver, we arrived late at night. We had called ahead for late arrival, as the owners had requested, and were given great directions to get to the lodge in the dark. The room was very clean and the two queen beds were very comfortable. In the morning, the view from the window was amazing! The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance to the park- incredible location. Breakfast was provided as the restaurant was not open. The breakfast was fresh and just want we wanted. This might be the only choice to stay near the park, but it was everything we wanted and our hosts were thoughtfully charming. Don't hesitate!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
631 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Some of the best photography of the Great Sand Dunes is between the Lodge and the entrance to the park which is only a mile or so from the Lodge. Great hospitality from the owners; the café nearby was closed for the season and the owner supplied us with wine glasses and tongs for the gas grill. Rooms were clean and quiet. If you are visiting the Great Sand Dunes this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Plan to bring supplies for a picnic and grill outdoors--it makes for a great evening after the sun s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed two nights at this motel in August 2013. It has easy assess to Great Sand Dunes National Park and views of the park from the rooms. Because the motel is literally far from civilization, you can leave the sliding door open at night. We were impressed by the indoor pool--not something you'd expect with a small motel. My guess is that someone bulldozed a pit and laid a vinyl liner. The bottom is very uneven but it was still nice to use. Our room had a small fridge and because we knew dining options would be few, we stocked up on basics (milk, cereal, bread, peanut butter) before checking in. The owner was very pleasant too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosca
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 14 in Alamosa
507 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#3 of 14 in Alamosa
484 reviews
24.4 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#2 of 14 in Alamosa
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
#8 of 14 in Alamosa
96 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamosa
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Sand Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Sand Dunes Lodge

Property: Great Sand Dunes Lodge
Address: 7900 Hwy 150 North, Mosca, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mosca
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mosca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
Great Sand Dunes Hotel Mosca
Great Sand Dunes Mosca
Great Sand Dunes Lodge Colorado/Mosca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing