We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Sand Dunes Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$114
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Alamosa)
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Motel(Alamosa)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
187
159
29
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
159
29
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshummingbird feedersindoor pooldeluxe roomnearest townwithin milesgrilling utensilsoasis restaurantpark entrancenearby oasismilky wayrooms are basiczapata fallsfridge and microwavehomemade piesclosed for the seasonplace to staystayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 382 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This lodge was comfortable and convenient to everything we needed. I wish we had arrived earlier to make use of all they had to offer. The patio off of the indoor pool would have been wonderful for a cookout at sunset. The breakfast was delicious and the beds were very comfortable. A few minutes from checkout we were at the Great Sand Dunes Natl. Park and on our way to explore this amazing site. There was even a gas station at the restaurant/store next to the lodge which was very handy since we had neglected to fill up prior to arriving there. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Great Sand Dunes Lodge is the best choice for most people when coming to the Great San Dunes National Park in south central Colorado. While camping is available in the park, for much of the year that's too cold for most of us. If you don't have an RV, the only other rooms within miles are at The Nature Conservancy's Medano Zapata Ranch (about 5 miles away), but those are at least $300/night. This is the second time I've stayed at the lodge. The first time I came here I arrived after dark and didn't then have a GPS. Finding the lodge was difficult because it's so far back from the road. I don't remember the lodge as being so bright, clean, and fresh as it was on my current visit and asked one of the owners if their management was new. He told me that in fact this is their ninth year and that they have invested a lot in sprucing up the place. I found it completely satisfactory. While in some respects, you might think of it as simply a small motel (it lacks the central meeting room that I think of as being the hallmark of a lodge), it is a lodge in terms of its isolation and being surrounded on three sides by the park. The view from all of the rooms of the San Luis Valley, the dunes, and then the mountains is one of the best views anywhere of the dunes. The rooms themselves have everything I needed and more, including a microwave and fridge and even a night light in the bathroom. The bird feeders by my porch attracted some hummingbirds. The nearby restaurant (at the Great Sand Dunes Oasis) had just opened for the season and served basic needs of three meals per day, but you might consider bringing your own food unless you are able to get dinner at the Medano Zapata Ranch, which makes exceptions for Nature Conservancy members to allow dinners for those not on one of their extended stays. Those are the only meal choices within miles. This is an isolated area of the beautiful San Luis Valley, and I for one appreciate its isolation and natural beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 623David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Great Sand Dunes Lodge was the best choice for visiting the Great Sand Dunes National Park. The lodge is just outside the entrance to the park. You can see the dunes from your room. The room was clean and comfortable, and it had a high-def TV, mini fridge, and microwave. In the winter months, there is no restaurant service, but we planned ahead with microwavable food, and that worked out great. It was nice to be able to go to the dunes area a few times a day (especially in the evening - beautiful!) without having to drive 35 miles to the nearest town. Would recommend this lodge. BTW: The wind sometimes blows the sand, so plan accordingly with sunglasses, scarf, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

You are really paying for the location at the gate to the Great Sand Dunes National park. The rooms are small, though there are larger rooms available. The back patios are great and it is nice to have the gas grilles available since there are few restaurant options nearby. The rooms are unremarkable but clean if a little bleachy smelling. Costly for what you get, but the location is unique. Allows dogs.

Room Tip: The large rooms have a king-sized bed and a much nicer back terrace, but you should be spending your time in the Park not the rooms! Some upcharge for the bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dHous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic accommodation with awesome view. It is just one long simple Motel building with around 20 rooms and an indoor pool at the end of it. It has some poorly maintained outdoor grills in the back. It has some cheap humming bird feeders...which give you stunning views with humming birds at sunset. It has a cheaply constructed pool as well - the kids love it. It has cheap plastic chairs all over the place...you won't mind the cheap chairs when enjoying the sunset. Staying at the place is a great experience with the stunning views. It is clean and will give you a good night's rest.

Room Tip: they are all the same...advance weekend booking recommended.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews