We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the desert”
Review of The Border Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Border Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Baker B&B and Inns
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Diamond in the desert”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Motel: budget, clean, ac, tv, wifi, simple and comfortable shelter.
Restaurant: suprisingly good tasting food, clean, prompt, friendly service.
Store: simple, but the only game in town.
Staff and Managment: friendly, thurough, thoughful, caring, what you would hope to expect anywhere.
Casino:? don't play but looks like typical machines.

Room Tip: Keep away from road if possible but not much traffic anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    24
    12
    1
See reviews for
22
49
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Standing in the parking lot looking off in every direction you see NOTHING man made except a black 2 lane roadway. The office is the cash register for the gas pumps, restaurant, convenience store and gift shop. Gasoline was $4.26.a gallon for 85 octane regular on June 17th-19th, 2013.
All that said, you don't have much choice on where you spend a night around Great Basin National Park. We stayed 2 nights in room 17 and managed to stay pretty happy. The A/C was very noisy but it helped drown out any noise coming from adjacent rooms or the parking lot. The room has a gas stove, fridge and microwave. The sink is a small 2 basin which doubles for the bathroom sink. The shower is hot and forceful. Lots of drawer space and a little closet. The double and single beds were acceptable. The sheets and towels were clean and of decent quality. Internet was reliable but very slow.
Food was very tolerable, fresh as possible and reasonable considering where you are. Burgers are good in all varieties, chicken fingers pretty good. Breakfast was good with the sausage patties being excellent!
Staff is very friendly. Prices reasonable. Overall a nice place to lay your head while visiting the area. I'd go there again.

Room Tip: 17 has a stove, microwave and fridge. Also a small kitchen style sink. Lots of drawers and a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overton, NV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The rooms were clean and quiet with wifi and nice hot shower. Best cheeseburger and fries I've had in a long time with reasonable pricing and great staff. The view was wonderful, we sat outside and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francismaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The photos of the rooms are accurate. Its an average road side motel in the middle of nowhere. No trouble with making reservations over phone. Gas station convenient. Ok for a night, but wouldn't want to spend whole vacation here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, IL
Level Contributor
229 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were visiting Great Basin National Park; we are budget travelers and just needed a place to stay for we didn't have camping gear; we came with low expectations. With that said, it was very basic. Most importantly for us, the room was clean. The bed was not very comfortable - the pillows thin. I didn't have much hope for the shower - but in fact it was very clean and in good condition/hot water. The walls are paper thin, but it seemed the crowd here was very mindful of that. We heard the truckers leave early, and then the national park visitors got up an hour or two later.

Would I stay here again? Yes...for a night. It was convenient to Great Basin and was clean. The tv worked fine.

The restaurant next door wasn't special, but it was dinner for us. You did have to walk through a very smokey casino to get to it. The room we stayed in had no smoke at all.

The wifi didn't work well for us in the room - but we did have better success in the restaurant. I suppose it probably just depended on the location of your room. Check in/out is in the gas station portion; we had a small cooler and the boys in the morning we helpful in getting us some ice...if you have a big cooler, they have larger bags available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warrenville111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Let's face it. If you are traveling in this area you are not out for 5 star luxury. Having read what others had to say, I went with little expectations. What I found was a clean,well run establishment where all employees did every job. The room was dated but the bed was comfortable and all was exceptionally clean. I had trouble figuring out how to put the heat on and a lovely gentleman from the bar left his position and came to show me. When the light bulb burnt out ten minutes later I walked back to the bar to get one. The same bartender offered to put it in for me. I assured him I had it under control. The soup was home made chicken noodle and it was delicious. The food was home cooking, not gourmet, but certainly satisfying. The employees were all helpful and friendly, as were the fellow guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here one night whilst visiting Great Basin NP. There are not a huge amount of hotels to choose from in the area and this was fairly close (although in the middle of nowhere!) to the NP and the rates were ok for what we received. Emailed ahead for the reservation and emails were polite and friendly. Arrived early evening and had a meal in the restaurant at the side of the motel. The waitress was very friendly and attentive and the meal was better than expected and reasonably priced. The room (9) was pretty basic, was at the end of the row so only one guest on one side but we didn;t hear any other guest noise so the room may have been vacant. The bed was very uncomfortable and urgently needs replacing. The room was unbearably hot but we couldn't turn off the thermostat and could only turn it down a notch. Wouldn't have wanted to stay longer than one night but if its just a base you want to stopover then it served a purpose.

Room Tip: Room 9 at end of the strip of rooms so only one guest on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGupsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Border Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Border Inn

Property: The Border Inn
Address: Hwy 6 & 50 (Utah-Nevada Border), PO Box 30, Baker, NV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Baker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baker
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
The Border Hotel Baker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing