We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop here for a great experience”

Grant-Kohrs Ranch - National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wide open spaces, the hard-working cowboy, his spirited cow pony, and vast herds of cattle are among the strongest symbols of the American West. Once the headquarters of a 10 million acre cattle empire, Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site preserves these symbols and commemorates the role of cattlemen in American history.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop here for a great experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were so happy we visited this Ranch. It is part the National Park Service just off of I90 in Deer Lodge, Montana (between historic Butte, MT and fun Missoula, MT). They have kept all the old time flair and the tour was very informative.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ramoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    26
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dietrich, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything, the family home! For some reason I am especialy interested in Time Lines and someone has done a very good job with this one.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
613 reviews
498 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“If you love ranching, you'll enjoy a visit here.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The ranch house was beautiful outside. Unfortunately, it was closed for the season when I visited in September. There are many acres of historic farm buildings and equipment. This is still an active ranch, so you may see them working with horses, or out in the distance you may see a small cattle drive. Not to mention this is a beautiful area of Montana. They often do demonstrations on horseshoeing, haying, cattle drives, etc. Great place to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AF_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Part of this site was closed due to renovations. But we still had a good time. There weren't many visitors there so we had a lot of individualize attention. There was a blacksmith, a chuck wagon where the cookie talked to us for a long time, and some other exhibits. We had been studying cowboys so it was a fun field trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cowboy history!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Loved seeing the history of the ranching life in Montana! I grew up on a small farm, and so I really could relate to the stories we heard from our guide and the layout of the ranch. When they have Grant-Kohrs Days, it's even more exciting!

Helpful?
Thank lizardgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant-Kohrs Ranch - National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Grant-Kohrs Ranch - National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing