We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great horses, great ranch!”
Review of Triangle X Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Triangle X Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great horses, great ranch!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We visited Triangle X Dude Ranch four days, 3-7 Jun 2012. Typically, stays are seven days, but during this pre-season week you can arrange a shorter stay. It was our first dude ranch. We both ride, and found the horses very well cared for, very nice to ride, very responsive on the our various trail rides. Food was really good, accommodations (log cabins) have the best view on the planet! Many of our fellow 'dudes' were returners, having come annually to Triangle X for many years. Great folks, great staff. The wranglers were personable and very helpful. We plan to return - next time, for a week, with a rental car so that we can visit/hike in nearby Teton Nat'l Park also. Found the western saddles quite uncomfortable, so we'll bring 'seat savers' next time to cushion those hard seats. Our only, very minor, complaint was that the bed mattress was saggy. Everything else was superb!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricket237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

When driving out of the Jackson Hole airport, it's hard not to notice the old wooden sign saying "Howdy Stranger. This is Jackson Hole, the last of the old West." It sounds corny until you drive twenty minutes into town on a two-lane highway that is surrounded by enormous stretches of sagebrush, broken only by a bison herd or the Snake River. In town, there are wooden walkways, cowboy hats and, of course, cowboy boots. Spend just a few days in town, drive up to Dornan's Restaurant and park next to the hitching post, or tour Grand Teton or Yellowstone National Park and you start to realize how true that sign by the small, wooden airport is. Despite how laid-back and rustic the town of Jackson is, many ranches in the area have become more resort-oriented. There are very few ranches left that still embody the true spirit of the old west, and the absolute best is Triangle X Ranch.

My family has been going to Triangle X every summer since 2000. Let me say that again and rephrase it, since it's easy to forget that 2000 wasn't just a few years ago: I am sixteen years old, and I have been spending a week each summer at this ranch for the past twelve years. The reason why we keep returning is quite simple: for my family, Triangle X is our favorite place on Earth. That really is saying something, coming from a family that travels a lot, all over the world--even to multiple other ranches. The ranch is the one vacation that we spend all year waiting for and would never give up.

During the week, meals are served in the Main House, which also has the Bear Room, a favorite place of people to play cards or simply hang out. There are two horseback rides every day that last about two and half hours and go all over the surrounding area, but you don't have to ride everyday--if you want, you can tell your wrangler you're not riding and go hiking, take a bike ride, do a float trip down the Snake River, or sit on your front porch and take in the unbelievable views. The ranch also has a lot of fun activities during the week, such as a square dance, breakfast and dinner rides, a camp-out for the teenagers and painting the horses for the kids. Saturdays are always extremely fun, with special events that change every few years. Last year (which was my favorite year yet), they decided to go back to the roots of ranching, with the wranglers teaching people how to rope, and wood coasters that you could brand with the X2 logo.

An integral factor to the ranch's success is the Turner family, who founded Triangle X. Although the ranch has not been privately owned since the late 1920s, the Turners still hold the lease for the property and maintain a huge presence in managing the ranch and making sure their guests are happy. The ranch is managed in a way that makes it feel like home, and everybody there is family by the end of the week. Throughout your stay, you can always find the older Turners telling the guests amazing stories about events that have happened on the ranch, or what the valley was like years ago. Some of the younger Turners also live and work on the ranch, making it a true family business that has spanned multiple generations.

We go the same week every summer (the last week in June--a great time to go because it's not too hot or dry and the wildflowers are coming out!), and we're not the only ones who return each year. I mentioned earlier that my family has been going to the ranch for twelve years, but that pales in comparison to the families that have been going for decades. Because you spend almost all of your time with the same people for an entire week, strong friendships are often formed, so when people return the next year, it's like a reunion. The guests aren't the only ones who return either--a lot of the employees have been working there for years, or are people who came to the ranch when they were kids and decided to work there when they got older. My own sisters worked at the ranch over the summer for two years while they were in college. Triangle X Ranch is a place that everybody wants to return to, because it's that spectacular. It was the subject of one of my sister's college essays, and a paper I had to write on an event that changed my life. Although I feel like I've written a novel already, how amazing the ranch is can't be described. It can only be experienced.

As the saying goes, a picture is worth a thousand words. What is a video worth then? Here's a link to a video I made for the ranch, with pictures and clips from this past summer and in the fall when my parents go alone: http://bit.ly/N5cHEU
(If TripAdvisor removes the link, go to YouTube and type in "triangle x ranch version 2")

Also feel free to look at my 2011 ranch album on facebook: http://on.fb.me/MhIe7j

If you have any questions about the ranch or want to see more pictures, feel free to contact me!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karn@linkline.com
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We took our entire family here between Christmas and New Years. It was our second stay, and was just as outstanding as the first. The entire staff was very attuned to the grand kids (6 between 18 mo. & 9 yrs) and went out of their way to ensure a super experience, from food preferences, moose & fox watching, sledding, snowshoes and so on. We all had a fabulous time and great memories. Food is excellent and dinner is a sit down service on white tablecloths with candles-even appetizers. Also loved the Ranch House in original decor, with couches, fire roaring, and pool table.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
765 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is where you leave your suit behind and divorce yourself from your profession, coming back and enrolling yourself in the beauties of Mother Earth. Here, you find camaraderie and respect. Here, the ages mix together. Here, you will totally trust your fellow human beings, truly befriending and confiding in them about the difficulties of your city life. Here, you leave your door unlocked. Here, you enjoy the company of that most beautiful of animals, "the horse" (mine was named Patchy and, after two rides, we became friends). My daughter introduced me to Triangle X ranch and I was delighted to enjoy two weeks of total relaxation of the mind with the body being put to the test enjoying the pleasures of Mother Nature: walking, hiking, fishing, and horseback riding. The owners, the staff, and the horses' dudes are all charming people, always ready to serve you, and they organize excellent BBQ picnics. What an experience! Stuck up people and haters of dust need not apply.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I'm a member of a riding group (15 years) We were referred to Triangle X and decided to book our annual trip the second week of September 2011. We're all professionals with varing degrees of riding experience~The TX riding options are sufficient for both beginner and advanced riders. I own a performance horse and wasn't dissapointed. I changed mounts after my first ride and was thrilled with Buck who responded well to lead changes/que's. Our beginner rider was completly satisified with Kate and advanced quickly after her loping lessons. ALL nine ladies enjoyed their mounts for the week, no complaints.
(with the exception of some be-hind rashes)
First and foremost this is a dude ranch and we have been to several...the food is truly healthy homestlyle, lots of fresh vegtables, always a fresh salad (three dressings), Tuna steak, ribs, pork chops, prime rib. Hearty & light breakfast options, good coffee and great lunches. I Truly believe the mountains and riding transformed the pasta and BLT's to gourmet status. We are all health and fitness ladies and actually hiked a few days (lots of trails), some of the girls booked a one day fly-fishing trip. We had two meals off-site as we wanted to explore Jackson Lake, Jackson Hole (22 miles) and Yellowstone and in fact needed an eating break as our breeches were beginning to fit a bit snug. (average weight gain 2lbs) The cabins are homey & sufficient, no TV however during this trip we had an emergency at home "Reno NV" and needed to check on loved ones who attended the air-races during the fateful crash. The wi-fi is sufficient in the cabins.
OK now to the serious stuff. The wranglers were acomodating and wonderful. I rode with Bill for 7 days, please check out my photos for some samples of what you may experience on your riding adventure. All pictures were taken from atop my horse Buck.. (Smaller, Cannon G11 with image stabler) leave your bulky camera in your room as you wont have time to change your settings/lenses.
We basically flanked herds of Elk in the rut, experienced a bull elk take-over anothers herd and younger bulls challenge one another and fight. We rode within a rocks throw of buffalo, heard the rumble of cow buffalo calling the herd together and watched them move, also saw fox and deer. The weather was exceptions with the exception of a drizzle day, we borrowed ponchos from the wranglers and went on a moose hunt. (photo)
We all had a spectacular trip and signed up for 2012. We have only re-visited a riding ranch twice in 25 years the group has ridden together. Triangle X Ranch met all of our expectations and then some.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ohminihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This place is magical. The views of The Grand Tetons are unbelievable. We had a fantastic 4 nights at Triangle X. Our twin 5 year olds had a ball playing with the ranch dogs and riding twice a day. The wranglers that took our boys - Magan and Jessie - were fantastic. We thought the food was fine - it was fresh and there was lots of it. We were sad to have to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneykaren10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is truly a magical place - inspirational views, with rustic, cosy cabins (with Aveda spa products) and great wranglers/ staff. The focus is clearly on horse riding, the lack of tv/ wifi a welcome escape from the modern world (and if you really need it go to Moose).

The only let down is the food, which could be better and would not take much effort to significantly improve. Clearly there have made an effort to improve on previous year, but vegetables should be fresh and not over cooked, the chicken not rubbery, and deserted freshly made, not out of a packet.

DCTerry feedback of Sep 2011 says it all otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose
7.9 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
17.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
22.8 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
7.9 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
10.6 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle X Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle X Ranch

Property: Triangle X Ranch
Address: 2 Triangle X Ranch Rd, Moose, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83012-9704
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park > Moose
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Moose
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Triangle x Ranch Hotel Moose
Triangle X Ranch Moose, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing