We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great ride!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose Wilson Road

Moose Wilson Road
Book In Advance
$145.00*
and up
Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Moose
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took this road quite a few times on our Grand Teton/Yellowstone trip. We entered at the southern entrance to Grand Teton Park. There were numerous wild flowers that we stopped to photograph and we saw moose, elk, deer, beaver and birds. There are not a lot of turn offs for parking and the speed limit is low so it is not a road to take if you are in a hurry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    47
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“They call it Moose for good reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Driving along this road, just before the turnout overlook closest to the visitors center and park entrace, you are likely to see a moose in the pond. There are several trailheads along the road, and its a great drive from the south entrance near Teton Village, or the opposite way. We've also spotted sandhill cranes in the marshes near the beaver pond. Don't miss this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GK1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“make sure you check this road out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very cool road to check out. If you like beavers, make sure you check this road out. We were in the Tetons for a week and every night around 7 or 8pm the beavers were out. They were very close to the road which made for great photo opportunities.
We have also seen Moose, bull, female and baby, sandhill crane, golden eye with babies, bears, elk, pronghorn, and a great gray owl.
This is one of our favorite spots in the Tetons.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tnt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, KS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Saw a moose!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We drove this several times, just for the scenery, and actually saw a moose. No trucks, RVs or campers allowed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
562 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
“Great little scenic drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The road isn't as scary as the signs make it out to be, definitely do this when in the area. My GPS refused to acknowledge it as part of the road are gravel but it's great. I recommend going to Moose first on the highway and then on the Moose Wilson road south as most traffic was coming against us. (at least 20 times more then our way).

Lush forest, some swamps and beaver dams, creeks, meadows, just putter along at 20 mph with all the windows down and enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Wilson Road also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Moose Wilson Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing