We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They call it Moose for good reason”
Review of Moose Wilson Road

Moose Wilson Road
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Grand Teton Sunset Tour
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Winter Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Moose
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“They call it Moose for good reason”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Driving along this road, just before the turnout overlook closest to the visitors center and park entrace, you are likely to see a moose in the pond. There are several trailheads along the road, and its a great drive from the south entrance near Teton Village, or the opposite way. We've also spotted sandhill cranes in the marshes near the beaver pond. Don't miss this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GK1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    52
    22
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“make sure you check this road out.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very cool road to check out. If you like beavers, make sure you check this road out. We were in the Tetons for a week and every night around 7 or 8pm the beavers were out. They were very close to the road which made for great photo opportunities.
We have also seen Moose, bull, female and baby, sandhill crane, golden eye with babies, bears, elk, pronghorn, and a great gray owl.
This is one of our favorite spots in the Tetons.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tnt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, KS
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Saw a moose!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We drove this several times, just for the scenery, and actually saw a moose. No trucks, RVs or campers allowed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
299 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“Great little scenic drive”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The road isn't as scary as the signs make it out to be, definitely do this when in the area. My GPS refused to acknowledge it as part of the road are gravel but it's great. I recommend going to Moose first on the highway and then on the Moose Wilson road south as most traffic was coming against us. (at least 20 times more then our way).

Lush forest, some swamps and beaver dams, creeks, meadows, just putter along at 20 mph with all the windows down and enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“what a fun and slow road to drive on”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

plenty of chances to see moose and elk. we drove the road many times during our visit. it is a slow, curvy, narrow dirt road with many people stopping because of "animal - jams". so, be patient. you may not see wildlife at any given time, but it still is a nice drive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Wilson Road also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Moose Wilson Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing