We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Nearby Hotels
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior(Lutsen)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveler rating
682
242
58
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
682
242
58
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerlake superiorwalk in showernorth shorethe breakfast areafree breakfastsound of the wavesking suitevery nice hoteloatmealhot breakfastbeautiful roomlake viewartist pointdonutsgas stationin town
Filter
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This place is overrated! The location is very nice and the views are wonderfujl but there's a lot to be tended to. Screens and windows are in need of maintenance. Housekeeping is "iffy." We found the bathroom waste basket in our room still full of beer bottle and a bunch of stuff I won't mention! There were two toilet paper holders and only one held paper. The breakfast is fine but the space is totally inadquate for a full house.. Why they don't rake the beach at least once a week is beyond me. Furnishings are drab at best. Bathroom is the tiniest we have seen. Shower was very nice. Would we recommend or return? No.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior_Inn_Mgmt, Owner at Best Western Plus Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

On behalf of our Guest Experience Team at BW Superior Inn, I apologize that your recent stay fell short of your expectations. Thank you for letting us know, upon arrival, about the missed garbage in your room. This error presented a learning opportunity for the trainee who made the error, who immediately corrected the oversight with our Hsk Director’s supervision. Our award winning hotel takes pride in providing consistent cleanliness, and we are confident you will find these high standards in place on your next stay. Superior Inn also offers a variety of roomtypes & suites with different amenities & price points. The Traditional Room you reserved over the internet for this stay is our least expensive roomtype, and although extensively remodeled with granite countertops, a Kohler Plus shower head, turndown bedding, flat panel TV’s, etc. it is a smaller sized room with the original tub/shower concept. If you desire a larger room with a more enhanced shower experience, be sure to request a Grand Room on your next stay. These spacious rooms are typically only $30-40 more, and feature a walk-in glass door shower with a movable shower arm with 2 shower heads that can also be used as body sprays. Upon check-out of your 2-day stay, you mentioned the window wouldn’t open and something about your screen. The GM immediately went to your room to see if repairs were needed, and found the window latch locked, the window fully operable when he opened and closed it, and the retrofitted screens (which were installed new approx 2 months ago), in good repair. The breakfast room size is an area we have also identified as needing improvement. Since we recently evolved into offering a complimentary full hot breakfast, this area can be congested when the hotel is busy. Expanding this area is in our long term plans and architectural plans are ready. Until then, we created a little more space in the existing area (last month) by moving the business center out into the front desk area. Our first priority, per guest feedback, was to install an elevator, which we just completed in May. Thanks again for your comments & suggestions. Your business is important to us, & we hope you will return again sometime for a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Nice hotel. Staff was very nice. They have this shower head that will work for anybody - no matter how short or tall you are. Beds were great. can walk to restaurants and some shopping from here. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houbrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised with this Best Western in Grand Marais. The rooms were spacious, fully equiped, had a nice little walkout balcony with a view of Lake Superior that was awesome. Our room was a stone's throw away from the gentle waves and the kids spent hours skipping stones and dabbling their toes in the chilly lake. Even the shampoo and conditioner was great compared to some of the cheap smelly stuff that is usually used. My whole family loved the continental breakfast also and my kids can be picky eaters. Stay here you'll love it immensely!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottCirclePines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Room had neat walk-in shower and balcony overlooked Lake Superior. The courtyard is right along the shore!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have a 10 month old and staying in a hotel is usually a nightmare for us, since our son is quite mobile and likes to investigate EVERYTHING! Usually we are on the ground the entire time with him looking for everything he can attack. In our room, we had a 2 queen beds, a decent view, not great but not terrible, of Lake Superior. And it was So very clean. There was NOTHING but the trash cans on the floor, so we just moved all of them to the bathroom but one that went on the sink and our son was FREE! He was so appreciative of all the space to practice walking from bed to night stand to chair, etc. The room was very roomy lots of space, but none of it wasted. The breakfast in the morning was adequate, not the best, but much better than most. The service of the staff was fantastic from the maids to the assistant manager. We couldn't have been happier, and from now on every time we visit Grand Marais, we will be staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazzelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews