We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$528
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior(Tofte)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
702
246
58
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
702
246
58
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerlake superiornorth shorethe breakfast areafree breakfastvery nice hotelwalk in showerhot breakfastoatmealking suitelake viewbeautiful roomsound of the wavesdonutsartist pointgas stationin town
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

The super-friendly welcome at this lakeside hotel was a great start to our stay. We always checki-in late but the hot tub was still open and there's a little lounge in the lobby with cocktails and a nice little menu. Having a balcony over the lake was wonderful and there was a little bonfire on the beach. The room was comfortable with some Lake Superior touches (loved the lamp made of Lake Superior rocks!). The lobby also had a tiny shop for necessities and a few souvenirs. Breakfast was good and is served in a lovely, bright dining room rather than some little alcove like many hotels. All the right extras for a relaxing rest on our journey up the North Shore.
One note: we drove past it the first time because the building says Superior Inn and we didn't see the separate Best Western sign amongst all the other signs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MsViki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

We would stay here again in a blink. Only thing we missed was a swimming pool. Nice updated and spacious rooms. Great breakfast. Nice walking to shops and restaurants. Clean. Nice size with plenty of room for a travel cot.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank E4566YCamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Great hotel. Everything was great restaurant was really great eating on deck was our favorite parking was very convenient food at restaurant was very quick maid service was very friendly the caps were very nic I bought one

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Z4404HKthomask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

We have stayed here for the past several years whenever we are in Grand Marais, as recent as last fall. When we walked in this time, we were "WOWED" by the changes. Beautiful lobby area. Gorgeous new area for breakfast! Even the person at the desk had a new, professional look and presentation. When we got to our room, it was totally updated,new furniture, new bathroom, new everything. Every view from the lake side is gorgeous and we had a lovely balcony to sit on and enjoy the view. We prefer a room that looks toward the harbor and this time we had a view of open water. Room 220. We found out that the room we had was a different kind, smaller, and the other rooms were sold out. But seriously, you can't go long with a lake view, any lake view. The bed was very comfortable and the new bed covers were beautiful, the pillows comfortable. When we checked out, the front desk person inquired about our plans for the day. As it was appropriate, he suggested we have a cup of coffee and relax in the eating area. Speaking of eating, the new breakfast area is wonderful and the food way better than the average hotel fare. The hotel is so conveniently located, you can't beat it. Easy walk to everything in Grand Marais. The hotel has definitely upgraded itself, they have upped their game. It will definitely continue to be our first choice whenever we are in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

My parents have stayed here and raved about their room, the view and the breakfast - but that was in February a couple of years ago. We didn't think we could get an affordable room in the summer high season but we dropped in on a whim and the awesome guy at reception set us up with a terrific deal so we could extend our North Shore experience a couple of days. Where else can you be on the beach, with a balcony overlooking East Bay, within walking distance of all the shops and most of the restaurants? And the staff will make sure you are 100% satisfied. Shaun is The Man! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews