We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a great priced hotel.. My third visit here and as always I was very satisfied. I must add that the self serve breakfast was superb.. Keep up the great work!!! Will for sure be back here soon. For the view it's hard to beat this location. East bay suites next door shares this view and is a bit more upmarket but horrendously expensive. This is a great choice for a clean comfortable stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    203
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
214
397
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stay here every October for a few days with my wife. The place is right on Lake Superior and the views are stunning! Grand Marais is a quant little town with great shops and restuarants. The people are very friendly as well. A GREAT weekend getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for 20 years. Always a great experience. Beautiful views of Lake Superior! Rooms are lovely. Alot of updates over the years. Relaxing destination. Perfect for families and even better for girl trips!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Ladonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a superb lake front hotel which has been recently renovated - our room was absolutely superb with a fantastic shower/steam room and a jacuzzi bath. The bed was perfect and the breakfast simple but excellent.

It's not cheap but then it is by the lake - and it is 100 metres from the small artistic town of Grand Marais. I recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

when placing our reservation we requested a 2nd floor...when we arrived the couple before us did not have a reservation...they were given a second floor room...we were told the 2nd and third floors rooms were full...therefore only a first floor room was available

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The updated room had a nicely tiled bathroom with a glass shower. Was that granite on the countertops??!! Pretty darn nice. Keep in mind... not a 5 star but a nice little hotel. Hotel set up a little odd. One elevator on only one side. So it was some walking to bring the cart up and down checking in and checking out. Also NO POOL. I did not do that all caps because I am mad because I am not. I personally missed the fact there was no pool. My kids were very disappointed. Maybe I saw the word "whirlpool" in the description and my mind saw "pool". Location is nice.. right on the lake. Microwave and fridge are bonuses. Breakfast in the morning was a typical hotel continently plus a few hot items. Kids liked the pancake maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank janelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here and had a great visit. The staff was very helpful in answering any questions we had. Our visit coincided with the annual Moose Festival, so we had additional fun. Overall, a nice location for going up or down the North Shore for sight-seeing. Perfect walking distance to shops and restaurants. Wish there was a pool, however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerfmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Best Western and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing