We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect on-water location, excellent accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've been here before, we'll return again. Perfect on-water location, balcony-lake view was perfect, sunrise to-die-for. Restful night's sleep on great mattress, double-spa shower head ... a lovely way to start the day, fresh, striking decor (the Lake Superior stone-base lamp was stunning), hot breakfast well attended-to, good choices. Would suggest that smaller chairs be placed around the breakfast tables. the breakfast space is small and very congested when in full-swing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 960 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, Minnesota
11
Reviewed October 1, 2013

You will love the view and you can walk out the door and be on the lake shore. Soft music playing in the room as you enter. There is a fireplace in the room and a fridge/microwave/coffee pot. The bathroom is a bit small but very clean!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel was excellent in all respects, especially the view of Laje Supoerior from the room's balcony. Aside from the minor problem of a dirty coffee pot everything was great. If, however, you need an elevayor, it is at the far end of the building far away from the lobby and main entrance. Inconvenient if you are carrying luggage etc..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's the location of this motel that makes it so nice. Being so very close to the water I'm surprised this motel can survive the gales of November on Lake Superior. The room was very nice and you get the million dollar view of the ever changing lake and sky (sunrise was so beautiful each and every morning we were there). You have a nice crescent shaped sandy beach to walk out to Artists' Point. This very human-scale natural tombolo is an inspiration to artists and Mother Nature gives everyone a place to view and experience the beauty of this inland sea coast. The North Shore of Lake Superior is the star of the show and this motel plays a nice supporting role.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank all&all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a room on the first floor, balcony, lake view. Very nice spacious room with shower and stool separate from vanity which was in the room. The motel seems a bit pricey, but considering it gets no notable traffic from October to April, it probably is not. We enjoyed the place. It had good service, decent breakfast and no downsides we were able to note.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShowMeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good location on the edge of town, with views out to the East Bay (not the harbor). As everyone posts, the sound of the waves is probably the best feature. next is the shower. Updated, tiled and roomy, with a double-headed nozzle for a great shower.

Nice comfy bed. VERY clutch laundry room.

The reason I marked it down from Very Good to Average: It is spendy, and when you factor in a couple issues, which I found a little surpriseing for a hotel in this price range, I felt it needed to be marked down.

1. The breakfast area is nice but the offering for a luxury hotel are pretty bland. The orange juice is pretty tough to stomache. The eggs appeared to be powdered. Had a pancake-making machine that did not seem all that appetizing. again, for a hotel in this price range, I thought I was justified in expecting a bit more in that area.

2. The TV not only was not high-def, I don't even know if it was standard def. The picture was pretty bad.

Overall, a good hotel. And the positives far outweight the negatives. I am simply speaking in terms of value. I thought the price was a bit high given the negatives.

Room Tip: try to get up on the 3rd floor. And keep in mind the first floor is not the main floor. It is a flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mntoathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful clean beach. Almost all rooms are water view. Gorgeous view of Artist Point. Please don't miss a walk over there it is sooo worth it.. Convenient location to explore the Gunflint Trail in the Boundary Waters Canoe area. Ate at the Crooked Spoon Cafe which was highly recomended on Trip Advisor. Great unique high quality dinner although a little pricey. Location is an easy walk into town to shop. Happened upon an Unplugged Concert which was part of the Mountain Stage Radio Show by the North House Fok School. How fun!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
157 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: $125 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing