We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pricey but the views justify it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good location on the edge of town, with views out to the East Bay (not the harbor). As everyone posts, the sound of the waves is probably the best feature. next is the shower. Updated, tiled and roomy, with a double-headed nozzle for a great shower.

Nice comfy bed. VERY clutch laundry room.

The reason I marked it down from Very Good to Average: It is spendy, and when you factor in a couple issues, which I found a little surpriseing for a hotel in this price range, I felt it needed to be marked down.

1. The breakfast area is nice but the offering for a luxury hotel are pretty bland. The orange juice is pretty tough to stomache. The eggs appeared to be powdered. Had a pancake-making machine that did not seem all that appetizing. again, for a hotel in this price range, I thought I was justified in expecting a bit more in that area.

2. The TV not only was not high-def, I don't even know if it was standard def. The picture was pretty bad.

Overall, a good hotel. And the positives far outweight the negatives. I am simply speaking in terms of value. I thought the price was a bit high given the negatives.

Room Tip: try to get up on the 3rd floor. And keep in mind the first floor is not the main floor. It is a flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mntoathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 986 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful clean beach. Almost all rooms are water view. Gorgeous view of Artist Point. Please don't miss a walk over there it is sooo worth it.. Convenient location to explore the Gunflint Trail in the Boundary Waters Canoe area. Ate at the Crooked Spoon Cafe which was highly recomended on Trip Advisor. Great unique high quality dinner although a little pricey. Location is an easy walk into town to shop. Happened upon an Unplugged Concert which was part of the Mountain Stage Radio Show by the North House Fok School. How fun!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I booked a last-minute stay at this property and were very pleasantly surprised! This was the first time we were traveling with our dog, and this was the *only* dog-friendly property available in Grand Marais given such late notice. Although I don't recall the last time we stayed at a Best Western property, we were very happy with our stay and will definitely be back! The room was nice, quiet, and had a great view. Of note, however, were the staff, presenting us with dog treats upon our arrival, greeting us every time anyone saw us, and dealing very courteously and professionally when our dog struggled to adjust to travel. The staff really exceeded our expectations. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinepnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel has been updated nicely. However, when we made the reservations we were not told that the rooms were located in the lower (basement) level. We were charged the same for these inferior rooms as rooms on the main or upper level, all of which are quite pricey. The rooms were dark and had a musty smell; there were no windows other than the balcony door on the ground level. The young lady that checked us in couldn't have been nicer but when we went to the desk after seeing our rooms and requested rooms not located in the basement, an older lady waited on us and was very rude and made it clear that we had no choice but those rooms. We had planned to stay for four nights but left after two days which was the soonest we could leave without a payment penalty. The outside grounds which had a wonderful view of Lake Superior was very dirty due to many geese, gulls, and ducks dwelling along the grounds and shore. We would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior_Inn_Mgmt, Owner at Best Western Plus Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay & for taking the time to share comments on Trip Advisor. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each guest enjoys a positive experience & use guest feedback to learn of opportunities for improvements.

Management investigated the musty smell you mentioned, but was not able to replicate it. Unfortunately the hotel was not able to move you on the first night of your stay because we were sold out. We did offer to move you for the rest of your stay, but you declined and checked out after your second night.

When your reservation was made, there was a special request to be next to another guest; not to be on a higher floor. To honor this request, you were assigned to the last remaining side by side rooms. Respectfully, this room is not a “basement room”. It is located on the first floor of a 3-story structure. All Grand Rooms feature a floor to ceiling 6 ft wide sliding glass door & balcony with a spectacular full lakefront view of Lake Superior & Artist Point. There is no room to add a window, as suggested.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, so you can experience a more superior stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This Best Western in Grand Marais, Minnesota is the best I have stayed at. All the rooms have a beautiful view of Lake Superior and they are all remodeled and up to date. We are seniors and enjoy the quiet of this hotel. Lori W.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

upper level rooms facing the lake all have excellent view. Superior rooms are very comfortable. The fireplace is so very relaxing. Spa suite is wonderful, don't every want to leave the room. All rooms are very clean and updated. Staff is polite and make you feel welcome. Even the morning breakfasts are good.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quiet. Make sure you have a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttraveler4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stay was very enjoyable. We were there on vacation for a shoet getaway. I normally stay in the campground, but this was a special occasion. The rooms were updated, beautiful shower and the balcony view of the bay was amazing! We were on 3rd floor, which I recommend. We felt the breeze and could hear the waves and seagulls with the patio door open. The breakfast was also very good considering it was FREE! I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rheannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn

Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: $75 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated hotel sits on the shore of Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and nearly all of the 66 smoke-free rooms and suites have a stunning lake view. All rooms feature comfortable, modern furnishings. Room amenities include: private lakefront balcony, fireplace, hydrotherapy whirlpool, five-shower-head steam shower, bathrobes, desk with ergonomic chair, make up mirrors, pet friendly, flat screen TV's and more (not all rooms have all amenities, specify your choice when making your reservation). All guests enjoy a complimentary full, hot breakfast, oversize whirlpool, fitness room, lobby bar and bistro, great-room with fireplace and complimentary tea and coffee, and the convenience of being within walking distance to everything in downtown Grand Marais. Our motto is, "Service isn't a big thing, it's a million little things." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing