We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING VIEW and GREAT SERVICE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING VIEW and GREAT SERVICE!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stay was very enjoyable. We were there on vacation for a shoet getaway. I normally stay in the campground, but this was a special occasion. The rooms were updated, beautiful shower and the balcony view of the bay was amazing! We were on 3rd floor, which I recommend. We felt the breeze and could hear the waves and seagulls with the patio door open. The breakfast was also very good considering it was FREE! I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rheannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    226
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
243
443
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great stay in this upscale Best Western. Choice was based on having a pet - accomodations were wonderful, but pleases note the room is not entirely secure for curious kittens (she snuck under the sink into the tub access). Hotel staff was great in all aspects and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Castle1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent accommandations, staff is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet was Great, with warm and cold entree's. Rooms were very clean, and if you can I would recommend a Lake view room, you won't be disappointed. Waking up to the Sunrise over Lake superior, and watching it set over the lake was so serene, you can't help but sleep peacefully.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend.

Room was very good - the view of Lake Superior and Artist's Point is one of the best in Grand Marais, the beds where comfortable, and even though the bathroom was small, it wasn't too small to hinder use. However, the way the room was laid out, exiting the room was very awkward. There is a small alcove between the closet and the door, and that is the best place to stand while exiting. But that's a small annoyance in an otherwise great room.

There is no pool, but the hot tub is very nice.
Breakfast was great. My family had stayed here once years ago, and the menu was much improved. There is great hot food (including oatmeal, scrambled eggs, and sausage), an automatic pancake machine, and doughnuts from World's Best Doughnuts, a local shop - that pretty much live up to that name.

If this wasn't enough to recommend this hotel, we had a small disaster that the hotel helped us with greatly. Our cat (dear fellow travelers: NEVER travel with a cat) had "escaped" on the day when we were to check out. The staff was extremely helpful, notifying the staff, and when we found him (hiding behind the sink), they helped us get him out, and didn't charge us the extra cost for the late check-out.

Without their help, this hotel would have been a great stay. However, their help of the staff is extraordinary, making this one of the best places to stay at on the North Shore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was all that we expected. When booking, we were told that it was lakefront property, and it absolutely was. Our room overlooked the beach - which was fairly quiet all the time. As to the room, it was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Refrigerator, microwave, and television were available, and they worked nicely. The bathroom was nicely updated with a walk-in glass shower with dual heads. The updates throughout the hotel were evident and well done. Also, staff was pleasant and responsive to all needs - including making some copies for me! The complimentary breakfast was the standard fare - oatmeal, eggs, sausage, fruit, pancakes, juice, doughnuts, etc. We were always able to find something to suit us. The only tiny negative is that the breakfast area could have been a little larger. It was always quite full when we went down.

This is definitely a hotel that is worthy of another stay. It lived up to all expectations!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. That way you can leave the sliding glass door open and go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoteacher068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently spent 3 marvelous nights at this Best Western. The room was delightful, the staff marvelous and the breakfast which we took on our balcony over looking the bay at Artist Point, delicious. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel, for the most part, has beautiful rooms and a great view of the lake. However, I highly recommend that a person make sure that their room is facing the lake. We were told it was a lake view, only to discover that it was a PARTIAL lake view. It wasn't a horrible thing but, it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Iver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
18.9 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing