We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Painful morning after”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Painful morning after”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The good things about this facility were numerous, however the pain from sleeping on the bed overrode the good. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The suite in which we stayed had a Luxurious jacuzzi, steam shower and fireplace. The view overlooking the Lake is wonderful. Nothing spectacular about breakfast, but I am comparing to the Detroit Lakes location which has a spectacular breakfast. We will not be able to stay at this location again because the bed is not good for us. After all, that is most important.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    206
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
215
401
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Best Western in Grand Marais, MN in May 2013. Our room was very spacious and clean. Rooms were recently redone with high quality furnishings making for a very comfortable stay. Breakfast was included and there were many great tasting options, it was available early and worked great since we needed to check out early to catch the boat in Grand Portage to Isle Royale for a backpacking trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank foerster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Superior Inn and Suites. Wonderful view from our balcony sliding doors. Only wish it could have been a little warmer to use the balcony. Wonderful decor and I loved the stone lamp in room 219. Quality is the word for linens, towels, kleenex, and bath tissue. Much appreciated. No gauze wash cloths here. Wonderful staff. Not too happy with computers in the same room with ice machine and vending machines. Noisy and warm. Breakfast bar could use a little variety with the hot items and cleaning tables but food was good , especially when the Worlds best donuts are served. Yes, Tess, I like my donuts. The double shower heads are wonderful and really make a shower enjoyable. Kudos! For women wanting to do their makeup the lighting wasn't so great but manageable. Very quiet rooms.

Room Tip: We never used the AC or heat so not sure if they're quiet or not but room 219 has an excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is my hotel of choice whenever I visit Grand Marais, MN.

The staff is so pleasant and treat you like you are part of the family, especially Chuck Winters, the General Manager, who always makes sure we are happy with our accomodations and service.

I request the same room every stay and feel like I am in my home away from home (just a much better view) Can't beat the view of Lake Superior right outside your room with the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep.

Thank you again for another wonderful Best Western stay in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I travel about 3 months out of the year and stay in many best western motels. This was by far the nicest we have stayed in. Beautiful decor and updated. Gone r the old bathtubs replaced with slate showers and glass doors! Whole motel was lovely. Breakfast items varied and tasty. Even a big jug of water with lemons in their front entry. A great value at this very nice best western in grand Marais.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kscaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this motel twice in the past month and both times the staff was friendly and helpful. One night I did not arrive until 1 a.m. without a reservation, the staff greeted my call and was able to find a room that was close to the door so I did not have to go far to get to a room. The room was spacious, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. This is one of the best Best Westerns I have stayed at and will return to this motel in the future. Parking is was within close proximity to the rooms as well.

Room Tip: Room 119 has an awesome shower with two shower heads and adjustable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

BW Superior Inn/Suites is a great place to stay when visiting Lake Superior in the late winter. The view out our window is of Artist's Point and a small bay right on Lake Superior. You can hear sea gulls as they're flying around looking for open water to land in. The room is clean and tidy; also has several updates, especially in the bath room. Very quite and relaxing.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have excellent views of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing