We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort on the North Shore of Lake Superior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Friendly staff, nice quiet room with balcony right on Lake Superior, great view. microwave and small fridge, comfortable bed, but the amazing part was the bathroom -- elegant shower with lovely tile, adjustable showerheads, raised toilet more comfortable than most low motel toilets. 2 free computers guests can use in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 986 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Best Western in Grand Marais the first weekend in February. We stayed 3 nights. Very impressed with the room! Large room with an awsome view. Very nice. Quiet. Great locaton to the Gunflint Trail. I am hoping the will work on the breakfast part. The 1st morining we went in around 7:30am. There was not enough seating room. The scrambled eggs were gone and there just wasn't a great variety of food. The 2nd day we went earlier and did get a seat but again not very impressed wtih the food. The 2 coffee pots were empty. The 3rd day we went in at 6:35am. There was crumbs left in the scrambled eggs and it was dry and I wondered if it had been there since the day before. There was no milk left and we were not impresssed. A young man came in about 12-14 min. later and said how is everything. We told him that they were out of almost everything and he said "Well, I didn't know that", Why didn't you just pick up that phone and dial 0"! We were quite surprised how he blamed the customers. We said that we didn't see the phone and there was no one behind the desk. He told us if we read the (small) sign hanging on the curtain of the front desk it would tell you what to do if you needed something. Very unprofessional. There were only 4 of us in the room. The other couple looked at us with a surprised look also. So, I love the room, I love the location but the breakfast may need some work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was awesome to go to sleep to the sound of the waves! The whirlpool was REALLY good, too, with powerful jets. Great location, very central to a lovely walk around Grand Marais. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbs720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great location-steps away from Lake Superior as well as downtown Grand Marais. Very clean.
Beautiful remodel. Comfortable beds. Nice balcony. Quiet. Parking conveniently located to the door. Love the "Clean Remote" idea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YAYcamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

You can't beat the location, right on the shore with a straight-on view of Artist's Point. The sound of the waves gives the most restful sleep, and can be heard even when the sliding door is closed. The room was impeccably remodeled in accordance with Best Western's rebranding with higher end finishes. One of the best things is the abundance of electrical outlets! We run our business on the internet so we have a variety of devices - laptops, cameras, cellphones, iPad, etc - that need recharging. What a pleasure to not have to crawl behind furniture to find an outlet! We really liked the Bee Kind toiletries - the environmental aspects and the products themselves, and we appreciate the clean TV remote that we've seen at other Best Western properties. The shower! After a cold day out on the Gunflint Trail, this shower with steaming hot water and great water pressure was a joyful experience. Finally, the entire hotel is absolutely spotless. Staff is working hard here to maintain a very high standard, and they succeed!

Room Tip: Every room is situated for a view of Lake Superior. You can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsywuebker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The suite with a king bed, fireplace, and jacuzzi tub is amazing. Everything about the room has been thought out to the smallest detail to be perfect. The bed is super comfortable, and the view is amazing. We left the sliding door open a few inches and could hear the waves gentling breaking all night long. Just like being at the ocean!
The breakfast is adequate, but is the only thing about the place that could be slightly better.
Otherwise is completely perfect.

Room Tip: The suite is worth a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derekfap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank BRAD_W370
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn

Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: $75 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated hotel sits on the shore of Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and nearly all of the 66 smoke-free rooms and suites have a stunning lake view. All rooms feature comfortable, modern furnishings. Room amenities include: private lakefront balcony, fireplace, hydrotherapy whirlpool, five-shower-head steam shower, bathrobes, desk with ergonomic chair, make up mirrors, pet friendly, flat screen TV's and more (not all rooms have all amenities, specify your choice when making your reservation). All guests enjoy a complimentary full, hot breakfast, oversize whirlpool, fitness room, lobby bar and bistro, great-room with fireplace and complimentary tea and coffee, and the convenience of being within walking distance to everything in downtown Grand Marais. Our motto is, "Service isn't a big thing, it's a million little things." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing