We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little spendy but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The front desk staff is very friendy and accomodating, the rooms are very nice and all overlook Lake Superior. We have stayed here twice and both times it was a great experience. You can take a nice walk on the shoreline right in the back of the hotel, or sit out on your deck and enjoy the view of Lake Superior.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ckj57105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 986 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location on the beach in Grand Marais. Staff are very helpful and friendly and the price was very reasonable for the time of season. This was my first stay here as I normally stay next door at East Bay Suites... Not any more. I look forward to using this hotel on a regular basis... Very happy!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just got back from our annual trip "Up North" and stayed at the Best Western yet again. I love this place. Friendly People and a gorgeous view. What is not to like! The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are so nice. Can't wait to go back!!! Finally got a chance to bring Mom with.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GypsyGirls0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, with a very nice lobby. The rooms all have a view of Lake Superior and are well appointed, including a sofa. The bath has a very nice, large, slate tiled, walk-in shower. The only negative is that there is no tub, if that’s important to you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This by far the best motel I have ever stayed in. My husband and I have been traveling for over 15 years and this motel had everything you could want. Of course it is very expensive but this time you really do get what you pay for. The shower excellent, bedding so comfortable, anyone could sleep all night. Very Clean, blackout drapes, night lite in bathroom the view of the lake. awesome, even balcony was clean, chairs washed and clean. Not every Best Western Plus is this nice, had bad experience at one in Eagen Mn. I would stay here again and highly recomment this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank willop64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay, it has become our place to stay on our yearly trip up north. We love it! Beautiful view, I strongly recommend getting a room with a balcony.

This year there was a bit of a mix up regarding our room. Hotel management fixed the issue right away, and even gave us a discount, great service, good breakfast, unbeatable views.

This place is a must!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CWDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a king room with a sofa. Our view was pretty and the black-out curtains sure did their job in the morning when the sun came right at us.
The shower was nice with two heads, and a small bench was in the corner to shave your legs, though it was a bit high....must have been designed by a man!
When we turned off the lights, we were amazed by all the electronic lights. The tv had a small red light and a large blue one, that was annoying. There was a light on the smoke detector, the clock on the microwave was lit up, the light switches on the wall were orange and there was a night-light in the bathroom. Then, the closet doors were mirrors, so all of the little lights were reflected and it seemed like there were even more!
The breakfast room was very small. Too many people for such a small area. We had to take our food back to the room, Nothing special with the food, typical.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_those_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn

Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: $75 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated hotel sits on the shore of Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and nearly all of the 66 smoke-free rooms and suites have a stunning lake view. All rooms feature comfortable, modern furnishings. Room amenities include: private lakefront balcony, fireplace, hydrotherapy whirlpool, five-shower-head steam shower, bathrobes, desk with ergonomic chair, make up mirrors, pet friendly, flat screen TV's and more (not all rooms have all amenities, specify your choice when making your reservation). All guests enjoy a complimentary full, hot breakfast, oversize whirlpool, fitness room, lobby bar and bistro, great-room with fireplace and complimentary tea and coffee, and the convenience of being within walking distance to everything in downtown Grand Marais. Our motto is, "Service isn't a big thing, it's a million little things." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing