We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Value on the North Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Good Value on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotels in season on the North Shore can be a bit pricey, but we thought this was well worth it. A very clean hotel with a friendly staff added to being right on the lake with a great view. It was also nice that their was a beach to sit and relax and for the kids to enjoy. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    206
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
216
402
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minong, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent a very relaxing weekend at the Best Western Plus Superior Inn and Suites Grand Marais. The room was beautiful, the view of the lake breathtaking, very clean and the breakfast in the morning was very good also. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 171chaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, IA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel on the water, look no farther. The room was huge, the largest of our week long trip of the north shore. Large walk in shower with two shower heads, two queen beds, desk, large tv, chairs, and a deck that overlooks the water. It was awesome to go to bed and wake up to the sound of the waves. Breakfast was very good and included the worlds best doughnuts, oatmeal, muffins, sausage, eggs, cereal, along with the usual breakfast fare. Great place to enjoy the north shore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roses4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Took our large dog up with us last week. Comfy beds, exceedingly clean, spectacular lake view (but make sure you specify a lake view), walking distance to downtown. Amazingly dog friendly.

Room Tip: Specify lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed two nights. Room was clean. View from balcony was great. Within walking distance of all Grand Marais shopping and siteseeing. A bit pricey but they have a printer and computer for your use. The breakfast they offer was not edible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We chose to stay at the Best Western in Grand Marais for the view of the Lake, and the ammenities offered. We were not disappointed - our extremely large room was fully equipped with a large whirlpool bath, a fireplace, a balcony overlooking Lake Superior, and a nice large bathroom as well. We did not give the Hotel staff a heads-up that we were getting married there, but once Charles/Chuck found this out, he brought us congratulatory gifts and a nice card thanking us for choosing them. It is people like Chuck that made our stay there over-the-top, we felt so welcomed, and cared for. Thank you Best Western, for encouraging such warm behavior from your staff!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms had a lakeshore view, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have no idea why this gets all those "exceptional" ratings. It is an average Best Western, perfectly adequate. Dry, warm, clean. No big deal. Honestly this is what every hotel accommodation should provide.

I thought the breakfast room was a joke. Hardly enough space for a B & B much less such a large hotel. I can't imagine what it must be like to have to eat breakfast there. We went to the Worlds Best Donut shop - got coffee and donuts and ate them by the lake.

I think it was a fine choice, but I'd rather stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We are glad you found your Grand Room with private balcony & glass enclosed shower w/2 shower heads "dry, warm & clean". Although our breakfast room seating is currently limited when the hotel is busy, had you stopped in to enjoy breakfast instead of walking 1 block downtown, you could have enjoyed World's Best Donuts for FREE, plus organic dark roast coffee (& other hot food items) while sitting on your balcony overlooking Lake Superior. We provide trays for this convenience; some guests love to eat breakfast on a park bench by our cobblestone beach. This hotel has evolved over the years from 20 to it's current 66 units. Before tackling an extensive lobby addition, which is in our vision for the near future, we chose to first upgrade the decor & amenities in the guest rooms, and to add an elevator. We hope to have an opportunity to be your hosts again on a future visit to Grand Marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing