We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very clean little place!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very clean little place!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I just got back from a short trip to Grand Marais, I booked this hotel based on the reviews I read on TA. The hotel is very basic, but had every thing we needed, It is VERY clean, and that is all I ask for when I travel. It is nothing fancy, and the rooms could use a little make over, but I would stay here the next time I travel to Grand Marais.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gingmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Branch, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Although this is not a newer establishment and is an in town location, it was surprisingly quiet and is run by an exceptional couple who love where they live and what they do. If you want to wake and go to sleep to the sights and sounds of the Grand Marais harbor and Lake Superior, experience the rugged beauty of Artist's Point just footsteps away, park the car and walk across the street to the beach or walk to all the wonderful shops, restaurants & galleries in town, enjoy a modern restaurant within the motel to get a very good cup of coffee and a freshly prepared breakfast (great pancakes btw!) or lunch looking out over the harbor, be within 15 miles to excellent hiking trails, vistas and state parks (Cascade and Judge C.R. Magney are not to be missed!), and don't mind slightly older but very clean furnishings with the comforts of home then the Harbor Inn is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Spent a couple of days here while doing the Lake Superior circle tour drive. Location is excellent: right by the harbor and close to restaurants & stores. Hotel management was extremely helpful, both with the stay at the hotel and with tips on scenic drives/hikes and restaurant suggestions. Rooms are simple; but clean, quiet, and well furnished. Overall, a great value and a hotel we will use in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueJay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Harbor Inn in Grand Marais, MN, In mid September, 2010. Its location in the middle of town makes walking anywhere quite easy. The Inn is located right across the street from a bay of Lake Superior. The bay was lovely and the surrounding area was fabulous--the trees had turned and the scenery was so colorful. Our room was on the street level with parking in front of the door, which made it very convenient. The room itself was very clean, somewhat "North country, woodsy" decor, with the mattress on the bed the best I have ever slept on. (I would like to have taken it home!) There was a refrigerator in the room, which was very handy. The bathroom needed some remodeling. There were some holes in the tile surrounding the tub and in general some updating would have been welcomed. I would recommend this Inn to others traveling to this area. The Innkeepers were so kind and helpful, specially considering I had to change my reservations 3 times. They also were able to make suggestions about what to see in the area and how to get there. Grand Marais is a great place for viewing beautiful nature at this time of the year. My only real complaint about the area was that I never did see a moose!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLou40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Not the most modern of hotels, but clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location was great! Within walking distance to most of the town sites and shops. And waking up to the sun coming up over Lake Superior was gorgeous!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I went for a relaxing long weekend, and that's exactly what we got. The hotel is a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a gorgeous view of the harbor. We sat out on the balcony each day and admired the beauty of the lake and did some people-watching. There are some nice shops and restaurants, all within walking distance of the hotel. I'd highly recommend the Angry Trout for a meal of fresh Lake Superior fish. We also drove about 15 miles further north to experience the Naniboujou Lodge for brunch, and I'd also highly recommend that.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Palm_Tree_Girl0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We went with friends to the Harbor Inn in Grand Marais just to get away and do something different....what a lovely hotel..its small but has big hotel amenities....the staff are all very friendly and helpful...our room was large with a fridge and T.V...[we didn't use the T.V. much..] bathroom was clean, we had a coffee machine and the coffee was good...but the view was incredible from our room and the bacony..we were on the second floor [there are only 2] the sail boats and large pleasure boats in the harbor on lake Superior...were so beautiful to watch....a small park was across the street from us and we saw birds and people walking and talking...it was so peaceful...there are a small table and 2 chairs out side your room door to enjoy your morning coffee....the restaurant was exalant for breakfast and you get a discount if your a hotel guest...there's plenty to do as well your within walking distance of many restaurant and shops and just a short drive to other sights like the split rock light house.....We give this hotel a A plus....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croskery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel

Property: Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Address: 207 W Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-5020
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing