We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the minute we called to make our reservation, we knew this place would be perfect! The hospitality, the food and the service were amazing. Our view of the harbor was excellent, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay! Highly recommended and within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Harbor Inn is very basic----no frills but very comfortable. Free parking in the rear but you can walk to almost everything in town. Directly across the street from the harbor and city park. Great restaurant on the first floor. If you have a second floor room, you will get a workout using the stairs! If you don't need all the extras such as swimming pool, exercise room, etc., you will get along fine here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Harbor Inn provides good discounts for off peak travelers and we took advantage on a weekend in April. On the harbor and in town makes this Inn convenient to the action and the water. Room was clean and comfortable. Service with a smile. Breakfast the next day in attached cafe was excellent.

Jeromy and family make this a comfortable place to stay. Nothing fancy but a quality operation. We will be back as we travel through the area.

Room Tip: Enjoy the convenience of draft beer and music across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our lakeside room afforded us the best view in town... the harbor, breakwater and lighthouse ! Staffers were accommodating and delightful. Excellent bed, clean, affordable room.
We ate breakfast every morning during our 4 night stay at the in-house Pie Place Restaurant (discount price for overnight guests!)...the maple sausages are fantastic, as is the rest of the fare...not only at breakfast, but for lunch and dinner as well.
Definitely plan to stay here again, and are recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Harbor-side rooms have the fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times and it is my favorite place to stay in Grand Marais. The location is fantastic. Close to everything. The Pie place which is within the complex on the main level has fantastic food and as a guest, you receive a discount on breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is fantastic. My view was BEAUTIFUL of the Harbor from the room. Definitely ask for the Harbor room view. I look forward to my next stay at the Harbor Inn.

Room Tip: Harbor View rooms offer a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlacierGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the off season and got an online deal. So the stay was cheap compared to the regular prices.

The Harbor Inn can not be beaten as far as the location goes!

We stayed in room 15. It's facing the side street, is ground level and had easy access from street parking. Towels and sheets were very clean. Room service was very clean and efficient, too. The room came with a little noisy refrigerator and a coffee machine and had two beds. The bathroom appears to have been regrouted recently.

I do not expect a whole lot from a hotel room. It has to be clean (which it was in deed), it has to be quiet (which it was due to the off season for the most part, except for a very noisy radiator which had pipes that rattled every time it went on) and it has to have a somewhat comfortable mattress (which it failed to provide). I am afraid to say that the mattress was actually one of the worst I had slept on in a very long time!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was amazing!! The owner was really helpful and nice.The motel and restaurant face towards the lake, so the views are great. We were there during off season, so it was not very busy and there was plenty of open rooms. I will definitely stay there again. I recommend staying here when you are in Grand Marais!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
19 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
30.1 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel

Address: 207 W Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-5020
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing