We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three Home Runs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crooked Spoon Cafe

Crooked Spoon Cafe
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Three Home Runs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were recently in Grand Marais for three nights. Our first night we went to The Crooked Spoon because we remembered it as being so delicious during our last visit two years ago.

Again, we had fantastic food (I had the scallops and my husband had the ribs) we split the Banana Brule (fantastic!!) for dessert. We were just two and we ate at 6:30 so we got right in and had no trouble getting a table. However, there were two parties of 6 and one party of 10 (who insisted on all sitting together, and thus dominating the restaurant). It got really noisy and annoying, but the food was still excellent and the staff was terrific.

The second night we went back, and this time it was all tables for two or four. I had the Curry Beef Soup and a Salad, my husband had the steak...fantastic!! We split Blueberry Pie.

On our third (and last night) we had to go back - why not? Again we had a delicious meal, served by friendly and helpful waiters and we will definitely be back!!

Go here - hopefully you won't be submerged by a giant and noisy party next to you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    102
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious and visually appealing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Although we visit Grand Marais frequently, this was our first visit to the Crooked Spoon. Our dinner was fantastic - both the flavor and appearance of the dishes as well as the overall ambiance of the restaurant. The crab cakes were delicious as was the port wine poached pear salad. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the mushroom asparagus fricassee was wonderful. The menu isn't extensive, but when high quality and creativity are poured into each dish, it doesn't need to be.
We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeland, Wi
Level Contributor
152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal (or dessert)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We get to Grand Marais, MN from Wisconsin about twice a year and never leave without a meal (usually lunch) at the Crooked Spoon. The menu is always varied and unique. This trip I had the lunch special of a grilled pork burger with lettuce, tomato, grilled scallions, blue cheese, and aioli sauce on a chiabata roll. It was incredible! My wife had the corn crusted, sautéed whitefish which is usually on the menu and is also very good. We usually only eat half of our sandwich and take the rest to go because we want to save room for the Banana Brule'. It's a real treat and is enough for two to split. My description would not do it justice, but as good as it sounds on the menu, it's even better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
247 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Small variety for vegetarians, but great taste. Appetizer and two full salads was enough for us. The dishes looked like pieces of art and tasted deliciously.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RudySzymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I had been hearing rave reviews about the Crooked Spoon the past few years; last week we finally made it in. All I can say is "Wow!" Very unique menu, high quality ingredients, great presentation, a few fun twists on classic meals, and most important....very unpretentious! Oh yeah, very reasonably priced!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing