We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Crooked Spoon Cafe

Crooked Spoon Cafe
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I had lunch here and it was excellent. The BLT was fabulous, the salad was scrumptious, and the banana Brulee was our of this world. Our server was exceptional and made our lunch a great experience.
Thanks

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    102
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You wouldn't expect this good in Grand Marais”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you want to make your taste buds happy, then eat here. We had mussels, pizza, salmon, french onion soup, & salad. If once in a not-so-very-often time you experience properly cooked, great tasting food, here's another opportunity. Intimate. Up-scale. Delicious. Great place for our 40th anniversary dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenmccaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

In the middle of the winter, -12 degrees outside: a warm welcome, a generous wine pour, and one of the best scallop dishes I've ever had. All way up in the northland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marin215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A jewel in Grand Marais”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We decided to check out Grand Marais after a day of skiing. We expected midwestern diner fare but found gourmet food and outstanding desserts. Generous portions, very attentive service and the food very well prepared. LOVED the french onion soup and the salad with pears and walnuts. Amish chicken delicious. The banana dessert with ice cream and cashew brittle was incredible, my husband said this was most likely the best dessert he has had in his life! So happy, posting this review while still at the table

Helpful?
Thank Minnesotamom2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Valentines yummy”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Yummy food. Great service! Would come back any time we are in the area. This site is making me write 100 characters or I would have stopped at the first sentence! That was all that was needed

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing