We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A definite treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crooked Spoon Cafe

Crooked Spoon Cafe
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A definite treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My son and I enjoyed wonderful meals and great service here. I had I had the double cut pork chop with balsamic, onion and bacon marmalade with blue cheese mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts. My son had the pan roasted chicken with mashed potatoes and chard. All I can say is "heavenly". Everything was perfect, great portions and delicious. Even though we were quite content after our meal we each had desert, and I don't regret that one bit! I had the banana brûlé, with banana rum caramel sauce, vanilla bean ice cream,
cashew brittle and sea salt. My son had the coffee bean crème brûlé. Fabulous!! I cannot wait for another visit up north, because I will be back to the Crooked Spoon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    98
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Crooked Spoon Serves Up Delightful Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a cabin concert with Michael Monroe, three of us went to lunch at the Crooked Spoon because we recalled eating their several years ago and having good food. It was still there and still as good as ever. The salads were large in proportion and the vegetarian options excellent. The details of presentation made for lovely to look at servings as well as the textures a delight to the tongue. They served appropriate Irish dishes for St.Patrick's Day and those who ordered the Reuben and found it to be mouthwatering good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very, very good. Cute and quaint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had lunch there on March 23, 2013. That was the last day before their closing until early May.
Husband had the special of the day which was a reuben. I had the french onion soup.
We were really looking forward to the oven fries, but alas, prior to our getting there, someone had ordered their last order for takeout. Because it was the last day, they did not have any more. Had to sub in the dill chips which were good.
Had a decandent dessert to share.
Will go back next time and hope to have those oven fries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveKayaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in Grand Marais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food was excellent. Both our meals were well prepared and presented, large quantities and the quality of the food was excellent. The service was very good as well and the waitress knew the menu very well and could answer any questions. We would definitely recommend The Crooked Spoon to anyone wanting a really great meal in Grand Marais.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsurpassable food quality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Seriously the BEST food I have ever eaten! Quaint litte restaurant with gourmet quality entrees. This is a must stop for anyone passing through or by.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bags789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing