We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste bud euphoria never before experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crooked Spoon Cafe

Crooked Spoon Cafe
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste bud euphoria never before experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The restaurant is quaint, the atmosphere exudes local appeal. Service was personal, friendly, fast (relative), and helpful! We went at lunch and the menu wax perfect for the punt of choices, and the price was more than reasonable for the amount of food. The food itself is an experience you won't want to miss! If you have to wait in line (as in summer months), it is worth your wait!! Don't miss any opportunity to experience The Crooked Spoon!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank e2thu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    102
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We traveled for 6.5 hrs and did not have time to change prior to dinner. It did not matter if we were dressed up or down. It was my man's birthday and we had 2 of our adult children with us at the start of a skiing weekend. I had the roasted Alpaca (which I was a little leery of since all I know about them is the fuzzy commercials to adopt one) it was amazing, very moist and tender, served with mashed potatoes and beautiful brussel sprouts. He had the double cut pork chop and it was HUGE and cooked perfectly. The kids had the chicken and couldn't have been more pleased. For dessert we shared the carrot cake. I must say the entire experience was like food porn :) We LOVED everything and plan to return the next time we go skiing. Very friendly people, and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gisela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crooked Spoon Cafe is not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Crooked Spoon Cafe is not to be missed when visiting Grand Marais, MN. The food is excellent and they serve everything from hamburger to tofu, which pleases everyone. They have special meals on holidays and for special events. Friendly, nice, cozy, plain to fancy food in a small town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilhcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inconsistent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I dined here a few years ago and thought it was reasonably tasty. Coupled with my previous experience and the reviews here, I tried it again and was disappointed. The restaurant was full for lunch, so perhaps the chef in the back had trouble keeping up. We ordered a squash latke as an appetizer and after 30 mins of waiting, our server informed us that the chef was having trouble preparing it. Once it arrived, it was slightly burnt, which really wasn't the downside - the latke was drenched in a curry sauce and the flavors didn't go well together. I ordered the restaurant's version of a BLT, which consisted of rye bread, bacon, lettuce, tomato, balsamic and curry sauce. In my opinion, the combination of the tomato, sweet balsamic, and rich curry sauce was overly complex and did not go well together. The restaurant seemed to try to do too much, when the sandwich would have been better with simple, quality ingredients paired well. I would venture over to the Angry Trout or even the fish market before trying this restaurant a third time. One thing to note, however, was that the service was very pleasant (and the latke was removed from our bill without our request).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorningCrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Out of six persons, five thought food was terrific!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We consider this a find. Terrific food with a creative touch, and very good service. Two of us had the Reuben, one had fish, another adult--vegetarian black-eye pies dish, and the kids--Mac and Cheese. All except the adult with the vegetarian dish would give the restaurant an excellent rating. The one with the vegetarian dish was a bit disappointed.

The Reuben was terrific--the closest to a New York Reuben. I would skip the popcorn side--inventive but didn't compliment the Reuben well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calif0rniadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing