We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
214
68
25
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
68
25
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen bedroom suite washer and dryer lake superior in town murphy bed huge bathroom housekeeping staff watching the sunrise we've stayed within walking distance artist point gas fireplace dining table own meals the perfect place to stay grand marias
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 324 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have stayed there before and have had somewhat comfortable lodging. This time it was completely unacceptable. The bedroom and bathroom (toilet) were connected with no wall. There was no internet connection nor cell phone service. We had asked for and paid for a one bedroom suite. Who would think that you would have to ask for a wall, (or internet service if it is advertised). We would have been happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cafleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBSGM, General Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodation that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. The suite you stayed in is a one of a kind unit here that is very popular with many guests. We can see that it did not meet with your approval and for that we do apologize. If you are willing to give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact General Manager, Andrew, through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Location Great, Food and Shopping Great. Rooms are really really awesome. We stayed here in combination with a Lutsen ski trip. We chose to drive a ways to the ski resort in order to enjoy the wonderful town of Grand Marais. Free shuttle to ski resort. This is our 4th year in a row on a ski trip in the area, and the family agrees this is the best place so far.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was my second stay at East Bay and it is by far the best place to stay on the North Shore. Grand Marais is an adorable town with great dive restaurants and lots to do in every season.

Both the 1 and 2 bedroom units that I have stayed in are cozy and clean, nicely decorated, have huge comfy beds, amazing views of Lake Superior, and fully stocked kitchens.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

What an amazing little place! Make SURE you get a lakeside room. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves, and wake up to the most BEAUTIFUL sunrise ever! The beds are tall, so you don't even have to get out of it to see the sunrise! It's a perfect romantic get-a-way. Real wine glasses and corkscrew, and even a garlic press in the kitchenette! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to others. The only negative was that the lobby closes early on Sundays. We wanted to grab a movie, and they were closed! Honestly, though, everything else was as close to perfect as it gets!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texbaby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

After days of backpacking, my girlfriends and I treated ourselves to this great place. The 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (and pullout sofa) worked great for the 5 of us. Stunning views from rooms. Jim at check-in was helpful and nice. The lobby was clean and cozy with huge windows to view the "Superior" view. Being on the ground level, the next morning we filled our coffee mugs and walked out to the shore for sunrise. Rooms close enough to get a refill in a minute!
The granite countertops and ultra tasteful decor was classy and cozy. We were glad to be able to do some laundry with the in-suite washer/dryer. We were very pleased with the location, as we walked everywhere.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
Thank suzanne417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews