We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
213
68
24
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
68
24
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbedroom suitewasher and dryerlake superiorin townmurphy bedhuge bathroomhousekeeping staffwatching the sunrisedining tablewe've stayedwithin walking distanceartist pointgas fireplaceown mealsthe perfect place to staylocation is ideal
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 322 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Location Great, Food and Shopping Great. Rooms are really really awesome. We stayed here in combination with a Lutsen ski trip. We chose to drive a ways to the ski resort in order to enjoy the wonderful town of Grand Marais. Free shuttle to ski resort. This is our 4th year in a row on a ski trip in the area, and the family agrees this is the best place so far.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was my second stay at East Bay and it is by far the best place to stay on the North Shore. Grand Marais is an adorable town with great dive restaurants and lots to do in every season.

Both the 1 and 2 bedroom units that I have stayed in are cozy and clean, nicely decorated, have huge comfy beds, amazing views of Lake Superior, and fully stocked kitchens.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

What an amazing little place! Make SURE you get a lakeside room. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves, and wake up to the most BEAUTIFUL sunrise ever! The beds are tall, so you don't even have to get out of it to see the sunrise! It's a perfect romantic get-a-way. Real wine glasses and corkscrew, and even a garlic press in the kitchenette! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to others. The only negative was that the lobby closes early on Sundays. We wanted to grab a movie, and they were closed! Honestly, though, everything else was as close to perfect as it gets!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texbaby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

After days of backpacking, my girlfriends and I treated ourselves to this great place. The 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (and pullout sofa) worked great for the 5 of us. Stunning views from rooms. Jim at check-in was helpful and nice. The lobby was clean and cozy with huge windows to view the "Superior" view. Being on the ground level, the next morning we filled our coffee mugs and walked out to the shore for sunrise. Rooms close enough to get a refill in a minute!
The granite countertops and ultra tasteful decor was classy and cozy. We were glad to be able to do some laundry with the in-suite washer/dryer. We were very pleased with the location, as we walked everywhere.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
Thank suzanne417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We just had a couple days to spend on the North Shore and decided to focus on Grand Marais. I had initially thought about one of the older places that have more character like Naniboujou to the north or Lutsen's to south, but for proximity to shops, restaurants, and nearby parks, we chose this place. It is wonderfully sited and clean and modern. You can walk to artist's point from the hotel as it's right out the door. Free wireless access.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank badgerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews