We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
213
68
24
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
68
24
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbedroom suitewasher and dryerlake superiorin townmurphy bedhuge bathroomhousekeeping staffwatching the sunrisedining tablewe've stayedwithin walking distanceartist pointgas fireplaceown mealsthe perfect place to staylocation is ideal
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 322 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Just returned from our annual trip to Minnesota to spend time with my parents. We decided to again visit Grand Marias and had the pleasure of staying at East Bay Suites.
We have been to Grand Marias several times in the past few years, always in July and have stayed at other places. East Bay Suites was by far our favorite.
We had a 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor with a magnificient view of the lake. The suite was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. It is also just across the street from the best donut place ever!
It was cool the days we were there, and I did notice there is no a/c, however with being on the lake just opening the windows was good enough.
We will definately stay at East Bay Suites again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our family stayed in a studio deluxe for one night. This studio included a small room with a double bed and a queen-sized murphy bed in the living room. The suite comfortably slept 4 people. The room layout was good and it was nicely decorated. The big TV included a DVD player and the office had several DVDs and books that the guests could borrow. The kitchen included concrete counters and stainless steel appliances. The studio also included a stone fireplace. Everything looked new and was clean. There was also a Wii in a community room. Our room had a sliding door that opened to a patio right next to Lake Superior and it is a quick walk to restaurants and stores in the downtown area.

By the way, we had a nice dinner at the Crooked Spoon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed at East Bay for two nights late June 2009. We had suite 202 (which included 202A and 202B). This was our first stay at East Bay and we were very impressed. This was nicer than other places on the north shore that we have stayed at before, including Bluefin Bay and Grand Superior Lodge.

Highlights were:
- Outstanding location! Right on the lake, with two walk out balconies. Hear the waves as you fall asleep at night.
- Full kitchen (including full size fridge with ice and water dispensers) with everything necessary to prepare food. Also a bar area in the other room with microwave.
- Three TV's (LCD flat screen in the family room), and older style TV's in each bedroom. Plenty of channels to choose from.
- DVD/VCR's are part of the rooms, a nice touch.
- Close walking distance to everything you want to do in Grand Marais
- Beach area kids can play on (dig with shovels, search for rocks)
- Right across the street from the "Worlds Best Donuts" (actual name of the place)
- They had a Wii setup in the conference room on a big screen projector

Other comments of interest:
- Note that some rooms allow pets, so inquire ahead if you have allergies. Mom has mild dog allergies, but did not have any issues here so the rooms must have been cleaned adequately.
- The front desk person was very polite and helpful, but the front desk is not staffed 24 hours
- Make sure you get a lake side suite when making reservations
- Great discounts for AAA members

We would definitely come back to Easy Bay the next time we stay in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyVacationsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

East Bay Suites was the perfect place to stay after a week canoeing in the Boundary Waters with its full kitchen and washer and dryer. Only complaint is the bedroom where the bed was so close to one wall that I had to step up onto the bed to pass the corner of the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackedNReady2GoAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed for two nights during the summer solstice weekend. My wife and I had a decent room facing the parking lot but our friends had a room that was inadequate on the lake side, room 304B. It apparently is a room that is to be used as a third bedroom for room 304A but for some reason our friends got it even though they made reservations well in advance. It was extremely small with an odd layout and a very small window looking out over the lake. The reason to be careful is that the website shows a floor plan that doesn't match what the room really is.
Other than that, the hotel itself is nice and the people were extremely friendly. The location is great as you can walk to all of the restaurants and bars, etc. The deck behind the building is very pleasant with a gorgeous view of the lake.
I'd recommend this place with the caveat that you make sure you get a full suite.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews