We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet friendliest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet friendliest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I love staying at this hotel. The pet friendly rooms come with dishes, a dog bed, and a leash tie-out off the patio area. We booked the pampered pooch package and they had a welcome basket with treats, water bottle and goodies!! The furnishings are modern and upscale. The best part is having instant access to the lake and waking up to sunrise on the water. The condos have everything you need if you want to cook your own meals but you can walk to all the restaurants- even in winter since they're close! This is one of my favorite places in all of Minnesota. It is a bit spendy but at least you get what you've paid for.

Room Tip: Main level rooms are best for pets since you can leash them off the patio and not leave your room ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Girl_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad to see that you (and your dog) enjoyed our pet package. We're happy to offer a home away from home for the whole family. Plus, nothing beats watching the sunrise over the lake! Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to your next visit to East Bay Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    62
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
86
125
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wabasha, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is our second stay at East Bay Suites and would recommend it to anyone. We love the location: right on the lake, yet downtown. We always go after the main tourist season, so the price for a 1 bedroom has been reasonable. We stayed 3 nights, but talk about staying longer.

Room Tip: Room 304 was well equipped with kitchen, laundry, books, and games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! It’s great that you’ve once again found our lakeside location so enjoyable. We love that we can offer the serenity and quiet of Lake Superior waves, but still be within walking distance of all the unique shops and restaurants Grand Marais has to offer. I hope you were able to take advantage of our great winter promotions! Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I booked a suite with kitchenette at the East Bay Suites in mid-October, 2013. Our three night stay started the day after the official summer/fall tourist season ended. What a fabulous place, what a wonderful mini-vacation! Location is right on Lake Superior - each room faces the water, sort of east/south east. The rooms were impeccably clean, the kitchen/dining area well appointed, with a full fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, plenty of utensils and serving dishes, and a well organized dining area. We had an electric fireplace that worked in both the living area and bedroom, but the space was so warm that we really didn't use it much. Our little balcony was fun, even though it was too cold to really use it.
The staff at East Bay Suites were so friendly and helpful, both with suggestions of things to do and with minor repairs that our TV needed. The hotel provides activities for their guests to do, even on the coldest of days, and posts a calendar of village and hotel events in the elevators. There is lots of space for relaxing, working out, walking, or just sitting and reading or napping.
The hotel is situated near everything in this charming lake village - shops, restaurants, walking trail, and the famous "Artist's Point" is just a few blocks away. The hotel and the whole village have a great vibe, even on quiet days like we experienced. I highly, highly recommend this location for couples, families, even probably for a single person on retreat.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to cook even breakfast yourself - there is no restaurant in the hotel itself. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you found your accommodations to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be able to offer our guests the luxuries of home while relaxing on the water’s edge of Lake Superior. Thank you for being our guests, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at East bay several times in the past and have always been impressed. Price wise East Bay is overpriced.. Sorry but almost $400 a night for a 1 bedroom isn't good value!! I would definitely recommend this spot for a get away as it's clean and friendly and sits in a wonderful location. When booking be sure to confirm you have a lake view ...before you book?? Don't just assume you do or you may end up spending $200 a night and looking at a car park.. Then spending another $200 a night to upgrade to a view.. Off season this can be a great location to visit at a more reasonable price. Great place to stay but not if your on a budget..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We understand that our Village View Studios do not offer the ideal views of the shores and for this reason they are our least expensive accommodation. The majority of our accommodations however offer gorgeous views of Lake Superior with a price point similar to our competitors. Summer and Fall are our two peak seasons, when availability is low and prices are at peak. During the winter months, we do have wonderful promotions for our lakeside suites where prices are at all time lows of $89 and $99 a night during the midweek! Again we thank you for your review and we have enjoyed having you as our guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent a getaway weekend here at the end of the season. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk clerk. Our room was right on the lake with an exceptional view. These are condo units that are rented out. Our room was very well equipped and a week's stay here would be easy. The place is quiet, rooms very clean and huge. Only nits are that the leather sofa in our unit should be retired (worn in several places) and maid service is limited. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Splurge for the lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthstarTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. We’re very proud to be able to offer our guests the comforts of home with spectacular views of Lake Superior. Several of our units are in the process of updating their sofas, I think you’ll be pleased to notice this during your next visit. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Located at a quiet end of town right on the rocky Lake Superior shore, this is an ideal 'dog friendly' vacation spot. Most suites/rooms overlook the water and have balconies; we reserved at the last minute and ended up with a 'village view' (really the parking lots complete with dumpsters) BUT still thought the complex as a whole was great. Liked being able to walk into town, hike some of the nearby trails, watch sunrise/enjoy late afternoon light on the beach and visit the great bookstore across the street. Variety of suite sizes available. Everyone was friendly and helpful AND as a final touch, on the last night we had the Northern Lights! We've already reserved a lakeside spot for next year.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 'Village View'.....disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadiantPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do understand that the Studio Village View units do not provide guests with the ideal views of the shore however there are several other options that do give you pristine and breathtaking views of the lake. We are happy that everything else met your needs and you have chosen to come visit us again. We look forward to your return and are confident you will find your next accommodation to exceed your expectations. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom with a lake view, it was fantastic. Full kitchen that is stocked with pretty much everything you need including a dishwasher. Also had a washer/dryer in the unit which if we were staying longer would have been wonderful. The room had a large bathroom and a private bedroom off the living room. The balcony overlooked the lake. The rooms also have in floor heating. They seem to have a lot going on to participate in if you'd like such as bonfires and crafting. They are close to everything in Grand Marais and have deals with some of the local stores. They are also across the street from the World's Best Donuts. What can be better.

Room Tip: Request one with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are overjoyed that you found your accommodation to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be able to offer our guests the luxuries of home while relaxing on the water’s edge of Lake Superior. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing