We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Sauk City, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel right off of Lake Superior offers a great view and nice accommodations. The 3 bedroom was spacious and had nice amenities such as a two way fireplace. Kitchen and dining were pleasurable along with local restaurants and shops to visit. The snowshoeing to the moose viewing platform was exciting even though we didn't see a moose and ice skating at the community rink was a good reminder of winter's past. I would recomend to any of my family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the amenities that we have to offer you as well as the location. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    58
    20
    13
    1
See reviews for
79
117
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom unit which was very spacious. Comfortable bed, well-stocked kitchen, great decor. Lots of chairs inside and outside. The lake view was unbeatable, and the sound of the waves against the shore was great for sleeping. It's right in the middle of town, making it a perfect location. Cozy and very inviting. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun_St_Paul_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your north shore experience with us here at East Bay Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic location loved the beach and lake. Rooms are clean and very attractive and laid out well. Got to agree with a couple of the previous posts on price.. Sorry at $300 a night it's spendy, $200 is a fairer price when you consider the rooms lack air conditioning. I would recommend East Bay Suites to anyone it's a great place to hang out but sadly there is no A/C in rooms so that can be a drag if you hit a hot spell like we did. Pet friendly to..a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachcombergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at East Bay Suites. I apologize that you found the price of your accommodation to be more than what you would have liked. We do have less expensive rooms available such as our Lakeside Studios which comes with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior along with a cozy living quarters that includes a Queen Murphy bed, fireplace, TV, and european kitchenette. Come 2013 we will be in the process of outfitting half of our facility with Air Conditioning to make those few yet hot days more enjoyable for our guests. We hope you will consider coming to stay with us again. Thank you for your response and also for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a beautifully updated and maintained location. If you like a front row seat to watching Lake Superior within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops, this is your spot! They also accept dogs, but are very on top of making sure they don't bother the other guests. We felt the pricing was a great value for what we received. The only recommendation we would have is to warm up the space a bit with some cozier rugs. The stained/polished cement floors are perfect for the style, but a bit cold at times. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to adding additional rugs, we truly value each and every suggestion guests make. With each suggestion is an opportunity to help better our guests stays going forward. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the 2nd time we stayed here and made reservations for next fall on the way out. I will get the one negative out of the way first. The electric fireplace?! What are they thinking? You turn it on and you hear a motor run and get none of the benefits of a real fire. But you can go to the lobby for a gas fireplace or the beach for a campfire. Now the rest is all good. Beautiful view, steps from the water, across the street from the "Worlds Best Donuts", walking distance to all the nice restaurants in town, lots of space in the 1 BR suite, fully equiped kitchen, washer and dryer in the room, friendly service, and best of all we can bring our dogs along. I disagree with a previous review about price, as we had the large 1 BR suite (not a standard room) for just over $200/night. Comparable to Bluefin Bay in Tofte, but with all the amenities of Grand Marais right out your door. They have free bikes to use, and will drive you to a trailhead, while you leave your car at the other end, so you can do a one way hike. It is a better location than the Best Western for walking around town. I couldn't ask for anything more for a North Shore getaway!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have easy access out to lake side with your dog, but less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvalgemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay with us here at East Bay Suites in Grand Marais MN. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the amenities that we have to offer you as well as the location. We hope the memories you made here will last you a life time- or at least until your next visit! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location and friendly staff. It quite simply is way overpriced. Grand Marais at New York prices... There are so many places to stay within Grand Marais that offer better quality at around half the price...Look around. It astounds me that East Bay can sit almost empty some nights and still ask $300 for a room per night with a minimum 2 night stay when a similar standard room is $100-$150 per night?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking to time to review your stay with us here at East Bay Suites. I am sorry to hear that you felt our facility to be overpriced. Our accommodations are within a stone’s throw from the great Lake Superior and come equipped with a full kitchen or kitchenette as well as other amenities such as full living rooms, private bedrooms, washer/dryers, and a balcony/patio overlooking Lake Superior or the town. We offer a home away from home here as well as superior views of Lake Superior and a location that is in the heart of down town Grand Marais. There are activities that we offer complimentary to our guest including pool passes, gym passes, bikes, DVDs, campfires and S’mores to name a few. During the time you stayed with us here was during our busy season when we are typically sold out. This season runs June through October. During our slower season (November through May) our prices in accommodations can be as low as $89 a night. We do have nightly minimums on our suites over the weekends as well as some holidays yet this is uniform through all hotels here in Grand Marais. Again I thank you for reviewing our property and we hope that you will consider coming back to stay with us again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first time staying at East Bay Suites. I loved the location - right on the water, within walking distance of restaurants. The service was great. I loved all the unexpected amenities (Aveda products in the bathroom, equipment for campfire and smores, popcorn in the lobby). We stayed in a one bedroom suite - very comfortable. The only (very minor) complaints were that the fireplace, while giving off a lot of heat, didn't have much ambiance and that the air in the room was a little stale. I was worried that it would be loud - but we never heard a peep from anyone. Overall - a great place to stay in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae001K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferG183, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here with us at East Bay Suites. We are happy to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Aside from offering superior accommodations, we pride ourselves in offering top notch customer service as well as enjoyable complimentary activities that assist in creating a memorable experience for our guests. I thank you again for reviewing our facility and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#10 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Marais
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing