We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views and great facility”
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We love this place - this was our second stay here. The rooms are clean and spacious. Everything you need is provided... coffee for the coffeemaker, detergent for the washer, CDs for the CD player, etc. It's right on the water... when you look out the window (we were on the 2nd floor) you don't see anything but lake, sky and trees. Yet it's right in town within walking distance to restaurants, grocery stores, etc. What we liked best (besides the gorgeous setting) was all the space to share family time, and the convenience of being able to prepare some of our own meals in the well-equipped kitchen.

The thing we liked least was that the people upstairs seemed to walk heavily, so we could hear them clomping around. Not the fault of the hotel, but it gives you a little idea about the construction of the building. (We always try to stay on the top floor of any hotel for this reason, but in this case it wasn't available.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikerider4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBSGM, General Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about East Bay Suites. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

This resort offers excellent rooms, a beautiful setting on Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and reasonable rates. The suites have separated rooms and a kitchenette with all one needs to make meals during a vacation. The only strike against this resort is that they charge a high nightly fee to bring a pet. A more pet-friendly charge would make this resort perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our fourth time staying at the East Bay Suites and we are never disappointed. The property was full for our stay but you never would have known it. There's nothing better than falling asleep in the light of the fireplace, smelling the wood-smoke from the bonfires on the beach and listening to the waves crashing on the shore. Do not be put off by the murphy bed, it's one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Be sure to pick up some artisan bread from the Whole Foods Co-op next door.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel is great!! Clean, modern, the staff was great. It's right on Lake Superior, with amazing views. It's walking distance to the downtown area. Great shops and restaurants! We stayed in a studio which was perfect for 2. It had a small kitchen, comfy bed and a fireplace. We loved it and they gave us a great military discount!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumoverstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Grand Marais is beautiful with many options for relaxing or exerting oneself. East Bay is convenient and provides for a spot to walk to restaurants or shops and still enjoy the beauty of Lake Superior and the sound of waves. The suites are large and comfortable. Great get away for family or a group of friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have stayed there before and have had somewhat comfortable lodging. This time it was completely unacceptable. The bedroom and bathroom (toilet) were connected with no wall. There was no internet connection nor cell phone service. We had asked for and paid for a one bedroom suite. Who would think that you would have to ask for a wall, (or internet service if it is advertised). We would have been happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cafleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBSGM, General Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodation that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. The suite you stayed in is a one of a kind unit here that is very popular with many guests. We can see that it did not meet with your approval and for that we do apologize. If you are willing to give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact General Manager, Andrew, through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Location Great, Food and Shopping Great. Rooms are really really awesome. We stayed here in combination with a Lutsen ski trip. We chose to drive a ways to the ski resort in order to enjoy the wonderful town of Grand Marais. Free shuttle to ski resort. This is our 4th year in a row on a ski trip in the area, and the family agrees this is the best place so far.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
114 reviews
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: $130 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing