We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
214
68
25
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
68
25
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom suite full kitchen washer and dryer aveda products lake superior in town murphy bed huge bathroom co op housekeeping staff gas fireplace restaurants and shopping within walking distance we've stayed artist point lake view grand marias
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 324 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This resort offers excellent rooms, a beautiful setting on Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and reasonable rates. The suites have separated rooms and a kitchenette with all one needs to make meals during a vacation. The only strike against this resort is that they charge a high nightly fee to bring a pet. A more pet-friendly charge would make this resort perfect!

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our fourth time staying at the East Bay Suites and we are never disappointed. The property was full for our stay but you never would have known it. There's nothing better than falling asleep in the light of the fireplace, smelling the wood-smoke from the bonfires on the beach and listening to the waves crashing on the shore. Do not be put off by the murphy bed, it's one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Be sure to pick up some artisan bread from the Whole Foods Co-op next door.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel is great!! Clean, modern, the staff was great. It's right on Lake Superior, with amazing views. It's walking distance to the downtown area. Great shops and restaurants! We stayed in a studio which was perfect for 2. It had a small kitchen, comfy bed and a fireplace. We loved it and they gave us a great military discount!!!!!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumoverstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Grand Marais is beautiful with many options for relaxing or exerting oneself. East Bay is convenient and provides for a spot to walk to restaurants or shops and still enjoy the beauty of Lake Superior and the sound of waves. The suites are large and comfortable. Great get away for family or a group of friends.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have stayed there before and have had somewhat comfortable lodging. This time it was completely unacceptable. The bedroom and bathroom (toilet) were connected with no wall. There was no internet connection nor cell phone service. We had asked for and paid for a one bedroom suite. Who would think that you would have to ask for a wall, (or internet service if it is advertised). We would have been happier elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cafleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBSGM, General Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodation that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. The suite you stayed in is a one of a kind unit here that is very popular with many guests. We can see that it did not meet with your approval and for that we do apologize. If you are willing to give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact General Manager, Andrew, through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews