We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Diner, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family friendly cafe where the locals go! It's "The Meeting Place In Grand Marais". We serve breakfast all day.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pricey Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I realize this is a resort area but I honestly do not understand how the local folks can afford to eat out in this town. I have eaten breakfast here twice and although the food is good and well prepared I was a bit put off the first morning when told that the special was the egg breakfast with fried fish. Thinking that this was for the shown price of $8.95 or so I was surprised to learn that they were charging me $4.00 additional for the fish. All was good. Just make certain you are ordering what you think you are ordering.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    136
    60
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly fast family place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We had cobb salad which had mainly iceberg but also had healthier items such as avocado, real chicken, eggs, snap peas, and spinach. Friendly host and waitress. Generous portions. Negative is weak coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Nummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We LOVE to go here for Breakfast! Good food and good prices! The staff is very friendly! We stop here every time we are in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hashbrowns Ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We love the breakfast here! Pancakes were, as always, good, as were the eggs, but it was the hashbrowns that really topped off the visit! They were amazing! Also the value is good and the atmosphere is intimate and cozy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winter-is-coming789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Cafe in Grand Marais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've eaten at the Blue Water several times, usually following a day and night of skiing in Lutsen or a night in Grand Marais spent at the Raven or Herring Club. So a large portion of greasy food is in order. However, to say they only make great diner breakfasts isn't quite true. They have amazing deserts with generous portions of home cooked meals, along with excellent sandwiches. This is not only a go to breakfast destination, but also great for lunches (I don't know if they are open for dinner, but if so, I'd go here for a relaxed dinner). If you bring some persians, you just may get a discount!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing