We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So wonderful, we stayed an extra day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So wonderful, we stayed an extra day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Thomsonite with a two night Living Social deal. The cozy, clean cabin style room was a great place to relax! Lee, the owner, was super knowlegable about local hiking trails and information. Any question about Grand Marais area- you can bet she has the answer! And so kind!
We were so impressed with Thomsonite and the surrounding area that we extended our trip a day. Lee gave us a great deal on our extra night in our same cabin. Amazing value!
We will definitely be back as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: Unit 9 has a fantastic view and relatively private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinCityKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomsonite, Owner at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your escape to the North Shore with lodging at Thomsonite Beach Inn. We are happy you took advantage of the Living Social escape package and found our slice of paradise a great spot to extend your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Thomsonite. We skiied at Lutsen and stay here to get away from all the hill. Before I booked our stay this winter, my daughter asked if we could stay there again. She is 18. It is quiet, clean and has beautiful views of Lake Superior. I will definately stay there again. There were three of us staying there. My daughter (18), son (13) and myself, (Dad, 44). I especially like the fact there are two bedrooms in the rooms. It works great with the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LARJLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomsonite, Owner at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Thomsonite Beach Inn. We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to a return visit in the future for another ski and stay package or to check out what the other seasons are like here on the North Shore. There is always a variety of activities for families to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in Unit #5 with another family with small children (October 2012). It is rustic, clean and charming. The view of Lake Superior is wonderful and there is a nice-size lawn for the children to run and play. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back to stay again!

Room Tip: The units are not individual cabins but part of a larger building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 5th anniversary on the North Shore. We are on a bit of a budget so price was very important to us. We found the prices at Thomsonite Beach very reasonable compared to other North Shore locations. The resort is about 7 minutes away from Grand Marais and 20 minutes away from the Lutsen area. We were greeted by Lee who is a warm and friendly host. She shared several suggestions for Fall color viewing as well as some great places to eat in nearby Grand Marais. Room 8 is on the upper level with a beautiful view of Lake Superior out the main window. There is a great beach with plenty of chairs and areas for fire pits. While the room could be described as "cozy" the private deck complete with chairs makes up for the "small-ish" size. The room was very clean with plenty of drawers and closet space. Make sure you read the booklet provided by the resort for a full list of nearby businesses. My only complaints (and these are the most minor of complaints, really) were that on early Saturday morning (maybe 4 A.M.), we could hear the people in the room below us getting packed that kept us up for a while. Also, while the North Shore is all about the sights, and not watching TV, a few more channel options on the TV (There are only 5 channels) would have been nice in the event of a rainy day (we had great weather BTW). We also wanted to catch the Vikings game on Sunday but settled for listening on the radio. Same goes for the internet. Watching a movie on Netflix was our Plan B in case of a bad weather, but the limited wi-fi would not have allowed that. Like I said, these are minor issues that ultimately did not take away from the great time we had on our anniversary trip and the great time we had at Thomsonite Beach Resort. We will likely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Unit 8 has its own private deck and beautiful view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamvorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in unit 11 and found it everything we needed for a great nights sleep. Our room was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable-- the entire complex is in a beautiful setting. Staff helpful and friendly... highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit 2 overnight a few weeks ago. The owners were very helpful, the room was just what we wanted, clean and comfortable, for a price that was very reasonable, reflecting its rustic homey-ness. It had a small refrigerator, a very good bed, a table to play cards on and a great view of Lake Superior. The back yard bordered on the lakeshore in all its dynamic beauty. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSattlerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thomsonite Beach Inn is located right on the edge of Lake Superior with rocky cliffs and gorgeous views of the Lake. We had Unit 6 which had two beds and a fold out couch. Well-laid out kitchenette and nice bathroom.Conveniently located 6 miles from Grand Marais and next to Cutface Creek beach where you can rock hunt all day long. At night there are two fire pits to use and lots of benches. Only downside of our stay was the group that took over the fire pits for obnoxious sing-a-longs. Guess I'm an old curmudgeon but I prefer to hear the waves and loon calls instead of renditions of Jefferson Airplane and Johnny Cash. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this place and will stay here again. Check out the thomsonite collection in the office.

Room Tip: Unit 6 has very partial views of lake but is roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
13.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
9.9 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Property: Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing