We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Nelson's Travelers Rest
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson's Travelers Rest
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for one night after a BDub trip. Really nice & cozy, clean, and a easy walk to town. Nice little kitchenette, too. Bathroom was spotless. Would stay here again. Call early during peak times, as they book up quick.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights and I really liked it. The people are nice and friendly. I would stay again here. There was a campfire pit everynight. The Cabins were clean and there are grills by each cabin for you to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie-bug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Nelson's Travelers Rest multiple times and think very highly of the place. We've stayed in cabins 5 and 6 and have enjoyed both. The units sport a kitchenette and a full bathroom for very decent price. Both units were clean and the owners were very friendly. The place is within walking distance to the harbor, bars, restaurants and Artist's Point.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our cabin was very clean, very well-equipped and the grounds were quiet after 10 p.m. ...not sure if that was a rule, or if everybody was just tired...but there were no rowdy guests. I think the hosts keep an eye on things very well, but also really respect your privacy. The kitchen had everything you could want, and the location to hiking/town/61 was perfect (road noise was not a problem). Reasonably priced...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We discovered Nelson's earlier this year and returned for a second time last week. The accommodations are very nice, comfortable and immaculate! The hosts are friendly and helpful. Nelson's is within walking distance of downtown Grand Marais and has a lovely view of Lake Superior. The Lake breezes and a couple of fans kept us cool at night during the unusual heatwave. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwoodsgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Went to Nelson's June23-25 in 2006. We are used to pitching a tent in a state park on the North Shore, so the bed, indoor plumbing and stove were great amenities. This place was so cute and convenient, it made our trip ten times more enjoyable. There is a walking path that goes down the bay in Grand Marais, about a five minute walk. Each cabin also has a Weber grill outside it.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minnchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2004

What wonderful hospitality! Extremely well kept cabins with franklin fireplaces and kitchenettes. Great for longer family vacations as you can go to the local grocery store and cook your own meals. Rates very reasonable! Tom and Patty and their two daughters are wonderful hosts! Campfires at night for all to attend, some cabins with great views of Lake Superior. Now that the new Hwy 61 is done there is a walking path into downtown. Also need to visit Dockside fish market and get some local fish favorites - great gifts also. You will not find a better place to stay (if you're looking for pools and all that stuff - this is not the place). You will make friends for life here. P.S. Make sure to call ahead well in advance as they have many longtime, loyal customers who return year after year!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
1.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson's Travelers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson's Travelers Rest

Property: Nelson's Travelers Rest
Address: PO Box 634, Grand Marais, MN 55604-0634
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing